Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 35

    Retarded Broadband... why me?

    This is a discussion on Retarded Broadband... why me? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Originally Posted by Isitme When the faceplate is removed, are all your extensions dead? Do you have a monitored alarm ...

    1. #11
      badluck's Avatar
      badluck is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01634
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid/Everyday
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2009
      Posts
      31
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Retarded Broadband... why me?

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      When the faceplate is removed, are all your extensions dead? Do you have a monitored alarm system?

      Remove the middle plate of the socket and check the wires connected to the A-B terminals. You should have 2 wires only connected to these. If you have more than one wire connected to each terminal, remove the extra wires and tighten up the terminals. If there are extra wires you will have to trace which are the incoming ones and make sure that these are the only ones connected.

      If your phone comes in overhead, have a close look at the wiring and make sure there are no cracks or splits in the sheathing. Binoculars are useful for having a close look from ground level. If there is anything that looks dodgy, call your phone rental provider.
      I can confirm that removing the front plate does disconnect the extension wiring.

      All I can say about the alarm is that it is connected to the phone line and sends a text message to the phone if the sensors are triggered.

      When you say middle plate do you mean remove the whole socket and check the terminals behind? I see a black cable heading to the master socket so I assume this is the direct phone line cable. If so I will check for this. So I assume those A-B terminals are different from the 2 & 5 connections, which are the extension connections?

      I will check with my scope and inspect the outside line.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Retarded Broadband... why me?

      All I can say about the alarm is that it is connected to the phone line and sends a text message to the phone if the sensors are triggered.
      Is it is just plugged into an extension or hardwired to the master socket?


      When you say middle plate do you mean remove the whole socket and check the terminals behind?
      Yes, you will find the A-B terminals on the back of the plate.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. #13
      badluck's Avatar
      badluck is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01634
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid/Everyday
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2009
      Posts
      31
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Retarded Broadband... why me?

      I will let you know about the alarm soon as I'm not sure. I might be able to find out later tonight, if not, then tomorrow.

      A friend of mine is going to replace the master socket with a new one hopefully tomorrow so... ALL WE BE REVEALED!!

    5. #14
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Retarded Broadband... why me?

      Remember no matter what you do, the speed will not increase right away, but if your successful, you will see a large rise in the noise margin.

      Why am I cursed with these speeds?!?!
      Maybe in a previous life you were a wheel clamper?

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    6. #15
      badluck's Avatar
      badluck is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01634
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid/Everyday
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2009
      Posts
      31
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Retarded Broadband... why me?

      The alarm does run off the extension now I know!

      I WOULD NEVER CLAMP ANYONE

      Edit: Checked the outside line; did not find any damage.

    7. #16
      krysis's Avatar
      krysis is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: BT
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Location
      Belfast
      Posts
      301
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Retarded Broadband... why me?

      Quote Originally Posted by badluck View Post
      Yes that did seem odd to me. As the attenuation drops the speed should increase?
      In Theory, Yes.
      Unfortunately for you this isn't the case.

      Their appears to be some fault with wiring, i'm guessing on the clip intake for the testsocket could have a worn out cabling that the Microfilter doesn't catch correctly, whereas the master faceplate does - If you get me?

      I still think an Engineer needs to come out - Call Sky and see if you can get to CST for an LL5 Engineer to be booked.

    8. #17
      badluck's Avatar
      badluck is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01634
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid/Everyday
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2009
      Posts
      31
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Retarded Broadband... why me?

      The master socket is now replaced with a brand spanking new one and it's STILL SLOWER IN THE TEST SOCKET OMG!!!!

      Terminals have been checked as well as the 2 & 5 connectors and the extension has been replaced with new wiring.

      Phoned sky and they are testing the line and they said I should not disconnect the router or turn it off.

      So I will just leave it alone for now and see what happens within the next few days.

      Stats plugged in master socket (not test socket)



      As you can see the speed has increased a bit after I phoned sky.
      Last edited by badluck; 15-12-09 at 10:30 PM.

    9. #18
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Retarded Broadband... why me?

      and it's STILL SLOWER IN THE TEST SOCKET OMG!!!!
      If the connection are being properly made, this is just not possible. If you have extensions connected to the front plate of the socket, the test socket should give a better reading. Try another filter when you try the Test socket.

      Is you alarm plugged into a filter? Is everything you have plugged into the phone circuit running through a filter? Ideally the filter should be the first thing plugged into the phone socket.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    10. #19
      badluck's Avatar
      badluck is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01634
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid/Everyday
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2009
      Posts
      31
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Retarded Broadband... why me?

      I have tried other filters in the test socket before and has made no difference. They are brand new.

      Yes, every connection to the phoneline has a filter; the alarm, the sky box and phones.

    11. #20
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Retarded Broadband... why me?

      The problem is this. What we call the 'Test socket' is the connection used by the faceplate to connect to the phone line. If the plugs are making a proper connection, anything plugged into the test socket must get the same or better result than when plugged into the faceplate. For some reason, the filter plugs are not making proper contact. If you have one, try plugging a standard Dial up lead, the one from the Sky box would do, into the Test socket and your router, no filter being used. Take the stats.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     
    Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION