Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 7 of 7

    sky network

    This is a discussion on sky network within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; hi guys i recived a letter from sky a few days ago that there upgrading there phone and broadband service ...

    1. #1
      deadman1984's Avatar
      deadman1984 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Ponteland Newcastle Upon Tyne
      Broadband ISP: BT Infinity 1
      Router: dreytek vigor 130 modem + archer c7
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD + multi
      Join Date
      Sep 2009
      Location
      newcastle upon tyne uk
      Posts
      3,235
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 28 Times in 25 Posts

      sky network

      hi guys i recived a letter from sky a few days ago that there upgrading there phone and broadband service i know about the 20mb upgrade but this was different letter anyone know what its about is it due to connection loss people have been getten or what


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: sky network

      It's about the SVBN (Sky Voice and Broadband Network) - basically Sky providing a MPF rather than a Shared-MPF service (meaning BT have nothing to do with the line bar BT Openreach maintaining the physical line - Sky run the exchange equipment in full)...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    4. #3
      deadman1984's Avatar
      deadman1984 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Ponteland Newcastle Upon Tyne
      Broadband ISP: BT Infinity 1
      Router: dreytek vigor 130 modem + archer c7
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD + multi
      Join Date
      Sep 2009
      Location
      newcastle upon tyne uk
      Posts
      3,235
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 28 Times in 25 Posts

      Re: sky network

      nice haha so basically they can change it or upgrade with out worrys from bt then kinda

    5. #4
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: sky network

      Don't want to worry you but have a look at -
      Lost speed with move to SVBN

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    6. #5
      deadman1984's Avatar
      deadman1984 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Ponteland Newcastle Upon Tyne
      Broadband ISP: BT Infinity 1
      Router: dreytek vigor 130 modem + archer c7
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD + multi
      Join Date
      Sep 2009
      Location
      newcastle upon tyne uk
      Posts
      3,235
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 28 Times in 25 Posts

      Re: sky network

      hum wierd all though my stats arnt good but thats probably due to poor wiring but thats another story heh as for this new network il just have to see how it goes it might not be bad for everyone whos been upgraded your gonna get different things some might like it some may not

    7. #6
      orbiter's Avatar
      orbiter is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LCFOM
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Netgear D7800 (AC2600) Nighthawk
      Sky TV: Sky+ box
      Join Date
      Jan 2008
      Posts
      216
      Thanks
      23
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: sky network

      Is what you guys are talking about the stuff BT have been doing in the exchanges recently? If so I can contribute a little here because since this work has been carried out on the Formby (LCFOM) exchange, I've been getting dropouts with my internet connection. Speeds still seem ok (well apart from dropping to 8Mbps from 11.2 due to the bad weather) but my router has been giving some new errors recently.... It would still show as connected (green lights) however I've been getting messages like 'your internet connection is not avalable' & 'cannot connect to DNS server'. These messages have only come about since the work on the exchanges has been done

    8. #7
      deadman1984's Avatar
      deadman1984 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Ponteland Newcastle Upon Tyne
      Broadband ISP: BT Infinity 1
      Router: dreytek vigor 130 modem + archer c7
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD + multi
      Join Date
      Sep 2009
      Location
      newcastle upon tyne uk
      Posts
      3,235
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 28 Times in 25 Posts

      Re: sky network

      no this isnt the fibre to the cabinet thing totally different sky is upgrading there network and having more control over it

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION