Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
    Results 11 to 15 of 15

    Working from home on Sky broadband

    This is a discussion on Working from home on Sky broadband within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Do you mean that If I chose to chance ISP now I couldn't? If you have Sky Phone rental you ...

    1. #11
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is online now Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Working from home on Sky broadband

      Do you mean that If I chose to chance ISP now I couldn't?
      If you have Sky Phone rental you will be put on the SVBN, unless you opted out some months ago when it was first publicized. This does not mean that you cannot change, but if you do, there is likely to be some weeks downtime and it can be costly.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.






    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      orbiter's Avatar
      orbiter is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LCFOM
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Netgear D7800 (AC2600) Nighthawk
      Sky TV: Sky+ box
      Join Date
      Jan 2008
      Posts
      216
      Thanks
      23
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Working from home on Sky broadband

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      If you have Sky Phone rental you will be put on the SVBN, unless you opted out some months ago when it was first publicized. This does not mean that you cannot change, but if you do, there is likely to be some weeks downtime and it can be costly.
      We do have Sky line rental. When was the notification sent out regarding being put on SVBN and the option to opt out as I've not seen anything?

    4. #13
      moody_mark's Avatar
      moody_mark is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid/Everyday
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jul 2009
      Location
      Ilford, UK
      Posts
      18
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Working from home on Sky broadband

      I was on BT for years and it was unreliable at times. Since I swapped out to sky its been faultless. I work from home nearly every day and use a vpn of course. I didnt think that it would make any difference wether you were vpn-ed in to somewhere or not? Im curious, does it make a difference to any ISP what the content of your data frames or packets are? I know they can disassemble the packets and mark traffic (i.e. strangle bit torrent traffic) but thats normally done further upstream isnt it?

    5. #14
      User05's Avatar
      User05 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      3,030
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 171 Times in 164 Posts

      Re: Working from home on Sky broadband

      Quote Originally Posted by orbiter View Post
      We do have Sky line rental. When was the notification sent out regarding being put on SVBN and the option to opt out as I've not seen anything?
      Would have been back in September or so I believe? I was doing call-backs today to SVBN customers with issues and there are no shortage of problems it would seem!

    6. #15
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is online now Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Working from home on Sky broadband

      Would have been back in September
      A bit earlier than that actually, this thread deals with it.

      Skys New Phone and Broadband Network Opt-out Poll

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     
    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION