Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 7 of 7

    Can I use 2 routers?

    This is a discussion on Can I use 2 routers? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Now I've got my internet running at a good speed - is it possible to use 2 compatible routers on ...

    1. #1
      Jaysun's Avatar
      Jaysun is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Mansfield (EMMNSFI)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Nottinghamshire
      Posts
      96
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Can I use 2 routers?

      Now I've got my internet running at a good speed - is it possible to use 2 compatible routers on my line without problems?

      I have 2 Sky Netgear routers from 3 years ago when I originally started with Sky Broadband (it all went wrong, delivery problems etc etc lol)

      I'm think of connecting the second router to a telephone extension in our eldest sons room so he can connect his Xbox directly to it using a cable. I've noticed download anything on Xbox Live is VERY slow considering my connection speed (which is fine on pc/laptop).

      Would this solve his problem? am I asking for problems by doing this? lol


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Koala5's Avatar
      Koala5 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Dunstable
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      1,894
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 30 Times in 30 Posts

      Re: Can I use 2 routers?

      It wont work I'm afraid, Sky's network will only allow one router to log on via your phone line at any one time. It may work if you power off the first router when your using the second one, but that will introduce various other issue's. If you think it's the wireless signal causing problems then the fix would be to run an ethernet cable from the main router to the Xbox, or try "Home Plugs" which send the signal via your mains wiring.

    4. #3
      browningjazz's Avatar
      browningjazz is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01268
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2008
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Can I use 2 routers?

      Maybe try a wireless bridge?

    5. #4
      joss's Avatar
      joss is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Adwick-le-Street
      Broadband ISP: sky max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+HDmultiroom
      Join Date
      May 2009
      Location
      South Yorkshire
      Posts
      621
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Can I use 2 routers?

      Or simply run an Ethernet cable to the other room and plug into your second router.
      Just act as a switch. I use this set up for my son and daughter to run both PC's and x box. works just fine.

    6. #5
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Can I use 2 routers?

      Wireless is always going to be slower than ethernet, but you may find changing the Mode and channel in the router improves the speed. Change the Mode to 'g only' and the channel to 13. Work your way down till you find the best one. ..Or, you can download Inssider from the link below and run it. This will show you the networks and channels in use in your area. Choose a channel as far from those in use as possible.

      In saying that, buying a set of Homeplugs will solve the problem completely and make your lad a happy bunny. Maybe a Xmas pressie???

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    7. #6
      Jaysun's Avatar
      Jaysun is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Mansfield (EMMNSFI)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Nottinghamshire
      Posts
      96
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Can I use 2 routers?

      Thanks everyone, cant see a 13 year old being impressed with a set of plugs for xmas lol

    8. #7
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Can I use 2 routers?

      If he can connect to Live at full speed and frag all his enemies, he would be more than impressed, he would be covering you with kisses. You know how hard that is for a teenager.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION