Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 22

    Please help broadband activation tomorrow and no sky router has been supplied

    This is a discussion on Please help broadband activation tomorrow and no sky router has been supplied within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi, my broadband is due to been switched from BT to sky tomorrow, and sky have not sent the router ...

    1. #1
      glossy1's Avatar
      glossy1 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: maltby
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid/Everyday
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Dec 2009
      Posts
      1
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Please help broadband activation tomorrow and no sky router has been supplied

      Hi, my broadband is due to been switched from BT to sky tomorrow, and sky have not sent the router yet.
      Just got off the phone, they said they cant gaurantee it before xmas, and cant delay the switchover

      My question is, can i access the broadband using my existing BT router (or any router)

      Any help will be much appreciated


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,132
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Please help broadband activation tomorrow and no sky router has been supplied

      My question is, can i access the broadband using my existing BT router (or any router)
      Your Sky ADSL username and password are embedded in the Sky router, this means you cannot connect until you receive it.

      If you have any friends with a spare Sky router, you would be able to connect with that.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. #3
      emrobin's Avatar
      emrobin is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Warboys
      Broadband ISP: Sky Connect
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2009
      Posts
      108
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Please help broadband activation tomorrow and no sky router has been supplied

      Sadly, it's one of the ridiculous things about Sky broadband. They force you to use their lousy router when you can purchase much better routers on the market. I'm sure their excuse is that it makes it easier for them to trouble shoot when there is a problem, but at least provide quality routers then. Sagem? Pure junk with a very weak wireless signal. They should switch to Linksys routers made by CISCO. Much better.
      Peak usage speed test

    5. #4
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: Please help broadband activation tomorrow and no sky router has been supplied

      Sky has more than one Router so it's not just the Sagem out there. Relying on a postal service this time of year is daft but unfortunately things like this happen now and then. Personally I would never look to switch provider this time of year as something is bound to go wrong or be delayed.

    6. #5
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,132
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Please help broadband activation tomorrow and no sky router has been supplied

      They force you to use their lousy router when you can purchase much better routers on the market.
      As you probably know you can buy your own router and use it with Sky. Thousands are already doing this. Although it is against the T & Cs, Sky have yet to cut anyone off for doing it.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    7. #6
      QALHOMER's Avatar
      QALHOMER is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01264
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky SR102 Hub
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2009
      Location
      Andover
      Posts
      44
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Please help broadband activation tomorrow and no sky router has been supplied

      I had no choice really as we moved 30th November, but I am in the same boat and to make it worse they actually sent the router to the old address even though the account details had been changed!!!

      They were sending another one on Friday so hopefully one or maybe even 2 might turn up in the next couple of days!!!

      I saw a Sky router in Cash Converters for 12 would it work if I bought it??

    8. #7
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,132
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Please help broadband activation tomorrow and no sky router has been supplied

      I saw a Sky router in Cash Converters for 12 would it work if I bought it??
      It might, if it has been flashed with standard firmware it would not. It would have to be flashed back to Sky firmware to have any chance of connecting. Even then it may not be registered in Sky's data base, so would not connect. For 12 quid it might be worth taking a chance, you would not know till you tried.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    9. #8
      QALHOMER's Avatar
      QALHOMER is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01264
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky SR102 Hub
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2009
      Location
      Andover
      Posts
      44
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Please help broadband activation tomorrow and no sky router has been supplied

      Just chased them to be told it will be with me today although I might not hold my breath on it

    10. #9
      QALHOMER's Avatar
      QALHOMER is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01264
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky SR102 Hub
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2009
      Location
      Andover
      Posts
      44
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Please help broadband activation tomorrow and no sky router has been supplied

      And amazingly lots of post but no router

      Kids aint gonna be happy if it's not up and running for the online Christmas games

      Not having the router to hand I cant even try the generator thing on here to get it running through my old router.

      Wonder if I asked Sky for the info would they let me have until this was sorted out? so we can get online over Christmas??

      Any thoughts anyone?

    11. #10
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Please help broadband activation tomorrow and no sky router has been supplied

      No, Sky don't know the details, it is generated by the router. Your best bet would be getting the one from Cash Converters, chances are this will work.

     

     
    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION