Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?

Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.

Advertisement

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Need to reboot regularly

This is a discussion on Need to reboot regularly within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi Guys I have been running happily at around 2Mb/s D/L for several months but just recently I have been ...

Godzilla is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Basingstoke (THBZ)
      Broadband ISP: O2 Standard
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Humax FreesatHD
      Thanks

Need to reboot regularly

Hi Guys

I have been running happily at around 2Mb/s D/L for several months but just recently I have been noticing that every few days it all goes sluggish. Rebooting the router seems to fix it for a further few days. As far as I know nothing has changed in my configuration and I don't think I'm on DLM, so I am at a bit of a loss as to what to think. Any ideas?

I've included the router stats below - one as it was when I ran up this morning and the other just after a manual reboot of the router:

Before Reboot
      Connection Speed 333kbps 416kbps
      Line Attenuation 56.5 db 36.6db
      Noise Margin 28.9 db 12.0 db

After Reboot
      Connection Speed 2048kbps 448kbps
      Line Attenuation 56.5 db 36.5 db
      Noise Margin 12.9 db 10.0 db

I'm on Everyday package and my distance from exchange, plus poor local line quality means I'm delighted to get 2Mb/s, but 333Kb/s is a bit much.

Thanks for your comments

Keith

2. Advertisement
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Thanks

Re: Need to reboot regularly