Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 11

    Very inaccurate downstream values?

    This is a discussion on Very inaccurate downstream values? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi, - my first post so im not sure how noobish this may be.... i'm currently a sky connect customer ...

    1. #1
      Cosmo's Avatar
      Cosmo is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Connect :(
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Nov 2009
      Posts
      19
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Very inaccurate downstream values?

      Hi, - my first post so im not sure how noobish this may be....
      i'm currently a sky connect customer and as you can probably imagine, i have some speed problems..

      Today i changed my home network in hopes of improving my speed. Previously, I used a very long dsl extender, which caused my downstream to show as 1700kbps. Now, i have my router, with a much shorter dsl cable going into the main socket, displaying around 6500kbps. Although, all of my computers show speeds of around 1700kbps still, even though the router appears to get much more.. Is it too soon to judge my new network or can i simply not get higher than 1.7mb
      even stranger is that sky says my line can support up to 1mb - i used to get a steady 2 to 2.5Mb/s until it randomly went down to 1Mb which is why i changed my network

      my current stats are this

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 6304 kbps 448 kbps
      Line Attenuation 8 db 2 db
      Noise Margin 15 db 29 db

      Why is my downstream now so inaccurate, it used to be almost spot on?

      (i've already tried all of sky's tips, and as for my computer.. i reformatted earlier this week so there is no trash preventing a possible increase of speed)

      any help would be really appreciated - cheers.

      edit - even after midnight, out of my harsh sky connect throttling hours, i get the same 1.7Mb/s


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      User05's Avatar
      User05 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      3,030
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 171 Times in 164 Posts

      Re: Very inaccurate downstream values?

      If the throughput is limited to ~1.7mb even on non-peak times, then you may want to go to:

      Test Result

      Put your telephone number in and click 'go'. Then when it asks for your username, it is your MAC address (found on the bottom of the router on the sticker) with '@skydsl' on the end. e.g. 001a2n9p0c20@skydsl

      Paste all the results, including your IP profile. Sky connect, which is essentially BTWholesale's ADSLmax will adjust your IP profile (limits your data rate or throughput) in an adaptive manner to your sync speed. In other words, since you've upped your sync speed from around 2000kbps to 6304kbps your IP profile now needs to up to match the sync speed increase. That can take a couple of days, but the test results above will either confirm that the IP profile has to come back up to speed to match with your better physical set-up or that it lies elsewhere (traffic management or on your network - unlikely due to reformat I guess).

      Edit: I would also mention that you should get the full 8128kbps sync speed easily with your attenuation. Of all the telephone sockets you have in use in the house, ensure that each has a microfilter directly into the socket. If you have sky tv and you have a splitter device (a two-way blank white box) then ensure that is after the filter into the phone port on the filter (if you really do need to use the splitter of course). I forgot to add again also - how long have you been on the connect package?
      Last edited by User05; 19-11-09 at 02:26 AM.

    4. #3
      Cosmo's Avatar
      Cosmo is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Connect :(
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Nov 2009
      Posts
      19
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Very inaccurate downstream values?

      thanks for response

      I've been on sky connect for at least 5 or 6months.. i'll find out exactly later on.. my test results:

      Download speed achieved during the test was - 1328 Kbps
      For your connection, the acceptable range of speeds is 600-7150 Kbps.
      Additional Information:
      Your DSL Connection Rate :6304 Kbps(DOWN-STREAM), 448 Kbps(UP-STREAM)
      IP Profile for your line is - 5500 Kbps

      The 7150 looks very nice - if only it was that. The test was at 16:35 so out of peak hours. What can i do next? should i wait a few days and see if it improves?

    5. #4
      Cosmo's Avatar
      Cosmo is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Connect :(
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Nov 2009
      Posts
      19
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Very inaccurate downstream values?

      It updated. i'm now getting 5.5Mb/s, the best i've ever gotten. It may not be the potential 7.6 but i'm very happy

      Thanks for help user05, i guess i just had to wait patiently

    6. #5
      User05's Avatar
      User05 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      3,030
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 171 Times in 164 Posts

      Re: Very inaccurate downstream values?

      Quote Originally Posted by Cosmo View Post
      It updated. i'm now getting 5.5Mb/s, the best i've ever gotten. It may not be the potential 7.6 but i'm very happy

      Thanks for help user05, i guess i just had to wait patiently
      Good to hear, buddy. However, I'd be dubious of whether that's because it's non-peak time at the moment whilst you're testing as opposed to peak time. Your last test was non-peak also, though, which did return your IP profile about right but your throughput was still low. Hopefully it'll stay up there at least on non-peak times for you.

    7. #6
      Cosmo's Avatar
      Cosmo is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Connect :(
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Nov 2009
      Posts
      19
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Very inaccurate downstream values?

      as fast as it went up, it came down... unless the peak hours started at 4pm other than 5.. is there any way to reduce the effect the peak hours have... 5.5Mb down to 0.7Mb isn't fun...

    8. #7
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Very inaccurate downstream values?

      No, the only thing you can do is to move to a different ISP.

    9. #8
      Cosmo's Avatar
      Cosmo is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Connect :(
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Nov 2009
      Posts
      19
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Very inaccurate downstream values?

      Quote Originally Posted by Smithy99 View Post
      No, the only thing you can do is to move to a different ISP.
      Hmm, i guess so. but it is BT who control my shaping as im not in the Sky network area... ahh well, at least i've improved my internet, just for times i don't use the computer

    10. #9
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Very inaccurate downstream values?

      Although your connection is using the BT equipment the problem is due to Sky not buying enough bandwidth to cover what their user base needs, especially during peak hours.

      The consequence of this is similar to a traffic jam, everything slows to a snails pace and improtant traffic like streaming, VOIP and gamers data is all help up in the process causing them not to work at all in some cases.

      BT could just allow the Sky users more bandwith, but to be honest, why should they help fund the Sky package.

    11. #10
      Cosmo's Avatar
      Cosmo is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Connect :(
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Nov 2009
      Posts
      19
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Very inaccurate downstream values?

      So if i change to BT, would i be less throttled during peak hours or would it be the same?

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION