Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 5 of 15 FirstFirst ... 34567 ... LastLast
    Results 41 to 50 of 150
    Like Tree1Likes

    Lost speed with move to SVBN

    This is a discussion on Lost speed with move to SVBN within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; I've noticed that people who have now been moved to SVBN have lower ping times, from looking at peoples speedtest ...

    1. #41
      boothy_08's Avatar
      boothy_08 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Oldham
      Broadband ISP: Virgin Media 120Mbps
      Router: Superhub 2 VM
      Sky TV: Freeview TV
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Location
      Manchester
      Posts
      421
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 17 Times in 17 Posts

      Re: Lost speed with move to SVBN

      I've noticed that people who have now been moved to SVBN have lower ping times, from looking at peoples speedtest results, they have lower ping than me, but my max delays at supposed to be at 8/8 so y peoples ping times are lower i dont know!!

      maybe its the area there in??
      or is SVBN lowering ping times?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #42
      User05's Avatar
      User05 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      3,030
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 171 Times in 164 Posts

      Re: Lost speed with move to SVBN

      SVBN, albeit different network equipment (ISAMs), still only offer as low as 8ms/8ms. Sky's non-SVBN DSLAMs can actually be configured to fastpath (I've done it on my line previously...) whereas SVBN's configuration can only be stuck to certain 'profiles' which sucks in my opinion.

      Lower ping times could be down to the server they're connecting to, method of connecting to the router, network congestion, inaccuracies in speed test results etc. I'm unaware of any advantages of sky's network over the 'old' network in regards to max delays/ping times.

    4. #43
      efc123's Avatar
      efc123 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01772
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Preston
      Posts
      1
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Lost speed with move to SVBN

      Router StatisticsSystem Up Time: 16:31:55

      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 480179 551213 0 1100 4961 11:32:48
      LAN 100M/Full 363439 324137 0 2377 683 16:31:50
      WLAN 11M/54M 1161031 773392 0 12226 1039 16:31:37
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 446 kbps 604 kbps
      Line Attenuation 60 db 32 db
      Noise Margin 7 db 15 db

      Just become a new member of Sky Broadband with unlimited. My connection was was completed on 9/3/2010 I am so dissapointed as this is the speed I am now getting, before that I would get 2.8mb with AOL.

      Anyone got any idea's?

    5. #44
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Lost speed with move to SVBN

      Anyone got any idea's?
      Call Sky and ask them to try your line on G.DMT as it is performing very poorly on ADSL2+. Getting past Tier 1 to the Customer Solutions Team is often the difficult part, once you are there the guys will see you are on the wrong mode. You should get 2-3 Mbs.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    6. #45
      golden_balls's Avatar
      golden_balls is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      37
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Lost speed with move to SVBN

      further to the question about the speed decrease

      On the 21st febuary sky conducted a line test before that we were getting downloads of 13.5mb it was connecting at the exchange at 16mb. Since the line test the connection is 12.9 and were now getting 9mb download speed. The line test was to increase the upload speed. we didn't know this was going to happen and no email was sent.

      we've since contacted sky and told them we'd like to go back to pre 21st febuary line settings but they have told us it can't be done the line won't accept it.

      my question is why was the line capeable of it pre 21st feb we were happy with the 13.5 download and we've taken a hefty 4mb hit. I understand that other people aren't even getting those speeds. But the if the line was fine before 21st why isn't it now

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 12986 kbps 766 kbps
      Line Attenuation 30.5 db 17.9 db
      Noise Margin 7.4 db 14.0 db

      The wireless speed for both the laptop and the ps3 has also decreased to about 3mb i wonder if its a router problem rather than the line ? The netgear router is about 4 years old.

    7. #46
      boothy_08's Avatar
      boothy_08 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Oldham
      Broadband ISP: Virgin Media 120Mbps
      Router: Superhub 2 VM
      Sky TV: Freeview TV
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Location
      Manchester
      Posts
      421
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 17 Times in 17 Posts

      Re: Lost speed with move to SVBN

      i got moved to SVBN yesterday my speed now doesnt go any higher than 6900kbps, i used to 7616kbps everytime i connected in the morning, also my ping times have gone up from 25ms to sky dns now to 39ms, i might have to phone them up and ask if they can lower my max delays again!!!

      i thought SVBN was going to be better obviously not!!

    8. #47
      golden_balls's Avatar
      golden_balls is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      37
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Lost speed with move to SVBN

      How can you tell if you've moved to svbn ?

      I have line rental with BT but do have sky talk

    9. #48
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Lost speed with move to SVBN

      Then you're not on the SVBN
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    10. #49
      golden_balls's Avatar
      golden_balls is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      37
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Lost speed with move to SVBN

      so my problems aren't anything to do with SVBN

      i assumed since they had carried out line testing and increased the upload i had been transfered to SVBN

      my problems started 21st feb when the line testing was conducted.

    11. #50
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Lost speed with move to SVBN

      No your problems are nothing to do with the SVBN. Wireless issues are down to channel more than likely so try a different one. Speed issues could be down to line fault, faulty filter, etc. so try your test socket and see what happens...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

     

     
    Page 5 of 15 FirstFirst ... 34567 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION