Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 5 of 5

    Not connecting.....

    This is a discussion on Not connecting..... within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hiya, I hope you might be able to help. I'm in the process of setting up the broadband at my ...

    1. #1
      Woggle's Avatar
      Woggle is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid/Everyday
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Dec 2009
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Not connecting.....

      Hiya,

      I hope you might be able to help. I'm in the process of setting up the broadband at my parents house.

      The activation date was 18th December (according to the letter they received) although I've only had a chance to look at this today.

      Everything is connecting fine - power light and wireless lights are on (and I can connect wirelessly through the router using the settings provided). However, I'm only getting a flashing amber light on the wireless section. I've checked and changed microfilters (tried all three in the box), checked on other phone points around the house but nothing....

      It makes me think the line hasn't been activated but then they did say 18th December and it looks to have all gone through in the account settings on the internet.

      Have sent an email to Sky but not expecting something back quickly.

      Any ideas of what I might be able to try?

      Many thanks.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Rahat786786's Avatar
      Rahat786786 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Ilford
      Broadband ISP: O2 Broadband
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2008
      Posts
      54
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Not connecting.....

      Have you tried connecting to the test socket? Perhaps that can help. Erm, call Sky, you'll recieve instant answers rather than by email.

    4. #3
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,132
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Not connecting.....

      However, I'm only getting a flashing amber light on the wireless section.
      Are you sure it is not the Internet light that is flashing?

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    5. #4
      Woggle's Avatar
      Woggle is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid/Everyday
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Dec 2009
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Not connecting.....

      Well all sorted....almost.

      I took the front panel off and put the micro-filter into the relevant test hole and all worked. I guess that means its a problem with the wiring on the telephone panel?

      Will have to get someone out and have a look but will keep it in the test hole for the meantime.

    6. #5
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,132
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Not connecting.....

      Fitting a filtered faceplate is very easy, just about anyone can do it. Just remember though, that if you fit one you must use the ADSL port for the router or install a dedicated extension. This can be very easy or difficult depending on how your phone is wired.

      XTE-2005 Filtered Master Faceplate - ADSL Nation

      http://www.adslnation.com/downloads/...2005_Guide.pdf

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION