Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 6 of 6

    Pings

    This is a discussion on Pings within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; When i do my broadband speeds my pings always seem to come in between 54-57 is this to high or ...

    1. #1
      gagde's Avatar
      gagde is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Dimsdale
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jan 2008
      Posts
      97
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Pings

      When i do my broadband speeds my pings always seem to come in between 54-57 is this to high or low or about right?.thanks.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      joss's Avatar
      joss is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Adwick-le-Street
      Broadband ISP: sky max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+HDmultiroom
      Join Date
      May 2009
      Location
      South Yorkshire
      Posts
      621
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Pings

      Quote Originally Posted by gagde View Post
      When i do my broadband speeds my pings always seem to come in between 54-57 is this to high or low or about right?.thanks.
      Not bad, about mid range I say. Have you asked for you max delays to be lowered?

    4. #3
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Pings

      Unless you are a regular online gamer, the ping does not matter so much. If you are, phone Sky and tell Tier 1 you want your Delay reduced, can they pass you to CST to have it done. If you are not a gamer, don't bother as it can lead to a reduction in your download speed.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    5. #4
      gagde's Avatar
      gagde is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Dimsdale
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jan 2008
      Posts
      97
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Pings

      Right so im now done speed has dropped from a steady 10meg to around 8meg pings have gone up to 67-68 from around the 50s mark,rung tech support was told the router would reset itself every few times in a 24 hour period to try and sync at the best speed.Regarding the other poster i do tend to go on live not much but enough so i would like some info too on my ping times if possible and the best course off action to take please.

    6. #5
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Pings

      As I said above -
      If you are, phone Sky and tell Tier 1 you want your Delay reduced, can they pass you to CST to have it done.
      was told the router would reset itself every few times in a 24 hour period to try and sync at the best speed.
      As far as I know, this only happens during training and should not happen after the speed is set. After that the connection should only drop when the noise margin drops so low it cannot sustain the connection.There is no reason why it should drop when the noise margin is not too low.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    7. #6
      dholdi's Avatar
      dholdi is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: LCRIB
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Preston
      Posts
      5,295
      Thanks
      34
      Thanked 47 Times in 45 Posts

      Re: Pings

      Also, I've found speedtest sites to inaccurately report pings, as they do transfer speeds.
      Your best bet for an accurate result would be to ping bbc.co.uk or similar from a command prompt.


     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION