Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 16

    Want to get a new modem/router...help please

    This is a discussion on Want to get a new modem/router...help please within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi all, I am wanting to get a new router/modem combo as the sky one is not good enough to ...

    1. #1
      Coxroach1's Avatar
      Coxroach1 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2009
      Posts
      23
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Want to get a new modem/router...help please

      Hi all,

      I am wanting to get a new router/modem combo as the sky one is not good enough to stream HD content via DNLA. At the moment I have got the PC going wirelessly to the router and then wired to the PS3 for viewing.

      I am wanting to get a wireless N router for 2 reasons, obviously to increase capability from the PC (which already has a WN311B) to the router and also as I want gigabit lan not 10/100.

      Please could you guys suggest a good one or even warn me off a bad one. The helpwould be much appreciated.

      is a big factor so please, work to the lowest value you can but without losing the fuctionality I require

      Thanks so much


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      skypaulusplus's Avatar
      skypaulusplus Guest
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:

      Re: Want to get a new modem/router...help please

      the netgear n routers are good i hear

    4. #3
      Coxroach1's Avatar
      Coxroach1 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2009
      Posts
      23
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Want to get a new modem/router...help please

      Thanks for the reply. I am thinking netgear would be the best idea as I have a netgear card in the PC, i would guess they wil work best together.

      Please continue to help/advise as the more info Ihave the better I can make a decision. Thanks all, really is good to have the help

    5. #4
      skypaulusplus's Avatar
      skypaulusplus Guest
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:

      Re: Want to get a new modem/router...help please

      at a guess netgear + netgear will work best as netger will make them all to fit together

    6. #5
      nitromad's Avatar
      nitromad is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: warrington
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      May 2008
      Posts
      39
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Want to get a new modem/router...help please

      stay well clear of linksys i too wanted n router bourt the wrn160n to piggyback ,broken out of the box ,so i got refund and desided on nother linksys thinking i had bad one,wag160n guess what under load kept frezzing got replacment again crashing when in "n" mode,got an netgear dgn2000 best thing i had this month so far auto detected adsl settings (apart from user and pass).so frar under heavy test (2 xbox 360 works with open NATs ) and http downloads all good so far

      nitromad

    7. #6
      Ned Ludd's Avatar
      Ned Ludd is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Haxby
      Broadband ISP: PlusNet
      Router: TP-Link WR2543ND
      Sky TV: FreeSat
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Location
      York
      Posts
      703
      Thanks
      7
      Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts

      Re: Want to get a new modem/router...help please

      Why should anyone take you seriously! You can't even spell!

      There's nothing wrong with Linksys kit!
      Geoff, York.
      Can't call me a Luddite now!


    8. #7
      skypaulusplus's Avatar
      skypaulusplus Guest
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:

      Re: Want to get a new modem/router...help please

      you ....
      i thought that was aimed at me

    9. #8
      nitromad's Avatar
      nitromad is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: warrington
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      May 2008
      Posts
      39
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Want to get a new modem/router...help please

      Quote Originally Posted by Ned Ludd View Post
      Why should anyone take you seriously! You can't even spell!

      There's nothing wrong with Linksys kit!
      so i got learning difficutys im no lower of human being as you!

      i feel sorry you treating ppl like this.

    10. #9
      Woodster's Avatar
      Woodster is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01442
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Location
      Herts
      Posts
      585
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 21 Times in 21 Posts

      Re: Want to get a new modem/router...help please

      You can get a Netgear N router from CEX for just over 30! I got one 2 months back, have got a Linksys B/G router and a Sky Sagem router (flashed) running in piggyback from it (Both with wireless off and DHCP disabled) and i get better latency and slighty faster speed from the piggybacked routers than the main N router! But it all works great!

    11. #10
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Want to get a new modem/router...help please

      Quote Originally Posted by Ned Ludd View Post
      Why should anyone take you seriously! You can't even spell!
      The Multi Billionaire Richard Branson has dyslexia so he cannot spell either, he has however managed to do alright!!!

      It's a shame everyone is not as perfect as you Nedd

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION