Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 23

    newshosting

    This is a discussion on newshosting within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; I'm also using grabit 1.5.3, win xp ADSL Link Downstream Upstream Connection Speed 7040 kbps 448 kbps Line Attenuation 15.5 ...

    1. #11
      otto's Avatar
      otto is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      1
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      I'm also using grabit 1.5.3, win xp

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 7040 kbps 448 kbps
      Line Attenuation 15.5 db 29.5 db
      Noise Margin 7.0 db 18.0 db

      ftp and http downloads i'm getting 630kbps which is great, but using grabit going to newshosting site all I get on average is 30-60kbps - my old 1/2meg connection previously managed a steady 58kbps.

      this is crazy


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      Wheelie's Avatar
      Wheelie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stanmore LWSTAN
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Stanmore
      Posts
      3,424
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Welcome to the site otto

      I really hate that program it has a tendency to mess up downloads and can be very temperamental, I mush rather use NewsBin Pro or NewsLeecher with nzb files.

      I have just done another test download 50MB and I got the same result 1.45MB/sec from newshosting.
      Ray

      Some Advice.. Its always advisable to inform your old ISP as soon as you have migrated that you have moved.
      ______________________________________

      If you would like to know the straight line distance to your exchange then
      click here
      Would you like an idea of the possible speeds you will get with the Max Package then click here or for the Connect Package then click here

    4. #13
      imcarm's Avatar
      imcarm is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Speed is still around 60kbps through newzbin it almost looks as if there is some form of throttling going on.

      Traceroute:
      C:\>tracert unlimited.newshosting.com

      Tracing route to unlimited.newshosting.com [63.218.45.254]
      over a maximum of 30 hops:

      1 1 ms <1 ms <1 ms 192.168.254.254
      2 19 ms 19 ms 19 ms dr0.thlon.uk.easynet.net [82.108.0.75]
      3 20 ms 20 ms 19 ms ip-89-200-130-27.ov.easynet.net [89.200.130.27]

      4 20 ms 21 ms 21 ms ip-89-200-132-122.ov.easynet.net [89.200.132.122
      ]
      5 19 ms 19 ms 19 ms ge1-1-0.er3.thlon.uk.easynet.net [89.200.130.2]

      6 20 ms 19 ms 19 ms ae0.28.br0.thlon.uk.easynet.net [217.204.60.89]

      7 52 ms 19 ms 20 ms ge0-0-0-0.gr0.thlon.uk.easynet.net [207.162.198.
      12]
      8 20 ms 20 ms 20 ms ge0-0-0-0.gr1.thlon.uk.easynet.net [207.162.198.
      13]
      9 32 ms 27 ms 19 ms ge0-2-0-0.gr0.tclon.uk.easynet.net [207.162.205.
      22]
      10 28 ms 27 ms 27 ms so0-2-0-0.gr0.tcams.nl.easynet.net [207.162.205.
      50]
      11 184 ms 153 ms 90 ms 213.201.252.236
      12 28 ms 27 ms 28 ms j1.ams.sc.net [195.69.145.42]
      13 27 ms 28 ms 109 ms ae1.604.j3.iad.scnet.net [205.234.191.253]
      14 109 ms 186 ms 101 ms gw5-newshosting.iad.scnet.net [66.225.244.162]
      15 101 ms 105 ms 101 ms gw5-newshosting.iad.scnet.net [66.225.244.162]
      16 * 102 ms * 63.218.45.254
      17 103 ms 103 ms 103 ms 63.218.45.254
      Trace complete.


      I'm sure if anything was wrong with Grabit then I would be seeing the same results through my freeola connection, which I just tested and is always 600kbps+

    5. #14
      Wheelie's Avatar
      Wheelie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stanmore LWSTAN
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Stanmore
      Posts
      3,424
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      I wasn't saying that grabit was causing the speed problem I was just giving my opinion of that particular program.

      As for the speeds from newshosting I am testing them now and will grab a screenshot and post it.
      Ray

      Some Advice.. Its always advisable to inform your old ISP as soon as you have migrated that you have moved.
      ______________________________________

      If you would like to know the straight line distance to your exchange then
      click here
      Would you like an idea of the possible speeds you will get with the Max Package then click here or for the Connect Package then click here

    6. #15
      Wheelie's Avatar
      Wheelie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stanmore LWSTAN
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Stanmore
      Posts
      3,424
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Ok have done another speed test


      As you can see there is nothing wrong with my speeds from unlimited.newshosting.com so I have no idea why you should be having problems?
      Ray

      Some Advice.. Its always advisable to inform your old ISP as soon as you have migrated that you have moved.
      ______________________________________

      If you would like to know the straight line distance to your exchange then
      click here
      Would you like an idea of the possible speeds you will get with the Max Package then click here or for the Connect Package then click here

    7. #16
      imcarm's Avatar
      imcarm is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Here is screen of grabit running at full speed:


    8. #17
      imcarm's Avatar
      imcarm is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      I have tried various version of grabit but they all appear to give the same speeds, I also have problems with getting all 8 connections going (server timeouts) and it takes an age to authenticate.

      Been this way since my SKY BB was installed 3 weeks ago.

    9. #18
      mheaford's Avatar
      mheaford is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      I'm having similar problems with newshosting. I have just migrated from Bulldog 2Mb and I used to max that out when downloading from newshosting.

      I only went live with Sky yesterday and after a upping my rwin saw briefly speeds of about 1.5MB/s but today it has always been between 50K/s and 200K/s. My modem is synced at 15232 so I should be able to get way faster than that. I also notice that when I go to download something from a newsgroup it takes about 30 seconds to actually connect to unlimited.newshosting.com.

      I am currently downloading about a 400MB file and the average speed so far for the first 100MB is 95K/s that is under half of what I used to get on my old Bulldog 2Mb connection.

      Here is my traceroute:

      Tracing route to unlimited.newshosting.com [63.218.45.254]
      over a maximum of 30 hops:


      1 2 ms 1 ms 1 ms 192.168.1.1
      2 45 ms 45 ms 43 ms cr0.tht.uk.easynet.net [195.189.158.86]
      3 30 ms 30 ms 30 ms 80.238.40.33
      4 34 ms 33 ms 34 ms ip-89-200-132-53.ov.easynet.net [89.200.132.53]
      5 32 ms 32 ms 32 ms ge2-1-0.er3.tclon.uk.easynet.net [89.200.130.0]
      6 34 ms 34 ms 35 ms ge0-0-0.er3.thlon.uk.easynet.net [82.108.6.150]
      7 34 ms 34 ms 34 ms ae0.24.br0.thlon.uk.easynet.net [217.204.60.81]
      8 * 35 ms 36 ms ge0-0-0-0.gr1.thlon.uk.easynet.net [207.162.198.13]
      9 36 ms 36 ms 42 ms ge0-2-0-0.gr0.tclon.uk.easynet.net [207.162.205.22]
      10 36 ms 36 ms 44 ms so0-2-0-0.gr0.tcams.nl.easynet.net [207.162.205.50]
      11 42 ms 43 ms 42 ms ge0-3-0-1.br1.tcams.nl.easynet.net [207.162.205.114]
      12 43 ms 43 ms 43 ms ge0-3-0-1.br1.tcams.nl.easynet.net [207.162.205.114]
      13 43 ms 43 ms 43 ms 213.201.252.236
      14 124 ms 123 ms 46 ms j1.ams.sc.net [195.69.145.42]
      15 118 ms 123 ms 123 ms ae1.604.j3.iad.scnet.net [205.234.191.253]
      16 115 ms 129 ms * gw5-newshosting.iad.scnet.net [66.225.244.162]
      17 115 ms * 116 ms 63.218.45.254

      Trace complete.

      As a test I downloaded ftp://ftp.mirror.ac.uk/edunfs/mirror...4-bootonly.iso to get a good estimate of my connection and this came down at over 1.2MB/s so my connection in general looks fine.

      EDIT: I am using software called Newsrover which I have used ever since I started using usenet and never had any problems with.

    10. #19
      Wheelie's Avatar
      Wheelie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stanmore LWSTAN
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Stanmore
      Posts
      3,424
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Welcome to the site mheaford

      I have no idea why mine should be so good and your so poor but if SkyBB were throttling as imcarm suggested earlier then I would be affected as well.
      Ray

      Some Advice.. Its always advisable to inform your old ISP as soon as you have migrated that you have moved.
      ______________________________________

      If you would like to know the straight line distance to your exchange then
      click here
      Would you like an idea of the possible speeds you will get with the Max Package then click here or for the Connect Package then click here

    11. #20
      mheaford's Avatar
      mheaford is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Ok bizzare things are happening now!

      After downloading from that ftp site at 1.2MB/s I stopped all my news downloads and restarted them. This time they flew at over a 1MB/s. I just started another one to test and this started coming down at a peak of 1.6MB/s!

      Don't know what happened but I had a 4 gig download running all day and that never got above 300K/s.

      Strange!

     

     
    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION