Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 16

    Help

    This is a discussion on Help within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hello. I am new to the forum and need some help. I have been with Sky for 2 years on ...

    1. #1
      tomthumb88's Avatar
      tomthumb88 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: WWPINH
      Broadband ISP: Sky Connect
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2009
      Location
      Exeter
      Posts
      19
      Thanks
      11
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Help

      Hello. I am new to the forum and need some help. I have been with Sky for 2 years on Sky Connect. I never really bothered with using the internet at home (never got a chance thanks to work) but now I have. I have noticed that my speeds are quite slow. I live in Exeter and I am on the Pinhoe exchange (approximately 1.81 (direct) miles away according to samknows.) My stats from my router are as follows:

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 3264 kbps 448 kbps
      Line Attenuation 48.0 db 29.0 db
      Noise Margin 9.3 db 24.0 db

      Speedtest.net says:



      Are these good or bad? Is there anything that I or Sky can do to increase it.

      Any help would be appreciated.

      Tom


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      User05's Avatar
      User05 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      3,030
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 171 Times in 164 Posts

      Re: Help

      The fact you're on connect is a problem in itself regarding speeds, buddy. It is traffic shaped from 5pm-12am and heavily documented on this forum if you want to read up a bit more on the specifics.

      However, in regards to the stats, you should be seeing more speed according to your attenuation. Few questions:

      1. What do you have connected to all the telephone sockets in use?
      2. Is there a filter connected directly into each telephone socket?
      3. If you have sky tv connected to one of your telephone sockets, ensure that the splitter (a blank white double-adapter type box) is connected after the filter if you really need it for the interactive service/box office etc.
      4. The cable running to the router - is it the sky supplied dsl cable, which is a short light grey cable, or are you running any extension cables?
      5. Any crackling/static on your landline telephone?

    4. #3
      tomthumb88's Avatar
      tomthumb88 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: WWPINH
      Broadband ISP: Sky Connect
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2009
      Location
      Exeter
      Posts
      19
      Thanks
      11
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Help

      Thanks for the reply.

      Only got 1 telephone socket.
      Filter connected. Master-Filter-Splitter-Phone/Sky-ADSL
      Standard Sky cable.
      No static/crackling.

    5. #4
      User05's Avatar
      User05 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      3,030
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 171 Times in 164 Posts

      Re: Help

      Ok, all of that sounds spot on. I'd suggest first off trying another filter if you have one spare - if not, or if it makes no difference then you're going to want to plug into your test socket if you have one and re-take the stats whilst in there. (Link below for details)

      How to test your ADSL in the Master Socket

    6. #5
      tomthumb88's Avatar
      tomthumb88 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: WWPINH
      Broadband ISP: Sky Connect
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2009
      Location
      Exeter
      Posts
      19
      Thanks
      11
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Help

      Ok just replaced the filter and still getting the same results. I don't have one of the sockets with the removable bottom. Can I still test? Gonna go bed now got work in the morning. I will check here first thing and see what you reply with. Thanks for the help mate.

    7. #6
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Help

      Check your stats with nothing connected except the router.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    8. #7
      tomthumb88's Avatar
      tomthumb88 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: WWPINH
      Broadband ISP: Sky Connect
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2009
      Location
      Exeter
      Posts
      19
      Thanks
      11
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Help

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      Check your stats with nothing connected except the router.
      Ok I tested it with only the router connected and here are the results:

      Router says:
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 3712 kbps 448 kbps
      Line Attenuation 48.0 db 28.5 db
      Noise Margin 8.8 db 25.0 db

      Speedtest.net says:


      The router results seem to be better but the speedtest ones are worse.

      Any ideas?

    9. #8
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Help

      Any ideas?
      Don't use speedtest.net! It is rubbish and gives very inconsistent results.

      As you are on a BT connection, use the BT tester it is the most accurate and gives you your line profile at the same time. You will find it here - Test Result Your log in name is the LAN Mac address of your router, no colons, followed by @skydsl.

      The line Profile is important as it governs your download speed. If you line performs badly, even for a short period, the profile and so your download speed will be reduced. It can take up to 3 days of stable line conditions for it to rise again.

      To go to your test socket test, if you get a better speed with the phone unplugged, the phone or the filter may be faulty. Try changing one or both.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    10. #9
      tomthumb88's Avatar
      tomthumb88 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: WWPINH
      Broadband ISP: Sky Connect
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2009
      Location
      Exeter
      Posts
      19
      Thanks
      11
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Help

      Thanks for the advice.

      Just ran the BT tester and the results are below.
      I tested with only the router connected.

      Download speed achieved during the test was - 1954 Kbps
      For your connection, the acceptable range of speeds is 600-7150 Kbps.
      Additional Information:
      Your DSL Connection Rate: 3264 Kbps(DOWN-STREAM), 448 Kbps(UP-STREAM)
      IP Profile for your line is - 2500 Kbps

    11. #10
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Help

      What OS are you using? If it is XP try running TCPOptimiser from the link below.

      You might also want to try starting in Safe Mode with Networking and run a BT speed test. This would rule out your software slowing you down.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION