Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
    Results 11 to 16 of 16

    Help with speed please

    This is a discussion on Help with speed please within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Dear lord there looks to be no one in your exchange? If that is the case your only real option ...

    1. #11
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: Help with speed please

      Dear lord there looks to be no one in your exchange? If that is the case your only real option is BT You could try the checkers on sites like Plusnet, Zen etc and see what they say for your details?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Help with speed please

      Put your post code in the box and see what is on offer Broadband from 4.99 - Compare Best Broadband Deals, Packages & UK Broadband Providers Before you decide on anyone, have a look at their Forum, you can sometimes get an idea what they are really like.

      All will be a rebadged BT product, which is what Paul meant when he said you could only get BT.

      You are still displaying your phone number. As this site is accessed by kooks from all over the world, you would really be better taking it down.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. #13
      alexdee1's Avatar
      alexdee1 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: EBAL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Dec 2009
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Help with speed please

      Ok thanks all, mum isn't prepared to pay for the internet as its good enough for her with sky, so I guess I'll have to bloody pay it but i'm only 17 so I dunno if I can sign up by myself lol I have a job so I can pay it monthly as I get paid weekly. :@

      Ah yes I also don't know how to cancel our bb with sky, my mum can't find her details ect and she can't be bothered phoning because it takes so bloody long and she doesn't want to argue with sky to cancel it. So I guess I can't change over cos I'm not 18 and can't take out a bloody contract...
      Last edited by alexdee1; 04-01-10 at 01:10 PM.

    5. #14
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Help with speed please

      She must be paying something for it now. The normal price for Sky Connect is 17pm.

      The best way to cancel is by phone and you don't cancel, you request a MAC code, when they ask why you tell them that you were advised you would be on one of the LLU products and now you find out that you are not and that Sky Connect is useless for your needs.

      They will get the MAC to you, then all you do is give that to your chosen provider (I would sugest Plusnet for gaming and unlimited off peak downloads).

      DO NOT CANCEL, DO NOT EVEN MENTION THAT WORD WHEN TALKING TO THEM, YOU NEED A MAC CODE!!!.

    6. #15
      alexdee1's Avatar
      alexdee1 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: EBAL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Dec 2009
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Help with speed please

      Lol ok guys thanks again for the help
      My mum reckons shes paying 10 per month ? :S
      She doesn't even know her username or password or a number to phone and to be honest I'm not sure either I wasn't aware at the time. I'm more computer 'savvy' then her but i'm not an expert I have like 2 basic computing qualifications you know lol...

      So a number to phone just now would be all I needed then i'll request the mac code and won't mention a word about cancelling, but will they still bill us for sky connect? :S And oh yeh last time i've dealed with internet issues my mum gets angry on the phone simply because she does not understand computers, and since I'm not the account holder she usually just confirms she is and passes the phone to me but I guess we need our details first since shes went and lost them !

    7. #16
      krysis's Avatar
      krysis is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: BT
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Location
      Belfast
      Posts
      301
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Help with speed please

      08442 414 141 is a number for Account Enq Think they might be able to do this.
      If you are not the account holder Sky will just ask to speak with the account holder to confirm that she is giving you access to the account.

      10 sometimes is the price that Sky do for a deal on the connect package - Default is 17, You will need to double check this with Customer Services - If they try to Fob you off to Broadband Tech, just tell them that you just want your MAC Code.
      Make sure when you get your MAC Code you double and Triple check it or you will have problems.

      Hope you get something sorted mate!

     

     
    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION