Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 15 12311 ... LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 150
    Like Tree1Likes

    Lost speed with move to SVBN

    This is a discussion on Lost speed with move to SVBN within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Good evening. SKY have moved me to their exchange equipment in the last 3 days (I didn't do onto DLM ...

    1. #1
      robthemod's Avatar
      robthemod is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Nuneaton
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: SKY World HD+
      Join Date
      Apr 2009
      Location
      Nuneaton
      Posts
      80
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Lost speed with move to SVBN

      Good evening.

      SKY have moved me to their exchange equipment in the last 3 days (I didn't do onto DLM). However, I noticed a change in the DS attenuation which had risen from 23db to 28, and my DL speed has dropped.

      Spoke to CST (for hours) tonight, and the last 3 nights (am going loopy now), and they reckon that that is it, no more - you can't have any more!

      My line is capable of 18meg, but could cause instablility so - put up and shut up!

      SKY even payed Openreach to come out and check the wiring in the street/cabinet etc, and found no fault - which I expected.

      But so much for SKY's new system - upgrade? I don't think so.

      Anyway, configuration in my house is -

      Netgear DG834g connected to the master socket (no extensions whatsoever)
      ADSL Nation Faceplate
      Ethernet to PC/Laptop (don't use wireless)

      Honest opinion on my stats please, and whether I could acheive 18 meg?
      Since the changeover I was acheiving a DL sync of 18898. Now this has dropped.

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 16141 kbps 1150 kbps
      Line Attenuation 27 db 13 db
      Noise Margin 7 db 6 db

      Maybe I should just be greatful.....!



      Moved to own thread as previous thread was not on this subject.
      Last edited by Isitme; 17-11-09 at 10:20 PM. Reason: Moved post


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,132
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Lost speed with move to SVBN

      There have been quite a few posts about things not going right when moved to SVBN. Something is wrong with their setup or it could be that your router is not compatible with the new exchange equipment. From your stats, you are not going to get any more.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. #3
      krysis's Avatar
      krysis is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: BT
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Location
      Belfast
      Posts
      301
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Lost speed with move to SVBN

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      There have been quite a few posts about things not going right when moved to SVBN. Something is wrong with their setup or it could be that your router is not compatible with the new exchange equipment. From your stats, you are not going to get any more.
      I've seen quiet a few of these too, but the equipment is strange. I don't know if it's an upgrade or a downgrade..

      I don't know the detailed difference between ISAM's and DSLAM's I don't know specifications etc... all I know is an ISAM hold's less people.

      It's quite odd that you have pretty much dropped 2mb sync.

      My guess would be with the Equipment Configuration/ Setup at the exchange.

      I know there are few CST guys here, I am Ex-CST myself... This is an idea - Whether It would work or not is another thing - How about a TPS?

      Only thing there with a TPS is that your already syncing at a very high rate, they might not do it but no harm in asking to be honest.

    5. #4
      Cambo -_-'s Avatar
      Cambo -_- is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Maindee (SWMDE)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102 Piggybacking D-Link DIR-615
      Sky TV: Sky+HD DRX890
      Join Date
      Feb 2009
      Location
      Newport - South Wales
      Posts
      21
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Lost speed with move to SVBN

      Arghhhhhhh!!!!!! I Hate The New Sky Network!!!

      Before The Switch Over my Phone & Broadband Was Flawless, Was getting a Steady 18mb download & 1mb upload, Then soon as i got switched over the phone lost its caller display & was not dailing out at random times ( just a dead tone ) and when some one tryed to ring the house it would go to voice mail & not ring at all. The Broadband was getting loads of errors & now the CST has dropped it to 16mb ( sync ) but only geting 9-10mb max.
      Also before switch over my IP address was always local ( Newport ) but now getting IP's from Brigend, birmingham, stroke-on-trent, Stalybridge ect, ????? everywere but Newport like before the switch.

      Been on phone to sky countless of times only thing that was sorted was caller ID
      i'm thinking of moving provider but realy like sky BB ( did ) as you get a lot of bang for your buck so will be asking to switch me back to the old network i was on before the switch.

      As they say... if it's not broke DONT fix it

    6. #5
      robthemod's Avatar
      robthemod is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Nuneaton
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: SKY World HD+
      Join Date
      Apr 2009
      Location
      Nuneaton
      Posts
      80
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Lost speed with move to SVBN

      Quote Originally Posted by Cambo -_- View Post
      Arghhhhhhh!!!!!! I Hate The New Sky Network!!!

      Before The Switch Over my Phone & Broadband Was Flawless, Was getting a Steady 18mb download & 1mb upload, Then soon as i got switched over the phone lost its caller display & was not dailing out at random times ( just a dead tone ) and when some one tryed to ring the house it would go to voice mail & not ring at all. The Broadband was getting loads of errors & now the CST has dropped it to 16mb ( sync ) but only geting 9-10mb max.
      Also before switch over my IP address was always local ( Newport ) but now getting IP's from Brigend, birmingham, stroke-on-trent, Stalybridge ect, ????? everywere but Newport like before the switch.

      Been on phone to sky countless of times only thing that was sorted was caller ID
      i'm thinking of moving provider but realy like sky BB ( did ) as you get a lot of bang for your buck so will be asking to switch me back to the old network i was on before the switch.

      As they say... if it's not broke DONT fix it

      I completely sypathise mate, as my connection has dropped (was getting a consistant 18.9 meg D/L.) I haven't checked the phone yet, but I'd better do that quick!

      Question is, how many of us are going to hammer SKY customer services and tech support about this, because this was supposed to be the 'all singing all dancing' move over to their great new network, and all that has happened is a serious negative effect.
      I welcome reports of broadband degradation from other users.

      Last edited by robthemod; 18-11-09 at 10:43 PM.

    7. #6
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,132
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Lost speed with move to SVBN

      I welcome reports of broadband degradation from other users.
      A good idea, maybe this post should be stickied for a while to keep the reports together?

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    8. #7
      robthemod's Avatar
      robthemod is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Nuneaton
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: SKY World HD+
      Join Date
      Apr 2009
      Location
      Nuneaton
      Posts
      80
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Lost speed with move to SVBN

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      A good idea, maybe this post should be stickied for a while to keep the reports together?
      Forgive me, but not entirely sure how to do that

      Could you oblige please mate? (assuming it hasn't been done already)

      Cheers

    9. #8
      peevedoffatsky's Avatar
      peevedoffatsky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01634
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2009
      Posts
      19
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Lost speed with move to SVBN

      normally you can only sticky something after its been posted, then go back in and edit via publishing options, allows it to be stickied then.

      on side note i didnt realise this was here.
      add me to this list, since 14th (upgrade day here) my connection has been saying its at 3mb (bad line) but going around 2mb, however from 5pm on till 11pm, im getting 88kb or there abouts and this has ONLY been since this "upgrade", and only during these times

    10. #9
      cornishsky's Avatar
      cornishsky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Helston
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Nov 2009
      Posts
      50
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Lost speed with move to SVBN

      3rd time i've written this message, browser being weird! this time a very short post, having major problems with sky, since their DOWN GRADE? is there light at the end of this tunnel?

      before upgrade
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 16998 kbps 1044 kbps
      Line Attenuation 16 db 7 db
      Noise Margin 15 db 7 db

      now stats
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 7998 kbps 750 kbps
      Line Attenuation 16 db 7 db
      Noise Margin 25 db 15 db

      been told to wait for dlm to kick in, fed up i've had 16mb down 1mb up since september, now im being told i wont be able to achieve that!!?

    11. #10
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,132
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Lost speed with move to SVBN

      3rd time i've written this message,
      Have you been transferred to the Sky Voice and Broadband Network? Unless you have Sky Phone Rental you will not have. If you are not on the SVBN, you have a different problem and I will move your post.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     
    Page 1 of 15 12311 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION