Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 8 123 ... LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 71

    b/b upgrade but not speed

    This is a discussion on b/b upgrade but not speed within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; hi guys and gals i recently upgraded to sky bb unlimited and my d/l speeds have not increased i was ...

    1. #1
      burnie's Avatar
      burnie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01294
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Dec 2009
      Location
      kilwinning
      Posts
      70
      Thanks
      6
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      b/b upgrade but not speed

      hi guys and gals i recently upgraded to sky bb unlimited and my d/l speeds have not increased i was wondering if there was anything you guys could help me with before i phone (gulp) sky.
      these are my stats:
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 10239 kbps 605 kbps
      Line Attenuation 29.0 db 14.7 db
      Noise Margin 9.5 db 18.5 db
      this is on the master socket with built in filter faceplate
      wired connection to router
      about 1 mile from exchange
      now i'm thinking should be able to get approx 16 meg d/loads (well hopefully)
      cheers for any advice/help


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: b/b upgrade but not speed

      You would be subject to DLM if it has only happened recently. Usually over the course of 10 days it will progress upwards.




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    4. #3
      burnie's Avatar
      burnie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01294
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Dec 2009
      Location
      kilwinning
      Posts
      70
      Thanks
      6
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: b/b upgrade but not speed

      thanks for info, when i upgraded they said it should happen straight away (never tust a salesman) should i leave my router on for the 10 days (sales guy said it does not matter) and also should you always leave the router running anyways, i tend to switch mine off when done with the PC

    5. #4
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: b/b upgrade but not speed

      I would leave your router on if possible. Sometimes it can take longer than 10 days, for DLM to complete. As for switching the router off when you do the PC the difference in power would be very low I would have thought anyway. I certainly don't switch mine off.

      Here's some more info

      What Is DLM? Everything you need to know.




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    6. #5
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: b/b upgrade but not speed

      now i'm thinking should be able to get approx 16 meg d/loads (well hopefully)
      As you are already on ADSL2+ and your noise margin is not that much above the default, I doubt you will see 16Mb. With your present figures 12Mb would be good. As you already have a filtered faceplate (provided it is not faulty) there is not much more you can do internally. Have a look outside and see if there is anything which could be effecting your connection. Worn or split cables, dodgy looking junction boxes etc. Even though you have a filtered faceplate it may still be worth trying the test socket. If your speed or noise margin goes up, it is possible the faceplate is not doing it job properly. If it is an old one, it may not have a bellwire filter built in, so if you have a wire on the number 3 terminal on the faceplate, take it off. This alone can make a big difference in many cases.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    7. #6
      burnie's Avatar
      burnie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01294
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Dec 2009
      Location
      kilwinning
      Posts
      70
      Thanks
      6
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: b/b upgrade but not speed

      phoned up sky on dec 27 and person who answered looked at my speed said is that not fast enough for you, so put me on hold to speak to supervisor increased my router speed to the following:
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 15754 kbps 945 kbps
      Line Attenuation 29.0 db 14.5 db
      Noise Margin 7.3 db 14.4 db
      so increase is there but if i do a speed test the results vary by about 2 - 3 meg depending who i test with i.e. speedtest is about 8 meg (same as before upgrade) where as speed.io reaches 11 meg and this is within 30 seconds of each test at different times of the day.
      so what is the most accurate b/b speed test and could i maybe get a few more meg if i phone up again.
      Even though you have a filtered faceplate it may still be worth trying the test socket. If your speed or noise margin goes up, it is possible the faceplate is not doing it job properly. If it is an old one, it may not have a bellwire filter built in, so if you have a wire on the number 3 terminal on the faceplate, take it off. This alone can make a big difference in many cases
      this is the only socket i have and no bell wire is connected as i fitted the faceplate myself about 6 months ago
      cheers for any help

    8. #7
      stevvi's Avatar
      stevvi is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2009
      Posts
      148
      Thanks
      10
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: b/b upgrade but not speed

      Speed tests are notoriously rubbish at showing real download speeds.

    9. #8
      burnie's Avatar
      burnie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01294
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Dec 2009
      Location
      kilwinning
      Posts
      70
      Thanks
      6
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: b/b upgrade but not speed

      perhaps should have mentioned that although router is plugged into main socket it is via a 10 metre line cos of where my pc is, so will that affect my speed.

    10. #9
      Andy17's Avatar
      Andy17 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Woodhouse (SLWD)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fiber Max
      Router: Sky Q Hub
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Posts
      1,370
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: b/b upgrade but not speed

      Quote Originally Posted by burnie View Post
      perhaps should have mentioned that although router is plugged into main socket it is via a 10 metre line cos of where my pc is, so will that affect my speed.
      Yes it will, connect directly to the test socket and repost your stats, you should find an increase in speed without the extension.

    11. #10
      burnie's Avatar
      burnie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01294
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Dec 2009
      Location
      kilwinning
      Posts
      70
      Thanks
      6
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: b/b upgrade but not speed

      Yes it will, connect directly to the test socket and repost your stats, you should find an increase in speed without the extension.
      nuts, its connected to the main socket (only have the one) without extension but it is a 10 metre line as pc in cupboard in hall (long story) so cant really move it and not wireless

     

     
    Page 1 of 8 123 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION