Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 23

    newshosting

    This is a discussion on newshosting within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi there, I'm using newshosting with Sky BB getting awful download speeds? General http and FTP speeds are good, but ...

    1. #1
      imcarm's Avatar
      imcarm is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      newshosting

      Hi there,

      I'm using newshosting with Sky BB getting awful download speeds?

      General http and FTP speeds are good, but via newshosting I'm getting around 60kbps

      I have another max package with another provider (same speed) and I'm getting 600kbps+ through newshosting.

      Anyone noticed this?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      vishal's Avatar
      vishal is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kenton Road (LWKROA)
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      NW London
      Posts
      268
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      i am not connected to sky yet, but i do use newshosting, have you tried other port numbers? 23, 25, 80, 7000, 8000, 9000

    4. #3
      imcarm's Avatar
      imcarm is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Hi mate,

      Yes I have tried 23, 25, 80, 7000 (in fact I've tried all the ports listed on newshosting's server page) but still no change in D/L speed. As I said http downloads and FTP downloads are very good. Very odd
      Last edited by Wheelie; 28-09-06 at 08:04 PM. Reason: Please do not quote the preceding post.Please use QUOTE sparingly please use @User Name this helps keep the forum tidy thanks

    5. #4
      Fox McCloud's Avatar
      Fox McCloud is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: NEMI
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Middlesbrough
      Posts
      40
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Ive have speeds on some groups at like 1400kbps, but some others really slow at around 400kbps
      I think its during peak times. As it was the same when i had NTL 10MB.
      Different times of the day herald different results.
      And also, what program are you using ?
      I use grabit 1.5.3 as its the most stable rgarding d/l speeds.
      The latest one is quite good, but ill stick with mine till a proper release.

    6. #5
      vishal's Avatar
      vishal is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kenton Road (LWKROA)
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      NW London
      Posts
      268
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      how many connections are you using?

      do a traceroute to the newshosting server. and see if anything strange is going on.

      goto run, and type cmd

      then tracert unlimited.newshosting.com



      here is my one, using a bt connection.


      Tracing route to unlimited.newshosting.com [63.218.45.254]
      over a maximum of 30 hops:

      1 <1 ms <1 ms <1 ms mygateway1.ar7 [192.168.1.1]
      2 10 ms 9 ms 10 ms esr3.ealing5.broadband.bt.net [217.47.155.142]
      3 10 ms 9 ms 10 ms 217.47.155.13
      4 10 ms 10 ms 10 ms 212.140.233.1
      5 11 ms 10 ms 11 ms 217.41.168.74
      6 10 ms 9 ms 10 ms 212.140.233.34
      7 11 ms 10 ms 9 ms 217.47.155.42
      8 10 ms 10 ms 9 ms core1-pos3-2.ealing.ukcore.bt.net [62.6.200.1]
      9 9 ms 10 ms 10 ms core1-pos1-0-0.telehouse.ukcore.bt.net [62.6.201.82]
      10 10 ms 31 ms 10 ms cr02.ldn01.pccwbtn.net [195.66.224.167]
      11 287 ms 206 ms 211 ms newshosting.ge2-2.br02.ash01.pccwbtn.net [63.218.94.110]
      12 89 ms 90 ms 88 ms unlimited.newshosting.com [63.218.45.254]

      Trace complete.
      Last edited by vishal; 28-09-06 at 03:59 PM.

    7. #6
      tinx's Avatar
      tinx is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Horsham Carfax SDHRSHM
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Horsham, West Sussex
      Posts
      47
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      I know its not newshosting but I ma using easynews which maxes out my conneciton on SkyBB Max altohugh I am only getting 350kb/s but that all my line can cope with.

    8. #7
      imcarm's Avatar
      imcarm is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Quote Originally Posted by Fox McCloud View Post
      And also, what program are you using ?
      I use grabit 1.5.3 as its the most stable rgarding d/l speeds.
      The latest one is quite good, but ill stick with mine till a proper release.
      I'm also using Grabit 1.5.3

    9. #8
      imcarm's Avatar
      imcarm is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Quote Originally Posted by vishal View Post
      how many connections are you using?
      I'm using 8 connections.

      I have two Max conenctions one with Sky the other with Freeola, both the routers are on the same network but obviously configured with different IP addresses. If I switch my machines default gateway to the Freeola router then my speeds fly through newshosting (600kbs+) if I then switch the gateway back to SKYBB then use grabit my speeds drop to 60kbs or less.

      I will do a couple of traceroutes and pathpings tonight
      Last edited by imcarm; 28-09-06 at 04:34 PM.

    10. #9
      vishal's Avatar
      vishal is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kenton Road (LWKROA)
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      NW London
      Posts
      268
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      i think its probably skys routing, hope it is sorted, as im going to be using newshosting when i get switched.

    11. #10
      Wheelie's Avatar
      Wheelie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stanmore LWSTAN
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Stanmore
      Posts
      3,424
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Welcome to the site imcarm

      I have tried and can Max my connection (1.45MB/s) on newshosting no problem at all and I and connected with a SkyBB IP
      Ray

      Some Advice.. Its always advisable to inform your old ISP as soon as you have migrated that you have moved.
      ______________________________________

      If you would like to know the straight line distance to your exchange then
      click here
      Would you like an idea of the possible speeds you will get with the Max Package then click here or for the Connect Package then click here

     

     
    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION