Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 7 of 15 FirstFirst ... 56789 ... LastLast
    Results 61 to 70 of 150
    Like Tree1Likes

    Lost speed with move to SVBN

    This is a discussion on Lost speed with move to SVBN within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Do you think there is any chance that they system will get better? If this is a new and improved ...

    1. #61
      pau1777's Avatar
      pau1777 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Ashton in Makerfield
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Location
      Warrington
      Posts
      75
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Lost speed with move to SVBN

      Do you think there is any chance that they system will get better? If this is a new and improved network there could be some initial problems, on the other hand my gut feeling is that it is probably poor quality equipment and this is the best I can hope for. As soon as I can I will be going back to BT and cancelling sky talk.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #62
      boothy_08's Avatar
      boothy_08 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Oldham
      Broadband ISP: Virgin Media 120Mbps
      Router: Superhub 2 VM
      Sky TV: Freeview TV
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Location
      Manchester
      Posts
      421
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 17 Times in 17 Posts

      Re: Lost speed with move to SVBN

      my attenuation raised 2db after i was switched, 42db is now 44, still around the same speeds tho

    4. #63
      psychobudgie's Avatar
      psychobudgie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Caldy
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Dec 2009
      Location
      West Kirby
      Posts
      10
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Lost speed with move to SVBN

      Was moved last week and have seen a drop of 3Mb/s since. Have spoken to tier 2 at Sky who have told me that their equipment is reporting a max speed of 7Mb/s (I'm getting around 6.5). I was previously getting 9.5Mb/s. After establishing that it wasn't my equipment or phone socket they are sending an engineer to check the exchange equipment and the line inbetween the exchange and my house later today. I'm not holding my breath after reading other posts on the same issue.

      If they don't sort it I'll be demanding my mac code and cancellation of the contract as at present it is slower than my old Max DSL connection that I moved to Sky from. If I thought the connection would be slower I wouldn't have moved in the first place.

      (just read that as I have now been moved to SVBN that I cannot request a Mac Code as Sky now own the line, a point that Sky did not make clear when switching the line over)
      I can see a call to OFCOM coming.
      Last edited by psychobudgie; 30-03-10 at 01:04 PM.

    5. #64
      BLOODUK's Avatar
      BLOODUK is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Herne Bay
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Everything
      Join Date
      Jun 2009
      Location
      Kent
      Posts
      271
      Thanks
      5
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Lost speed with move to SVBN

      Just a thought but can DM Tools be used to tweak the router for increased speeds?

      EDIT : Recent Speed check so i can compare when the move over happens...

      Today 15:58 3526 kbps (441kB/s) 647 kbps (80.9kB/s)


    6. #65
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Lost speed with move to SVBN

      The main issue is an increase in cabling exchange end. e.g. The BT DSLAM is bottom floor, the Sky ISAM could be a floor up - maybe more! So by the time it's been routed to the Sky ISAM you've got an extended line, sometimes leading to lower speeds...

      It's the reason I'll always stay with BT for my phone line
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    7. #66
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Lost speed with move to SVBN

      I find it hard to believe that the addition of 40-50m of cable would make 2 or 3 Mbs difference in the speeds. Apart from that, not all exchanges are multi storey, mine has only one floor, as I am sure many others have. There is a flaw in the SVBN which they have not found yet.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    8. #67
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Lost speed with move to SVBN

      I'm not doubting that but that's one explanation I've heard from a few people...2-3Mbps difference if you're in the teens isn't noticeable anyway...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    9. #68
      Freedom's Avatar
      Freedom is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: IPSLEY
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Location
      Redditch
      Posts
      37
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Lost speed with move to SVBN

      Quote Originally Posted by IWasNotTheEnemy View Post
      The main issue is an increase in cabling exchange end. e.g. The BT DSLAM is bottom floor, the Sky ISAM could be a floor up - maybe more! So by the time it's been routed to the Sky ISAM you've got an extended line, sometimes leading to lower speeds...

      It's the reason I'll always stay with BT for my phone line

      Interesting - I know for a fact that the exchange near me is 6 stories high - will have to nab a bt guy and ask him where the sky stuff is compared to the bt stuff.

    10. #69
      psychobudgie's Avatar
      psychobudgie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Caldy
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Dec 2009
      Location
      West Kirby
      Posts
      10
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Lost speed with move to SVBN

      Well the engineer arrived this afternoon. He was a BT Openreach guy and was extremely thorough in checking my master socket and BT fitted extension. He ran every test he could and ascertained that their is nothing whatsoever wrong with any of my own equipment or cabling. The one thing that did appear however was when the router provided by Sky was plugged in. The number of errors that suddenly appeared on the line went through the roof. He doubts this is the cause and wouldn't be surprised to see this on most lines fitted to that particular router and put it down to poor shielding on the router itself. This was later confirmed when using his own equipment he got the same speeds but no errors showing.

      He has basically told me that with the quality of connection coming into the house and the relative short distance to the exchange I should be easily getting 3-5mb more out of my connection and he suggested that it is either an issue with Sky's equipment or it's congestion caused by them moving too many users onto the equipment.

      I'll be speaking to Sky again tomorrow as they should have his results by then and take it from there. For the record these are my current stats and my old stats pre move.

      Connection Speed 7103 kbps 510 kbps
      Line Attenuation 37 db 20 db
      Noise Margin 7 db 17 db

      Connection Speed 9506 kbps 972 kbps
      Line Attenuation 42 db 24 db
      Noise Margin 6 db 15 db

    11. #70
      BLOODUK's Avatar
      BLOODUK is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Herne Bay
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Everything
      Join Date
      Jun 2009
      Location
      Kent
      Posts
      271
      Thanks
      5
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Lost speed with move to SVBN

      Quote Originally Posted by IWasNotTheEnemy View Post
      I'm not doubting that but that's one explanation I've heard from a few people...2-3Mbps difference if you're in the teens isn't noticeable anyway...
      So i could end up with 1Mbps instead of 4?! ... That'd be far worse than even BT on normal adsl

     

     
    Page 7 of 15 FirstFirst ... 56789 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION