Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 9 of 9

    poor downloads speeds from sites outside UK

    This is a discussion on poor downloads speeds from sites outside UK within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; after performing speedtests in the UK and downloading from UK based FTP. I'm finding that im getting poor download speeds ...

    1. #1
      angus_young's Avatar
      angus_young is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Inverness, Scotland
      Posts
      18
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      poor downloads speeds from sites outside UK

      after performing speedtests in the UK and downloading from UK based FTP.

      I'm finding that im getting poor download speeds from foreign download sites,

      any suggestions

      cheers


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      dingdong's Avatar
      dingdong is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      591
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      You could try tuning your rwin setting

    4. #3
      s00tie's Avatar
      s00tie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      40
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Perhaps you could be specific and post a few sites and files you are struggling with?
      LanCraft - A UK World of Warcraft Community

    5. #4
      angus_young's Avatar
      angus_young is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Inverness, Scotland
      Posts
      18
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      a couple sites i have problems are

      eee.zonelabs.com

      and

      eee.rapidshare.de

      replaced www to stop hot link

    6. #5
      angus_young's Avatar
      angus_young is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Inverness, Scotland
      Posts
      18
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Bump^^^^^^^^^^^^^

    7. #6
      Wheelie's Avatar
      Wheelie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stanmore LWSTAN
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Stanmore
      Posts
      3,424
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Well I have an account with zonelabs.com and have downloaded the latest version at 1.6MB/sec

      As for rapidshare.de I have always had trouble getting anything form them since I moved to SkyBB and so do a lot of other people I believe.
      Ray

      Some Advice.. Its always advisable to inform your old ISP as soon as you have migrated that you have moved.
      ______________________________________

      If you would like to know the straight line distance to your exchange then
      click here
      Would you like an idea of the possible speeds you will get with the Max Package then click here or for the Connect Package then click here

    8. #7
      Andy_G's Avatar
      Andy_G is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: EAROC
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Rochford
      Posts
      82
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      If you have a premium account with rapidshare I believe there's no problem.
      At least that's true in my case. I can download from there at full speeds always.

    9. #8
      Wheelie's Avatar
      Wheelie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stanmore LWSTAN
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Stanmore
      Posts
      3,424
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Thanks for that Andy

      I don't have one and to be honest I have never used the site before the members started to complain that it never worked with SkyBB, so it would seem the free site is the one thats the problem.
      Ray

      Some Advice.. Its always advisable to inform your old ISP as soon as you have migrated that you have moved.
      ______________________________________

      If you would like to know the straight line distance to your exchange then
      click here
      Would you like an idea of the possible speeds you will get with the Max Package then click here or for the Connect Package then click here

    10. #9
      memphis's Avatar
      memphis is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: blackburn LCBLK
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      blackburn
      Posts
      22
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      I am also having problems d/l from any site outside the uk. Phoned Tech support but the call centre worker didn't have a clue and blamed internet traffic for slow speeds. Must be a problem BSB's side.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION