Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 5 of 5

    Connection Help Needed Here...

    This is a discussion on Connection Help Needed Here... within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi all... On Oct.28th i was told by Sky that my line was 'migrated' (whatever that means)..... It hasnt worked ...

    1. #1
      philsurrey's Avatar
      philsurrey is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid/Everyday
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2009
      Posts
      1
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Connection Help Needed Here...

      Hi all... On Oct.28th i was told by Sky that my line was 'migrated' (whatever that means)..... It hasnt worked since... I have a solid amber internet light on my NetGear DG934G router, which Sky sent to replace my original router. A BT engineer has checked my exchange and my house socket and says the problem is Sky configeration related. Sky tryed on configer the router manually.
      After nearly one month... SKY CANNOT fix this...Any ideas please...Phil.

      It is not too wise posting your full email as it is likely to be picked up by spammers. TD.
      [/U]
      Last edited by philsurrey; 23-11-09 at 03:16 PM. Reason: Email deactivated


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Connection Help Needed Here...

      Hi all... On Oct.28th i was told by Sky that my line was 'migrated' (whatever that means)
      If you have Sky Phone Rental, it probably means you have been moved to the new "highspeed" Sky Voice and Broadband Network. Many others are experiencing difficulties and unfortunately there does not appear to be a cure in sight. Have a look here =
      Lost speed with move to SVBN

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. #3
      boothy_08's Avatar
      boothy_08 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Oldham
      Broadband ISP: Virgin Media 120Mbps
      Router: Superhub 2 VM
      Sky TV: Freeview TV
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Location
      Manchester
      Posts
      421
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 17 Times in 17 Posts

      Re: Connection Help Needed Here...

      new "highspeed" Sky Voice and Broadband Network ..... whats this change? i noticed my sync speed has gone to 8.2 Mbps now the most ive ever got (only just this morning), its normally between 6.6Mbps - 7.4Mbps, so does this mean ive been moved to this new highspeed sky voice and broadband network? im on the sky MAX package, with upload speeds between 896kbps - 916kbps.... i dont understand what this is? all i know is my internet has gone faster.

    5. #4
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Connection Help Needed Here...

      new "highspeed" Sky Voice and Broadband Network ..... whats this change?
      When I said "highspeed" I meant it in a sarcastic way, I don't think anyone has reported that they are getting any more out of it. The opposite is the case. You reported a month ago that your speed had gone up to 8Mb, a rise of a few hundred Ks is not unusual if your router resyncs at a quiet time.

      Sky are moving all their customers with Phone Line Rental fully on to their own equipment. From reports the move is not going too well.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    6. #5
      boothy_08's Avatar
      boothy_08 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Oldham
      Broadband ISP: Virgin Media 120Mbps
      Router: Superhub 2 VM
      Sky TV: Freeview TV
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Location
      Manchester
      Posts
      421
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 17 Times in 17 Posts

      Re: Connection Help Needed Here...

      (When I said "highspeed" I meant it in a sarcastic way) ohhhh ok lol
      i thought sky made a change in there network lol, and yh my speed hit 8.2Mbps this morning, the most ive ever hit, 7.9Mbps was the best before this about a month ago,
      im quite happy with my speed at the moment, and from now on im gonna turn my router off at nights, then at 10am in the morning turn it on so i get a decent speed

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION