Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
    Results 21 to 30 of 35

    Retarded Broadband... why me?

    This is a discussion on Retarded Broadband... why me? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Originally Posted by Isitme The problem is this. What we call the 'Test socket' is the connection used by the ...

    1. #21
      badluck's Avatar
      badluck is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01634
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid/Everyday
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2009
      Posts
      31
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Retarded Broadband... why me?

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      The problem is this. What we call the 'Test socket' is the connection used by the faceplate to connect to the phone line. If the plugs are making a proper connection, anything plugged into the test socket must get the same or better result than when plugged into the faceplate.
      Exactly! The situation doesn't make any sense.

      Cable connects to A-B terminals, then the current is directly delivered to the test socket connector, then to the front faceplate connector and then to the 2 & 5 extension terminals to the extension wiring.

      If the problem starts at the test socket, then you would expect to see the same results in any extension socket in the house.

      BUT GUESS WHAT!!! It's STILL faster using the extension sockets.

      Extension socket increases speed as well as attenuation.

      Test socket decreases speed as well as attenuation.

      I reckon I have the most retarded phoneline setup in kent (possibly the world). If anyone else is experiencing this exact, same illogical situation, then please reply.

      I shall use a dial up lead without the filter and post my stats again. Thing is, Sky have asked me not to turn the router off or disconnect anything so I'll try after 10 days to see if it makes any difference.

      Thanks again for all your help and support!


    2. Advertisement
    3. #22
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Retarded Broadband... why me?

      Are you sure this is the master socket and that you don't have another one? check the cable that comes from outside, the master should be the first one.

      Also, a picture may help if you can post a few of the wiring etc.

    4. #23
      badluck's Avatar
      badluck is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01634
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid/Everyday
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2009
      Posts
      31
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Retarded Broadband... why me?

      I can confirm that this is the only master socket in the house that is connected to the outside cable. It is located in the loft.


      Last edited by badluck; 15-12-09 at 10:32 PM.

    5. #24
      badluck's Avatar
      badluck is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01634
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid/Everyday
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2009
      Posts
      31
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Retarded Broadband... why me?

      Hope the image sizes are ok. Had to fiddle with them a bit. Apologies for the quality

    6. #25
      neilmcl's Avatar
      neilmcl is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Sherwood
      Broadband ISP: O2 Standard
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Location
      Nottingham
      Posts
      990
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Retarded Broadband... why me?

      How does the external cable reach that NTE5 socket. I would have expected either the socket to be positioned where the cable enters the property, which it isn't, or for the external cable to terminate at a BT80 style junction box and from there to the socket.

    7. #26
      badluck's Avatar
      badluck is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01634
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid/Everyday
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2009
      Posts
      31
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Retarded Broadband... why me?

      At the bottom picture, there is a black cable on the right hand side of the socket. This is the overhead cable that enters the loft and connects directly to it through a roof stand pylon. Shall I take a picture of this pylon!

      The white wires are extensions.

    8. #27
      badluck's Avatar
      badluck is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01634
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid/Everyday
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2009
      Posts
      31
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Retarded Broadband... why me?

      o0ps! After inspecting more closely, the overhead cable does not connect to the pylon, those are the power cables.

      I will take a picture of the outside line as it enters the house. It's complicated in the dark!

    9. #28
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Retarded Broadband... why me?

      Just ensure that the outside line runs directly into the loft without splitting off to elsewhere.

      If you can, it would be really helpful to take the front of the master and get a few pics of the wiring in it and the faceplate, also, if you can expose the main a&b terminals, a photo of this also.

      A picture really does paint a thousand words and it is very helpful to see what is going on.

    10. #29
      badluck's Avatar
      badluck is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01634
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid/Everyday
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2009
      Posts
      31
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Retarded Broadband... why me?

      Unfortunately I cannot do anything to the master socket until sky have finished testing the line. After they have done so my priorities are to:

      1. Connect to the test socket without a filter.
      2. Take a picture of the wiring inside the socket.

      My friend has wired this up and is experienced in electronics. He lives about a mile away from me and currently is getting 8mbps downstream. *sigh*

      He initially had 512kbps downstream, but after he phoned sky it shot up to 8mbps. He is on the broadband everyday package.

      Here is a pic of the external phoneline as requested!



      Not sure if this helps, I will have to get a ladder or a better phone to zoom in on this!

      Anyone know what that box does underneath?
      Last edited by badluck; 16-12-09 at 12:47 PM.

    11. #30
      neilmcl's Avatar
      neilmcl is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Sherwood
      Broadband ISP: O2 Standard
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Location
      Nottingham
      Posts
      990
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Retarded Broadband... why me?

      That pic is fine but where does the cable enter the property and can you follow it directly to your master socket or does it split along the way.

     

     
    Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION