Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 4 of 8 FirstFirst ... 23456 ... LastLast
    Results 31 to 40 of 71

    b/b upgrade but not speed

    This is a discussion on b/b upgrade but not speed within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; You can get an idea of noise on the line by dialling 1 digit to kill the dial tone and ...

    1. #31
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: b/b upgrade but not speed

      You can get an idea of noise on the line by dialling 1 digit to kill the dial tone and listening. You should hear nothing except a quiet hiss at most. This is every bit as good as the official BT test.

      You definitely have a fault somewhere, you do not get a rise of 4 dbs in the attenuation for nothing. It could be a router fault, do you have another router you could try?

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.






    2. Advertisement
    3. #32
      burnie's Avatar
      burnie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01294
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Dec 2009
      Location
      kilwinning
      Posts
      70
      Thanks
      6
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: b/b upgrade but not speed

      b/b keeps losing connection when i pick up phone, i do have another router (trendnet) but thought you could not a non sky router without it being flashed
      should have mentioned still on dlm after phoning on saturday, but dont think/hope not this is anything to do with it.
      Last edited by burnie; 02-03-10 at 09:50 PM.

    4. #33
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: b/b upgrade but not speed

      b/b keeps losing connection when i pick up phone
      That looks like a line or exchange fault. How is the noise on your line?

      You don't need to flash a router to use it on Sky, you just have to obtain your username and password and put these into the router together with some other settings. Very easy really.

      should have mentioned still on dlm after phoning on saturday, but dont think/hope not this is anything to do with it.
      This will be why you are capped, but it does not cap you for no reason.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    5. #34
      burnie's Avatar
      burnie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01294
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Dec 2009
      Location
      kilwinning
      Posts
      70
      Thanks
      6
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: b/b upgrade but not speed

      That looks like a line or exchange fault. How is the noise on your line?
      when b/b drops, line is clear for a second or two until router reconnects & then you hear the noise and the modem dialing up.
      You don't need to flash a router to use it on Sky, you just have to obtain your username and password and put these into the router together with some other settings. Very easy really
      can sky not tell if you are not using their router though.

    6. #35
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: b/b upgrade but not speed

      then you hear the noise and the modem dialing up.
      This usually means a dodgy filter.

      Sky can tell if you are using their router, but at the moment they don't seem to worry. See the 2nd para here-
      Non-Sky Router Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ)

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    7. #36
      burnie's Avatar
      burnie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01294
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Dec 2009
      Location
      kilwinning
      Posts
      70
      Thanks
      6
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: b/b upgrade but not speed

      This usually means a dodgy filter
      .
      sigh. brother in law who is a bt engineer said that these bt ones (adsl faceplate) never have faults (to his knowledge anyway) bl**dy things only about 2 weeks old, i'll change it over to original plate with a seperate filter and hopefully that will cure it.

    8. #37
      burnie's Avatar
      burnie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01294
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Dec 2009
      Location
      kilwinning
      Posts
      70
      Thanks
      6
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: b/b upgrade but not speed

      right just plugged into test socket and these are the stats now
      Connection Speed 12192 kbps 767 kbps
      Line Attenuation 29.5 db 14.8 db
      Noise Margin 7.8 db 16.1 db
      looks like the face plate was fubar after all

    9. #38
      burnie's Avatar
      burnie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01294
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Dec 2009
      Location
      kilwinning
      Posts
      70
      Thanks
      6
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: b/b upgrade but not speed

      put faceplate back on and now it seems to be working again (well for moment anyway)
      now speeds are
      Connection Speed 11287 kbps 767 kbps
      Line Attenuation 29.5 db 15.1 db
      Noise Margin 7.9 db 16.0 db
      now do i wait until dlm has finished before phoning sky or do i do it before then to get my speeds back up to about the 15 meg mark

    10. #39
      burnie's Avatar
      burnie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01294
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Dec 2009
      Location
      kilwinning
      Posts
      70
      Thanks
      6
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: b/b upgrade but not speed

      aaaarggghhhhh, picked up phone this morning and the noise is there again, did not have time to check router stats.
      another ? do i need the face plate or can i just have the phone & router plugged directly into the test socket.

    11. #40
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: b/b upgrade but not speed

      You can leave the adsl filter connected to the test socket, it is just a bit neater with a faceplate.

     

     
    Page 4 of 8 FirstFirst ... 23456 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION