Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
    Results 11 to 15 of 15

    100% packet loss

    This is a discussion on 100% packet loss within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; You should be syncing at 8-10 mb, about 12 times the speed you are. Until you sort this out, trying ...

    1. #11
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: 100% packet loss

      You should be syncing at 8-10 mb, about 12 times the speed you are. Until you sort this out, trying to get a good ping is a waste of time. Your line is generating a massive amount of errors which will effect your ping as well as your speed.

      Please do as requested and plug into the Test socket with nothing else connected. Use only the cables supplied and check that all your other sockets are dead.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.






    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      Radical Edward's Avatar
      Radical Edward is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2009
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: 100% packet loss

      Quote Originally Posted by Smithy99 View Post
      Have you tried without the faceplate and into the test socket, until we see those stats we can do no more to help.

      Also, did you do as I suggested above with regards to checking all the other sockets are dead when you remove the faceplate and also checking for noise on the line?
      See the original post for the test socket results, unless you wanted the test socket results with the new cable/splitter? Both were the ones supplied by sky (my old router broke, kept the old equipment just in case).
      And, there is no noise on the line, nor has there ever been.

      Another thing worth noting is that the connection isn't just slow, it's highly unstable. sometimes it works fine, other times the connection is completely dead. The router stats never change depending on the stability of the connection.

    4. #13
      User05's Avatar
      User05 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      3,030
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 171 Times in 164 Posts

      Re: 100% packet loss

      Quote Originally Posted by Radical Edward View Post
      Another thing worth noting is that the connection isn't just slow, it's highly unstable.
      You can bet on that with the SNRs you're getting - they're probably accounting for the packet loss.

      I think at this point your best option is to ring sky and get the fault logged. You've done all but trying a different router on your end, if I recall correctly from the thread.

    5. #14
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: 100% packet loss

      I think you need to ring Sky, your download speed is too low for your attenuation. If you have tried the test socket, and there is no noise on your line, then something else is wrong.

      Sky Broadband

      08442 410 515 (UK)




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    6. #15
      MagicMonkey's Avatar
      MagicMonkey is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Worcester Park
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Apr 2009
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: 100% packet loss

      I'm getting exactly the same problem.

      Ping plot is showing problems at exactly the same step (which seems to be an easynet server) and my router stats seem OK (as far as I can tell). I have no problems with my line either.

      Problem is sporadic with sudden slow downs every couple of minutes then it returns to normal. Was hoping someone may have some advice as I really don't have time to wade through Sky's customer "service" but judging by this thread, seems I may have to *sigh*




     

     
    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION