Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
    Results 21 to 30 of 40

    Just got Sky Unlimited - but its really SLOW!!!

    This is a discussion on Just got Sky Unlimited - but its really SLOW!!! within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Everyday was getting 10.5meg even though it was upto 10meg, so I would assume I would get quite near to ...

    1. #21
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Just got Sky Unlimited - but its really SLOW!!!

      Everyday was getting 10.5meg even though it was upto 10meg, so I would assume I would get quite near to 20meg download
      Your speed will not necessary double, it depends on the nose margin when you were syncing at 10Mb. You are already on ADSL2+. I too sync at 10Mb on Everyday, but know from my figures that I would be lucky to get another 1 Mb should I upgrade to Unlimited. Post your stats for an estimate.

      Follow the example above and post the stats from your normal position and from the Test socket.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.






    2. Advertisement
    3. #22
      nicklfc's Avatar
      nicklfc is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01928
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2010
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Just got Sky Unlimited - but its really SLOW!!!

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      The jump in your noise margin indicates that your internal wiring is interfering with the signal. Buying, fitting and using a filtered faceplate will cure this and raise your speed considerably, have a look at this thread for reviews. -
      ADSL Faceplate Filters - SkyUser Reviews

      You should get around 7Mb, when your configured,
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 1016 kbps 429 kbps
      Line Attenuation 48.5 db 29.1 db
      Noise Margin 9.9 db 9.0 db

      ok so heres the stats after changing my faceplate to the XTE-2005 Master Faceplate from ADSL nation.

      Any thoughts?

      cheers

    4. #23
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Just got Sky Unlimited - but its really SLOW!!!

      Something is not right. Can you remove the faceplate and plug into the Test socket again and take your stats.

      You are plugged into the ADSL port of the faceplate?

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    5. #24
      nicklfc's Avatar
      nicklfc is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01928
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2010
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Just got Sky Unlimited - but its really SLOW!!!

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 1023 kbps 606 kbps
      Line Attenuation 48.0 db 28.7 db
      Noise Margin 23.7 db 17.0 db

      heres the stats from the test socket.

      If its any help, when I fitted the faceplate I noticed that theres 2 sets of each wire connected (orange/white, blue/white, white/blue). I simply connected all of these back up as they were.

    6. #25
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Just got Sky Unlimited - but its really SLOW!!!

      If it has been properly fitted the wires on the faceplate do not matter, provided you have connected them to the 2,3,& 5 terminals and not the A-B terminals. If you have connected properly it looks like the faceplate may be faulty. Could you try removing the wires from the faceplate, put it back on and take the stats again.

      We will get there, don't worry

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    7. #26
      nicklfc's Avatar
      nicklfc is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01928
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2010
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Just got Sky Unlimited - but its really SLOW!!!

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      If it has been properly fitted the wires on the faceplate do not matter, provided you have connected them to the 2,3,& 5 terminals and not the A-B terminals. If you have connected properly it looks like the faceplate may be faulty. Could you try removing the wires from the faceplate, put it back on and take the stats again.

      We will get there, don't worry
      Ok heres the stats when everything is plugged up correctly:

      ADSL Link DownstreamUpstream
      Connection Speed 1023 kbps606 kbps
      Line Attenuation 48.0 db 28.6 db
      Noise Margin 29.4 db 17.0 db

      and heres the updated stats from the test socket:

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 1023 kbps 606 kbps
      Line Attenuation 44.5 db 28.6 db
      Noise Margin 29.4 db 11.5 db


      Could it be an issue that maybe my speed is capped?

    8. #27
      DJ_Steve's Avatar
      DJ_Steve is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Sunderland
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Location
      Sunderland
      Posts
      49
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Just got Sky Unlimited - but its really SLOW!!!

      id say the huge noise margin suggests its capped to me, its unusual to see that high a margin when its not a capped line

    9. #28
      nicklfc's Avatar
      nicklfc is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01928
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2010
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Just got Sky Unlimited - but its really SLOW!!!

      Quote Originally Posted by DJ_Steve View Post
      id say the huge noise margin suggests its capped to me, its unusual to see that high a margin when its not a capped line
      ok, what do I need to do in order to resolve it?

      Just to check on the setup. The original faceplate was configured as:

      Blue/White - 3
      Orange/White - 4
      White/Blue - 5
      White/Orange - 6

      The new face plate from ADSL nation is setup as follows:

      Blue/White - 2
      Orange/White - 3
      White/Blue - 5

      Is this the correct configuration?

      Many thanks

    10. #29
      DJ_Steve's Avatar
      DJ_Steve is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Sunderland
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Location
      Sunderland
      Posts
      49
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Just got Sky Unlimited - but its really SLOW!!!

      if its capped i believe the only thing you can do is call sky about it as its likely DLM has capped the line thinking thats the best possible stable speed you can achieve (due to the previous wiring issues likely)

    11. #30
      nicklfc's Avatar
      nicklfc is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01928
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2010
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Just got Sky Unlimited - but its really SLOW!!!

      Im not too up to scratch on the terminology of the subject. would it be possible for anyone to point out what I need to say when I call sky. from what I have read there pretty persistent on keeping the speed as it is.

      cheers

     

     
    Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION