Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 5 of 8 FirstFirst ... 34567 ... LastLast
    Results 41 to 50 of 71

    b/b upgrade but not speed

    This is a discussion on b/b upgrade but not speed within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; .....and any extensions connected to the faceplate will not work....

    1. #41
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: b/b upgrade but not speed

      .....and any extensions connected to the faceplate will not work.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.






    2. Advertisement
    3. #42
      burnie's Avatar
      burnie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01294
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Dec 2009
      Location
      kilwinning
      Posts
      70
      Thanks
      6
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: b/b upgrade but not speed

      right i will try again tonight and hopefully cure the problem, do i wait until dlm has finished before phone sky again.
      Last edited by burnie; 03-03-10 at 12:47 PM.

    4. #43
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: b/b upgrade but not speed

      You would be better waiting until it is finished. They will have no excuse then for not fixing it.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    5. #44
      burnie's Avatar
      burnie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01294
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Dec 2009
      Location
      kilwinning
      Posts
      70
      Thanks
      6
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: b/b upgrade but not speed

      .....and any extensions connected to the faceplate will not work.
      so i fit the filter to the test socket and fit the faceplate to the filter, the modem & router wont work

    6. #45
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: b/b upgrade but not speed

      so i fit the filter to the test socket and fit the faceplate to the filter, the modem & router wont work
      They should, as long as you can get both plugs fully inserted. That would allow your extensions to work.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    7. #46
      burnie's Avatar
      burnie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01294
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Dec 2009
      Location
      kilwinning
      Posts
      70
      Thanks
      6
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: b/b upgrade but not speed

      took out faceplate and used micro filter directly into test socket & still getting noise, tried with 5 filters (3 different types) all getting noise. zoe quiet line test said there was some echo and little noise (it was not little from where i was listening), its not my phone as it works fine when router is not plugged in, so that leaves either all the filters (bit strange) or my router or even phone line.
      any more advice please.

    8. #47
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: b/b upgrade but not speed

      I think you should set your other router up for Sky. That could show whether it is the router that is faulty or the problem is elsewhere.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    9. #48
      burnie's Avatar
      burnie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01294
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Dec 2009
      Location
      kilwinning
      Posts
      70
      Thanks
      6
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: b/b upgrade but not speed

      I think you should set your other router up for Sky. That could show whether it is the router that is faulty or the problem is elsewhere
      bit the bullet and phoned sky, went through the usual scripts with them then plugged other router in with their permission & still got interferance. so cst then said they have passed it over to the bb team and they will do line test over the next 48 hrs to eliminate all possibilties before sending out new router.

    10. #49
      burnie's Avatar
      burnie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01294
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Dec 2009
      Location
      kilwinning
      Posts
      70
      Thanks
      6
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: b/b upgrade but not speed

      just wondering if it could be my filters/faceplates that are goosed, but out of curiosity how long should these filters last before needing replaced. the ones i tried were tiscali, sky and ones that looked like a splitter (no cable) which may have been talk talk.

    11. #50
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: b/b upgrade but not speed

      how long should these filters last before needing replaced
      How long is a piece of string? You can't really put a life on them. There are no moving parts so they could last indefinitely, or they could be dead out of the box. If you are getting the same result with a variety, they are probably OK. It is unlikely that the ones you have tried are all faulty.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     
    Page 5 of 8 FirstFirst ... 34567 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION