Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 6 of 6

    Ethernet or Wireless?

    This is a discussion on Ethernet or Wireless? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Can anyone tell me if there is any difference between using an ethernet cable or wireless? Is one better than ...

    1. #1
      rhonddapaul's Avatar
      rhonddapaul is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01443
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2009
      Location
      South Wales Valleys, UK
      Posts
      77
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Red face Ethernet or Wireless?

      Can anyone tell me if there is any difference between using an ethernet cable or wireless? Is one better than the other and is there any difference in speed between the router and PC? Thanks


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Ethernet or Wireless?

      9 times out of 10 you would get a better connection quality using wired and not wireless.




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    4. #3
      dholdi's Avatar
      dholdi is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: LCRIB
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Preston
      Posts
      5,295
      Thanks
      34
      Thanked 47 Times in 45 Posts

      Re: Ethernet or Wireless?

      Make that 10 times out of 10


    5. #4
      rhonddapaul's Avatar
      rhonddapaul is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01443
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2009
      Location
      South Wales Valleys, UK
      Posts
      77
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Ethernet or Wireless?

      Nice one, thank you both!

    6. #5
      rhonddapaul's Avatar
      rhonddapaul is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01443
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2009
      Location
      South Wales Valleys, UK
      Posts
      77
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Ethernet or Wireless?

      One more thing... I presume I need a patch cable and not a cross-over cable? I get confused.

    7. #6
      dholdi's Avatar
      dholdi is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: LCRIB
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Preston
      Posts
      5,295
      Thanks
      34
      Thanked 47 Times in 45 Posts

      Re: Ethernet or Wireless?

      Yep, a standard ethernet patch cable.


     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION