Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 12

    Broadband rarely connects

    This is a discussion on Broadband rarely connects within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi guys, been struggling with my sky broadband pretty much since the day i got it back in March I ...

    1. #1
      Bennie-Mac's Avatar
      Bennie-Mac is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Nov 2009
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Broadband rarely connects

      Hi guys, been struggling with my sky broadband pretty much since the day i got it back in March I have the Sagem router and it refuses to connect for weeks on end. then it will go through a period of time where it decides to connect for a week with no problems at all, other times it will connect 1st time, then drop out 5 mins later...

      When the router is connected or in the process of connecting, the phone line becomes full of interference and you can hear a faint dial up style tone. Also, if i ring someone the broadband will suddenly connect, but drop out within seconds of putting my phone down. Ive phoned sky and they claim its a BT fault, but ive tested and replaced everything so im sure the bt line is working.

      Does this sound like a router problem? Has anyone else had this?

      Thanks for any help


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Andy17's Avatar
      Andy17 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Woodhouse (SLWD)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fiber Max
      Router: Sky Q Hub
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Posts
      1,370
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Broadband rarely connects

      Is the router plugged into a filter, if it is then you have a fault on your external line which needs looking at. when on the phone is there any noise with the router not plugged in.

    4. #3
      Bennie-Mac's Avatar
      Bennie-Mac is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Nov 2009
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Broadband rarely connects

      Yep its plugged in to a filter, its the same when using the test socket. When router is not plugged in the line is perfectly clear.

      Its currently working because im on the phone to my own mobile just to get it to connect so i can get the router stats which are:

      Connection Speed - 736kbps Downstream and 864kbps Upstream
      Line Attenuation - 52db DS and 29.5 US
      Noise Margin - 16.3db DS and 7db US

    5. #4
      Andy17's Avatar
      Andy17 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Woodhouse (SLWD)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fiber Max
      Router: Sky Q Hub
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Posts
      1,370
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Broadband rarely connects

      It seems to be that the router is faulty, I would phone sky and ask them you want a new router as the one you have does noth connect and hold the connection and when you disconnect the router the line is fine.

    6. #5
      krysis's Avatar
      krysis is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: BT
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Location
      Belfast
      Posts
      301
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Broadband rarely connects

      Do you have another router you can try? Maybe get a lend of one from a friend for a bit to test it.
      If the noise goes away, then it would be the router.
      If the noise doesn't go away, check the grey DSL cable - Try use a different one - Again if possible ask a friend if you can have a lend of it.
      If the noise remains with a different router and dsl cable, even in the testsocket then you could have a Faulty Tie Pair - In this case call Sky.

      If the noise clears with a different router, cable or filter etc then it's obvious it's a piece of equipment - If its the router call sky.
      If filters, cables see if you can buy a new one.

    7. #6
      Andy17's Avatar
      Andy17 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Woodhouse (SLWD)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fiber Max
      Router: Sky Q Hub
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Posts
      1,370
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Broadband rarely connects

      Your speed is also capped down rather alot, do you have any extensions in the house.

    8. #7
      Bennie-Mac's Avatar
      Bennie-Mac is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Nov 2009
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Broadband rarely connects

      Quote Originally Posted by krysis View Post
      Do you have another router you can try? Maybe get a lend of one from a friend for a bit to test it.
      If the noise goes away, then it would be the router.
      If the noise doesn't go away, check the grey DSL cable - Try use a different one - Again if possible ask a friend if you can have a lend of it.
      If the noise remains with a different router and dsl cable, even in the testsocket then you could have a Faulty Tie Pair - In this case call Sky.

      If the noise clears with a different router, cable or filter etc then it's obvious it's a piece of equipment - If its the router call sky.
      If filters, cables see if you can buy a new one.
      Sorry i should have said in my first post that ive changed all the cables and filters to brand new ones, so its not them thats the problem. Ive got a BT Voyager router, but it seems to be locked in some way so i cant install it... I might just give sky a call and ask them for a new router anyway, save the hassle of trying to find and install a spare.

      Quote Originally Posted by Andy17 View Post
      Your speed is also capped down rather alot, do you have any extensions in the house.
      I have 2 other phone points in the house, but they are all working fine. If you take the faceplate off the master socket they no longer have a dial tone which i beleive is how they should be.

      Thanks guys

    9. #8
      Andy17's Avatar
      Andy17 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Woodhouse (SLWD)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fiber Max
      Router: Sky Q Hub
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Posts
      1,370
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Broadband rarely connects

      On the back of the master socket faceplate, since you say you have extensions just check to make sure that on wires 2 and 5 are connected, anything connected to 3 disconnect it as it is not used and causes problems with speed.

    10. #9
      Bennie-Mac's Avatar
      Bennie-Mac is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Nov 2009
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Broadband rarely connects

      Quote Originally Posted by Andy17 View Post
      On the back of the master socket faceplate, since you say you have extensions just check to make sure that on wires 2 and 5 are connected, anything connected to 3 disconnect it as it is not used and causes problems with speed.
      Cool i didnt know that, thanks! Ill have a look and disconnect.

    11. #10
      Andy17's Avatar
      Andy17 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Woodhouse (SLWD)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fiber Max
      Router: Sky Q Hub
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Posts
      1,370
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Broadband rarely connects

      Quote Originally Posted by Bennie-Mac View Post
      Cool i didnt know that, thanks! Ill have a look and disconnect.
      Once you have got a replacement router from sky, you will be able to increase the connection speed.

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION