Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 35

    Retarded Broadband... why me?

    This is a discussion on Retarded Broadband... why me? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hello! I am hoping someone could help me out with this retarded situation. It has been bothering me for 3 ...

    1. #1
      badluck's Avatar
      badluck is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01634
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid/Everyday
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2009
      Posts
      31
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Unhappy Retarded Broadband... why me?

      Hello! I am hoping someone could help me out with this retarded situation. It has been bothering me for 3 years now!

      Why oh why are the stats significantly poorer in the test socket?

      Before you answer, I have only 2 wires connected to the master socket (2 & 5) and the sky adsl filter (have tried multiple filters but still no difference) and have filters on every extension socket where the telephone is connected and for the sky box.

      Please help me I envy those with 4-20mbps


      Extension Socket:

      Connection Speed 1376 kbps 608 kbps
      Line Attenuation 45 db 22 db
      Noise Margin 8 db 18 db


      Test Socket:

      Connection Speed 416 kbps 608 kbps
      Line Attenuation 37 db 22 db
      Noise Margin 8 db 19 db


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Retarded Broadband... why me?

      Why oh why are the stats significantly poorer in the test socket?
      There is only one explanation for this, dirt or residues in the socket is preventing a good contact. There are special solvents for cleaning the contacts, but unless you know a BTO engineer or suchlike, they are quite expensive. The next best thing is a squirt of WD40 in the socket and work the plug out a few times, wiping it off with a rag. This often works.

      You should get the maximum speed for your package.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. #3
      badluck's Avatar
      badluck is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01634
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid/Everyday
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2009
      Posts
      31
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Retarded Broadband... why me?

      I thank you for your help. I will try this soon and post my stats again.

      Here is my exchange if it helps SamKnows Broadband - Availability - Rainham (NDRAI) Exchange

      I should also mention I am on Sky Mid/Everyday and well... the speeds i get at the moment are quite discusting >
      Last edited by badluck; 13-12-09 at 09:45 PM. Reason: More Information

    5. #4
      badluck's Avatar
      badluck is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01634
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid/Everyday
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2009
      Posts
      31
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Retarded Broadband... why me?

      I have done as you asked and nothing has changed Why am I cursed with these speeds?!?!

    6. #5
      reddwarfcrew's Avatar
      reddwarfcrew is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,074
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 92 Times in 85 Posts

      Re: Retarded Broadband... why me?

      Take a wired telephone and plus it into the test socket underneath the master socket faceplate (with using a microfilter). Then lift the receiver... is there a lot of crackling on the line?

    7. #6
      badluck's Avatar
      badluck is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01634
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid/Everyday
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2009
      Posts
      31
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Retarded Broadband... why me?

      I can confirm there is no crackling in the test socket and the extension socket.

    8. #7
      krysis's Avatar
      krysis is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: BT
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Location
      Belfast
      Posts
      301
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Retarded Broadband... why me?

      Quite odd indeed, but only thing I can think of is a wiring issue - Possible loose connection in the testsocket port that is only resolved with the faceplate on.

      Also look at your drop in attenuation! Thats huge! :|

      I'd say an engineer is needed mate.

    9. #8
      reddwarfcrew's Avatar
      reddwarfcrew is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,074
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 92 Times in 85 Posts

      Re: Retarded Broadband... why me?

      The NTE5 has got to be faulty and only BT can (legitimately) change that, although you could do it yourself for a fiver.

    10. #9
      badluck's Avatar
      badluck is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01634
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid/Everyday
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2009
      Posts
      31
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Retarded Broadband... why me?

      Quote Originally Posted by krysis View Post
      Quite odd indeed, but only thing I can think of is a wiring issue - Possible loose connection in the testsocket port that is only resolved with the faceplate on.

      Also look at your drop in attenuation! Thats huge! :|

      I'd say an engineer is needed mate.
      Yes that did seem odd to me. As the attenuation drops the speed should increase?

      Anyway thanks for everyone's support I will post back after sorting out this problem! I will replace the socket and see what happens, that's if I have the skill to do it.

      I just hope I don't f*** up the wiring lo0l

    11. #10
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Retarded Broadband... why me?

      When the faceplate is removed, are all your extensions dead? Do you have a monitored alarm system?

      Remove the middle plate of the socket and check the wires connected to the A-B terminals. You should have 2 wires only connected to these. If you have more than one wire connected to each terminal, remove the extra wires and tighten up the terminals. If there are extra wires you will have to trace which are the incoming ones and make sure that these are the only ones connected.

      If your phone comes in overhead, have a close look at the wiring and make sure there are no cracks or splits in the sheathing. Binoculars are useful for having a close look from ground level. If there is anything that looks dodgy, call your phone rental provider.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     
    Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION