Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 16

    How long should broadband upgrade take ?

    This is a discussion on How long should broadband upgrade take ? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; I ask as i upgraded online 4 days ago and still on same speed i phone sky and he said ...

    1. #1
      pskyp's Avatar
      pskyp is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Posts
      55
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      How long should broadband upgrade take ?

      I ask as i upgraded online 4 days ago and still on same speed

      i phone sky and he said it can take a week

      Is he on a wind up because when on cable the upgrade was instant


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      pskyp's Avatar
      pskyp is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Posts
      55
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: How long should broadband upgrade take ?

      Any ideas ?

    4. #3
      penrhyn's Avatar
      penrhyn is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Long Eaton
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD 1TB Box
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Derbyshire
      Posts
      1,186
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 10 Times in 7 Posts

      Re: How long should broadband upgrade take ?

      The worst scenario would be that your line won't handle anything faster.
      First off I'd obtain and post your router statistics.


    5. #4
      pskyp's Avatar
      pskyp is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Posts
      55
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: How long should broadband upgrade take ?

      Quote Originally Posted by penrhyn View Post
      The worst scenario would be that your line won't handle anything faster.
      First off I'd obtain and post your router statistics.
      where i get them ?

    6. #5
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,132
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: How long should broadband upgrade take ?

      where i get them ?
      Click the 'Sky Router Stats' link in the Quick Links box in the Left column.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    7. #6
      pskyp's Avatar
      pskyp is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Posts
      55
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: How long should broadband upgrade take ?

      Modem
      ADSL Firmware Version A2pB023o.d20h
      Modem Status Up
      DownStream Connection Speed 2043
      UpStream Connection Speed 412
      VPI 0
      VCI 38

    8. #7
      Andy17's Avatar
      Andy17 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Woodhouse (SLWD)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fiber Max
      Router: Sky Q Hub
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Posts
      1,370
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: How long should broadband upgrade take ?

      At the bottom of the router screen click on the button that says router stats, these show the attenuation, speed and noise margin.

    9. #8
      pskyp's Avatar
      pskyp is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Posts
      55
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: How long should broadband upgrade take ?

      Connection Speed 2043 kbps 412 kbps
      Line Attenuation 13.0 db 5.1 db
      Noise Margin 13.4 db 19.5 db

    10. #9
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,132
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: How long should broadband upgrade take ?

      You are still on the Base speed, but more importantly there is something seriously wrong with your wiring. With a sync of 2043kbps and an attenuation of 13dbs, your noise margin should be way up in the 30s not the 13dbs that you have. Can you plug into your Test socket, click the link below for instructions, and post your stats from there. Your speed will probably not rise, but your noise margin should.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    11. #10
      pskyp's Avatar
      pskyp is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Posts
      55
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: How long should broadband upgrade take ?

      Still waiting & have spent over half hr in the past few weeks on phone to sky

      zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz

      come on mr branson lay some cables here so we have a choice

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION