Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 19

    Sky Unlimited 20mb Problem

    This is a discussion on Sky Unlimited 20mb Problem within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; i have upgraded from sky base to sky unlimited 3 days ago and i am still getting 5mb but when ...

    1. #1
      usa1029's Avatar
      usa1029 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 403423
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Dec 2009
      Posts
      28
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Cool Sky Unlimited 20mb Problem

      i have upgraded from sky base to sky unlimited 3 days ago and i am still getting 5mb but when i phone other people, i get 12mb which is strange and i dont know why. Last of all, when i call someone, it automatically disconnects my broadband and reconnects again. Any ideas?



      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 5393 kbps 860 kbps
      Line Attenuation 36.0 db 21.2 db
      Noise Margin 7.4 db 12.0 db
      Last edited by usa1029; 30-12-09 at 12:01 PM.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Sky Unlimited 20mb Problem

      This is normally due to either a missing or faulty ADSL filter, make sue all your phone extensions have them fitted as the very FIRST thing into them.

      Also, don't confuse a twin phone splitter that Sky installers sometimes use for a filter, the filter will clearly have router and phone marked on the different sockets.

    4. #3
      usa1029's Avatar
      usa1029 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 403423
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Dec 2009
      Posts
      28
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Unlimited 20mb Problem

      Well we have changed our adsl box yesterday and it still doesnt work...

      And

      Computer------------Router-----Adsl Box----------------Twin Phone splitter
      phone ----------------- Twin Phone splitter

      T.T

    5. #4
      indefatigable's Avatar
      indefatigable is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: BB tech Support + Max
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD 2TB
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Posts
      568
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 12 Times in 12 Posts

      Re: Sky Unlimited 20mb Problem

      setup is wrong

      it should be

      computer-router-adsl filter-socket
      phone - double adaptor - filter - socket

    6. #5
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,132
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Sky Unlimited 20mb Problem

      You have serious noise problems, as always, plug into the Test socket, click link below and post your stats from there. Use only the Filter and ADSL cable supplied by Sky. Do not use a telephone extension cable.

      i get 12mb which is strange
      This can indicate a fault on your line, but try the Test socket first to rule out internal wiring.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    7. #6
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Sky Unlimited 20mb Problem

      The ADSL filter must be the very FIRST thing connected to the telephone socket, everything else then connects into it.

    8. #7
      User05's Avatar
      User05 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      3,030
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 171 Times in 164 Posts

      Re: Sky Unlimited 20mb Problem

      Set-up should be as follows:



      Where 'mf' = microfilter, and 'splt' = splitter. Obviously the splitter plugs into the 'phone' port on the filter and the dsl cable plugs into the 'modem' port on the filter. Also, no extension cables - use the light grey sky supplied dsl cable.

      With any other extension sockets you use with filters DIRECTLY into them also if you have any telephony devices connected to them.

      P.S. I hear sky are in talks of using my awesome paint drawing in their new instruction manuals...

    9. #8
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Sky Unlimited 20mb Problem

      if it does the job they should!! OR just give it to the install engineers!!
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    10. #9
      usa1029's Avatar
      usa1029 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 403423
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Dec 2009
      Posts
      28
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Unlimited 20mb Problem

      Pinging skyusers.co.uk [98.124.199.1] with 32 bytes of data:
      Request timed out. Status = 11010

      Thats all i got

    11. #10
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,132
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Sky Unlimited 20mb Problem

      If you are trying to ping this site it should be skyuser.co.uk note there is no plural 's'.

      I think 98.124.199.1 is an MS address.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION