Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 6 of 8 FirstFirst ... 45678 LastLast
    Results 51 to 60 of 71

    b/b upgrade but not speed

    This is a discussion on b/b upgrade but not speed within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; phone up sky yesterday & went throug a few checks, after soing some more checks they are going to send ...

    1. #51
      burnie's Avatar
      burnie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01294
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Dec 2009
      Location
      kilwinning
      Posts
      70
      Thanks
      6
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: b/b upgrade but not speed

      phone up sky yesterday & went throug a few checks, after soing some more checks they are going to send out a new router and if that fails then an engineer. after explaining everything to the people that answer the phone and then to the solutions team over and over again sometime i think is it worth all this hassle. just glad i used a freephone number as it would have cost a small fortune.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #52
      burnie's Avatar
      burnie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01294
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Dec 2009
      Location
      kilwinning
      Posts
      70
      Thanks
      6
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: b/b upgrade but not speed

      got new router in today and connected up and we still have interferance on the phone although not as loud and tried it with the 3 new filters directly into test socket. unscrewed the socket to reveal the wires (only 2) and seen that the outer sheath has not been stripped off. would it make any difference to have the copper wire touching the metal connectors. thought i would ask before phoning sky again.

    4. #53
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: b/b upgrade but not speed

      What wires do you mean? If it is the ones connected to screw connectors on the backplate, usually marked A and B, then yes the wire should be stripped. If it is the ones on the faceplate, not screw type, but IDC connectors, then no, the wire should not be stripped. The connectors are designed to cut through the insulations and make contact with the wire. The insulation must never be stripped.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    5. #54
      burnie's Avatar
      burnie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01294
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Dec 2009
      Location
      kilwinning
      Posts
      70
      Thanks
      6
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: b/b upgrade but not speed

      the IDC connectors are the ones i meant, ah well time to waste 30 min + phoning sky now.

    6. #55
      burnie's Avatar
      burnie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01294
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Dec 2009
      Location
      kilwinning
      Posts
      70
      Thanks
      6
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: b/b upgrade but not speed

      got openreach out yesterday, he heard the data on line, refitted faceplate done a line test and typicaly the b/b did not cut off when he picked up the phone. said the cause was usually HR something and went to the box a few times and still getting some noise through the line (although not as bad) so he says he has to pass it back to sky and then they will then get back in touch if i am not till happy, anyways sky phoned last night and said if i could try a different phone in the test socket and get back to them, so i will try that over the w/end and see if it is my phone (hopefully not)

    7. #56
      burnie's Avatar
      burnie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01294
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Dec 2009
      Location
      kilwinning
      Posts
      70
      Thanks
      6
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: b/b upgrade but not speed

      phoned sky on Sunday after receiving a text from them about not having enough info(?) so after going through all the steps again the operator on the phone done something and my line was clear (woohoo) she then tried a few more things and the noise was still there, so she then put openreach back on to it (think i got a new line) and phoned my mobile to say they think they solved the problem. tried it when i got home and... the noise was still there, anyways took off faceplate, put straight into test socket and tried new phone, still some noise there but it is a great improvement.
      my current stata are:
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 10237 kbps 604 kbps
      Line Attenuation 30 db 16 db
      Noise Margin 11 db 16 db
      so i am going to give it until the w/end to make sure my line does not go wonky again before getting my speeds up a bit (hopefull back to the 15 meg plus)

    8. #57
      burnie's Avatar
      burnie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01294
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Dec 2009
      Location
      kilwinning
      Posts
      70
      Thanks
      6
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: b/b upgrade but not speed

      sigh still getting cut off when phone is in use (although not as often as before) think i have exhausted all my options, this is what i have done so far.
      1. phone in test socket,
      2. phone, b/b in test socket c/w filter
      3. swapped filters over
      4. all new router & equipment from sky all in test socket.
      5. BTO out could not fix problem, passed to sky who then got BTO out again and changed my line (i think)
      6. new phone & old phone still getting noise in background (although very low and only if you dial number sometimes) in test socket with different filters, in adsl faceplate
      NM has dropped by about 5 db
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 10237 kbps 604 kbps
      Line Attenuation 30 db 16 db
      Noise Margin 6 db 16 db

      any more advice on what to do before i phone sky again
      thanks.

    9. #58
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: b/b upgrade but not speed

      Moved to correct forum.




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    10. #59
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: b/b upgrade but not speed

      there's not a lot more Sky can do, they may get OR out one last time but failing that they'll offer you cancellation without penalty on technical grounds
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    11. #60
      burnie's Avatar
      burnie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01294
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Dec 2009
      Location
      kilwinning
      Posts
      70
      Thanks
      6
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: b/b upgrade but not speed

      there's not a lot more Sky can do, they may get OR out one last time but failing that they'll offer you cancellation without penalty on technical grounds
      dont want to go down that route as talk talk/AOL are the only other llu operators on my exchange and dont fancy an 18 month contract or phorm .

     

     
    Page 6 of 8 FirstFirst ... 45678 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION