Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 11

    Broadband Speed

    This is a discussion on Broadband Speed within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi all, I've had Sky Unlimited for about a year now (or less, not too sure). It started off well ...

    1. #1
      MichaelS's Avatar
      MichaelS is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Dec 2009
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Broadband Speed

      Hi all,

      I've had Sky Unlimited for about a year now (or less, not too sure). It started off well getting good speeds, but for the last couple of months it has dropped to:







      Tried it with a wire put in the laptop, but I get roughly the same speed.

      Are there any suggestion to increase this, as I'm not happy paying 19 pounds a month for that.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Broadband Speed

      First post your router stats.

      Second, are you sure you are on unlimited and not on Sky Connect? I only ask as unlimited is either 10 or 15pm.

    4. #3
      MichaelS's Avatar
      MichaelS is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Dec 2009
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Broadband Speed

      Thanks for your reply Smithy,

      Don't know if this is right thing but here goes...

      Account Name
      Firmware Version V1.03.87

      ADSL Port
      MAC Address 00:1B:2F:3A:C0:49
      IP Address 90.198.6.78
      Network Type PPPoA
      IP Subnet Mask 255.255.255.255
      Gateway IP Address 87.87.249.28
      Domain Name Server 90.207.238.97
      90.207.238.99

      LAN Port
      MAC Address 00:1B:2F:3A:C0:48
      IP Address 192.168.0.1
      DHCP On
      IP Subnet Mask 255.255.255.0

      Modem
      ADSL Firmware Version A2pB023b.d20e
      Modem Status Connected
      DownStream Connection Speed 6143 kbps
      UpStream Connection Speed 606 kbps
      VPI 0
      VCI 38

      Wireless Port
      Name (SSID) SKY93456
      Region Europe
      Channel 6
      Wireless AP Enabled
      Broadcast Name Enabled

      And we have the tv, phone and broadband package for 19 (I'll have to double check later.)

    5. #4
      Rahat786786's Avatar
      Rahat786786 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Ilford
      Broadband ISP: O2 Broadband
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2008
      Posts
      54
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Broadband Speed

      Hmm, mate is there any advanced statistics button on your router. I want to see the line attenuation and SNR margins to try and locate the problem. Your sync should give you throughput speed of 4mbps at least. Try TCPOptimizer, a free program which optimizes your adapters TCP overheads so you get maximum speed from your sync.

      Please reply back with the results.

    6. #5
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Broadband Speed

      Good news is you're not on Sky Connect with that upload speed.

      If you can go into the rotuer again and hit the "show statistics" button on the bottom and paste the info that will help.

      Also, if you can do this from the TEST socket also (see quick links to the left for information on how to do this).

    7. #6
      MichaelS's Avatar
      MichaelS is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Dec 2009
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Broadband Speed

      Quote Originally Posted by Smithy99 View Post
      Good news is you're not on Sky Connect with that upload speed.

      If you can go into the rotuer again and hit the "show statistics" button on the bottom and paste the info that will help.

      Also, if you can do this from the TEST socket also (see quick links to the left for information on how to do this).
      Slight Problem, I can't seem to find the yellow wire to the router. I'm going to Check that tomorrow.

      This is the wireless one though if it's any use.

      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collision Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 1683 1781 0 217 870 00:19:27
      LAN 10M/100M 4907 0 0 51 0 09:57:20
      WLAN 11M/54M 621900 378315 0 16372 1292 09:57:12

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 6143 kbps 606 kbps
      Line Attenuation 50.0 db 31.0 db
      Noise Margin 4.1 db 16.5 db

      If not I'll report back tomorrow with my findings

      EDIT: Sorry for the hard to read text, It was in a table and I just copied and pasted it.

    8. #7
      Rahat786786's Avatar
      Rahat786786 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Ilford
      Broadband ISP: O2 Broadband
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2008
      Posts
      54
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Broadband Speed

      Your sync of 6143 is really good for your attenuation which should see no more than 5k to be honest. The noise margin of 4.1db is a slight problem but nothing to worry about as the SNR does drop a bit during the night where more electrical appliances are on, generating noise on the line. Your throughput issues could well be because of malware or a virus. Have you scanned your computer recently? Also, remember to try TCPOptimizer as i pointed out earlier.

    9. #8
      MichaelS's Avatar
      MichaelS is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Dec 2009
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Broadband Speed







      Just got these using the TCPOptimizer.

      A bit worried about my upload speed, is this normal?

      I Virus Scan everyday, had no virus's since I bough this laptop. :\

    10. #9
      Rahat786786's Avatar
      Rahat786786 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Ilford
      Broadband ISP: O2 Broadband
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2008
      Posts
      54
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Broadband Speed

      That's brilliant mate. Your getting much higher throughput now, the right amount for your attenuation.

    11. #10
      MichaelS's Avatar
      MichaelS is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Dec 2009
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Broadband Speed

      Thanks you guys, pleasure talking with you two!

      All the best
      Michael

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION