Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 10 of 10

    I can't get online

    This is a discussion on I can't get online within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; I've been trying for the past few days now to get my PC online but nothing seems to be working. ...

    1. #1
      Slaveternal's Avatar
      Slaveternal is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2009
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      I can't get online

      I've been trying for the past few days now to get my PC online but nothing seems to be working. It works fine on a year 2000 laptop. I called the tech help and i went through all the things they have suggested i do. I know there is nothing wrong with the PC beacuse it was working fine on virgin. For some reason it's not working on sky, please help

      PS the PC says it's connected. It sends packet but recieves nothing


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: I can't get online

      Can you connect to the router?

      go to :- 192.168.0.1

      If so then check that the router is connected to the exchange by checking if the green @ light is lit.

    4. #3
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: I can't get online

      There is no reason why using Sky instead of Virgin would make any difference. What may be happening is that it is still looking for the old Virgin connection.

      Try giving it a fixed IP for a start, using XP Go to the Control Panel then Network Settings, double click your adapter. Highlight Internet Protocol TCP/IP and click Properties. Tick the Use this IP address button and put in-
      IP Address...........192.168.0.100
      Subnet................255.255.255.0
      Gateway................192.168.0.1.
      You can leave the rest empty or put in
      Preferred DNS.... 208.67.222.222
      Secondary DNS...208.67.220.220

      Reboot your PC and you should connect.

      Smithy
      It works fine on a year 2000 laptop

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    5. #4
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: I can't get online

      LOL, yes but that way 9 years ago!!!

    6. #5
      Slaveternal's Avatar
      Slaveternal is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2009
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: I can't get online

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      There is no reason why using Sky instead of Virgin would make any difference. What may be happening is that it is still looking for the old Virgin connection.

      Try giving it a fixed IP for a start, using XP Go to the Control Panel then Network Settings, double click your adapter. Highlight Internet Protocol TCP/IP and click Properties. Tick the Use this IP address button and put in-
      IP Address...........192.168.0.100
      Subnet................255.255.255.0
      Gateway................192.168.0.1.
      You can leave the rest empty or put in
      Preferred DNS.... 208.67.222.222
      Secondary DNS...208.67.220.220

      Reboot your PC and you should connect.

      Smithy
      It works fine on a year 2000 laptop
      Still not working.. anything else it could be?

    7. #6
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: I can't get online

      Are you trying to connect by wireless or wired?

      It might not help, but try downloading Winsockfix to a USB drive and running it on the effected PC. - Download WinSockFix 1.1.0.13 - WinSockFix - A free Winsock/Tcp repair utility - Softpedia

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    8. #7
      Slaveternal's Avatar
      Slaveternal is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2009
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: I can't get online

      would you be able to tell what was wrong if i gave you this....

      this is what i get when i get ipconfig/all

      Windows IP Configuration

      Host name.....: Admin
      primary DNS suffix......:
      Node type......: unknown
      IP routing Enabled.....: No
      WINS proxy Enabled......: No

      Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

      Connection-specific DNS suffix:
      Description......: Realtalk RTL8168/8111 PCI-E Gigabit Ethernet NIC
      DHCP Enabled......: No
      IP address............192.168.0.13
      subnet mask........:255.255.255.0
      default gateway........192.168.0.1

    9. #8
      Slaveternal's Avatar
      Slaveternal is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2009
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: I can't get online

      oh and wired. sorry forgot to say

    10. #9
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: I can't get online

      Did you run the application I recommended in post 3?

      Can you enter your router settings by putting http://192.168.0.1 in the address bar.

      Open a command prompt and type ping 192.168.0.1. what does it return?

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    11. #10
      Slaveternal's Avatar
      Slaveternal is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2009
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: I can't get online

      It's ok i found the problem it was the driver to my network card. I re-installed it and i got online. Thanks for the help! i feel like i right idiot now haha

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION