Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 12

    Please Help Me... Very Low Downstream

    This is a discussion on Please Help Me... Very Low Downstream within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; ADSL Link Downstream Upstream Connection Speed 761 kbps 606 kbps Line Attenuation 53.5 db 32.2 db Noise Margin 10.1 db ...

    1. #1
      djpower2k9's Avatar
      djpower2k9 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: stanley
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid/Everyday
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2009
      Posts
      13
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Unhappy Please Help Me... Very Low Downstream

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 761 kbps 606 kbps
      Line Attenuation 53.5 db 32.2 db
      Noise Margin 10.1 db 9.5 db

      I have broadband Mid and my download speed is only 761kbps, is there anything anyone can do to get my speed up a bit? feels like i'm living in the 90's again with this speed.... any info will be gratefully recieved.

      Thanks.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Andy17's Avatar
      Andy17 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Woodhouse (SLWD)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fiber Max
      Router: Sky Q Hub
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Posts
      1,370
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Please Help Me... Very Low Downstream

      Post your stats from the test socket, details can be found in the link in my sig then post then back here.

    4. #3
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Please Help Me... Very Low Downstream

      feels like i'm living in the 90's again with this speed
      If you had had that speed in the 90s you would have been over the moon, norm then was 56kbps or 512kbps if you were one of the lucky few on broadband. Have a look at this if your memory needs jogged - Another DSL trial, only slower and more expensive - BT - ZDNet.co.uk

      I looks like you are yet another who has been transferred to ADSL2+ whose line is just not good enough. Sky will probably faff around telling you you have too many errors, blah, blah blah. If they transferred you to ADSL1, G.DMT, there would be little problem.


      Post your stats as suggested, it is possible your internal wiring is pulling everything down.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    5. #4
      djpower2k9's Avatar
      djpower2k9 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: stanley
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid/Everyday
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2009
      Posts
      13
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Please Help Me... Very Low Downstream

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      If you had had that speed in the 90s you would have been over the moon, norm then was 56kbps or 512kbps if you were one of the lucky few on broadband.
      Well i just moved into this house yesterday and was shocked at the speeds i am getting after getting speeds of 16mb+ at my old house

      I have tested the test socket and the speeds dont change, is this not down to living a bit further away from the exchange than i was at my old address?

    6. #5
      djpower2k9's Avatar
      djpower2k9 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: stanley
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid/Everyday
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2009
      Posts
      13
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Please Help Me... Very Low Downstream

      Quote Originally Posted by Andy17 View Post
      Post your stats from the test socket, details can be found in the link in my sig then post then back here.
      These are my stats from the test socket:-

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 761 kbps 606 kbps
      Line Attenuation 51.5 db 31.9 db
      Noise Margin 6.8 db 10.5 db


      Thank you for your time.

    7. #6
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Please Help Me... Very Low Downstream

      Can you check when the faceplate is removed to expose the Test socket that all your other fixed extensions are dead. If they are, it looks like you have a very bad external line, which is not being helped by being on ADSL2+.

      Due to your line length you are never going to get anything near 16Mb, 4-5Mb if you are lucky.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    8. #7
      djpower2k9's Avatar
      djpower2k9 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: stanley
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid/Everyday
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2009
      Posts
      13
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Please Help Me... Very Low Downstream

      Thanks... i would be happy with 3-5mb as i know i am about 2 mile from my exchange, so it looks as though i need to get bt to install a new telephone line into the house...does this sound about right?

    9. #8
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Please Help Me... Very Low Downstream

      Can you check that your other sockets are dead with the faceplate removed and at the same time try a quiet line test. Plug a corded phone into the test socket on its own, dial 17070 option 2 and listen. You line should be quiet with no snaps crackles or pops.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    10. #9
      djpower2k9's Avatar
      djpower2k9 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: stanley
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid/Everyday
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2009
      Posts
      13
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Please Help Me... Very Low Downstream

      Ok all other sockets are dead with the faceplate removed and i tryed a quiet line test and line is very quiet with no cracles or anything.... may i add that everytime i reboot router i always get exactly the same downstream speed... these are my stats and i am using test socket to post this message..

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 761 kbps 593 kbps
      Line Attenuation 51.0 db 31.9 db
      Noise Margin 8.9 db 10.5 db


      any other suggestions would be appreciated...surely i must be getting more than 761Kbps.

      Thank You

    11. #10
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Please Help Me... Very Low Downstream

      It looks like if there is a fault it is on your outside line and if you voice line is clear, might be impossible to get fixed.

      All I can suggest is that you call Sky and ask them to check your connection. If they refuse to do anything, ask for a manager or supervisor and insist on being put through to the Customer Solutions Team as you are not at all happy with your soeed.. If you get through to CST ask them to try your line on G.DMT (ADSL1) this may allow it to carry a bit more speed.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION