Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 15 FirstFirst 123412 ... LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 150
    Like Tree1Likes

    Lost speed with move to SVBN

    This is a discussion on Lost speed with move to SVBN within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Yes I've been transfered, i have sky talk and line aswell, My exchage had the upgrade on the 18th, cheers...

    1. #11
      cornishsky's Avatar
      cornishsky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Helston
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Nov 2009
      Posts
      50
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Lost speed with move to SVBN

      Yes I've been transfered, i have sky talk and line aswell, My exchage had the upgrade on the 18th, cheers


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      cornishsky's Avatar
      cornishsky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Helston
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Nov 2009
      Posts
      50
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Lost speed with move to SVBN

      when i phoned they agreed to put me back @ 10mb but it returned something like 2000 errors a minute? hence they dropped me to 7998k, which had no errors.

    4. #13
      Cambo -_-'s Avatar
      Cambo -_- is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Maindee (SWMDE)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102 Piggybacking D-Link DIR-615
      Sky TV: Sky+HD DRX890
      Join Date
      Feb 2009
      Location
      Newport - South Wales
      Posts
      21
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Lost speed with move to SVBN

      Quote Originally Posted by cornishsky View Post
      when i phoned they agreed to put me back @ 10mb but it returned something like 2000 errors a minute? hence they dropped me to 7998k, which had no errors.
      Same problem here when BB speed was syncing at original speed was getting countless of errors. So now only getting 10mb instead of 18mb

      Better Than nothing i suppose, Just hope they can sort these teething problems out soon


      (ADSL+2) -//- (Fiber Unlimited)
      Connection Speed 17628 kbps 1023 kbps -//- 39998 kbps 9995 kbps
      Line Attenuation 22.0 db 11.4 db -//- 18.8 dB 0.0 dB
      Noise Margin 7.3 db 7.7 db -//- 28.7 dB 15.15 dB

    5. #14
      rogjack's Avatar
      rogjack is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Shenley Church End
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Location
      Milton Keynes
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Lost speed with move to SVBN

      My speed dropped from 11500 to around 8190 since transferring to the new network. Have had Openreach engineers check the line and have been escalated to CST twice now. Nothing anyone can do. My skytalk phone is also permanently on withheld number and nobody can fix that either.

      I think that they just don't understand their own equipment. As soon as the one-year contract is over I'll probably move back to BT.

    6. #15
      cornishsky's Avatar
      cornishsky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Helston
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Nov 2009
      Posts
      50
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Lost speed with move to SVBN

      Quick Update, still not switched to DLM???, Lies I tell ya!, P.S thought i'd add my sig picture of my best result... what i used to have anyway.

    7. #16
      cornishsky's Avatar
      cornishsky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Helston
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Nov 2009
      Posts
      50
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Lost speed with move to SVBN

      Sorry didn't realise sig wouldn't get added through quick reply lol.

    8. #17
      cornishsky's Avatar
      cornishsky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Helston
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Nov 2009
      Posts
      50
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Lost speed with move to SVBN

      Ok as of 2.45am i have been re-synced?! Finally back to almost where i was, relief.

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 16381 kbps 944 kbps
      Line Attenuation 16 db 7 db
      Noise Margin 8 db 11 db

    9. #18
      Joe885's Avatar
      Joe885 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2009
      Posts
      1
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Lost speed with move to SVBN

      I've got switched to the new network on 17th Nov as well. Now my broadband is really slow and keeps disconnecting. Whats worse is the phone line (sky talk) is totally dead. The only thing working is sky tv.

      Anyone knows how to get your line reset as well? It seems to solve the problem.

    10. #19
      rage99's Avatar
      rage99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Posts
      139
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Lost speed with move to SVBN

      Wow another internet user, FROM NUNEATON

      i thought i'd never see the day, haha.

      well tonight my speed has dropped by about 1800kbps =/ and this really takes the ****, see my thread about it. SO this cant be coincidence mines ****ed up tonight as well.

      I take it we are on the same exchange as well, it really needs sorting out its a pre world war 2 style building and where i live in nuneaton we get about 3.7mb downstream =/

      I think were just going to get virgin now, although i hate the fact they monitor you - atleast they deliver good speeds throughout the town rather than HAVING to live close to an exchange just to get 21st century ****ing speeds

    11. #20
      robthemod's Avatar
      robthemod is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Nuneaton
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: SKY World HD+
      Join Date
      Apr 2009
      Location
      Nuneaton
      Posts
      80
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Lost speed with move to SVBN

      Quote Originally Posted by rage99 View Post
      Wow another internet user, FROM NUNEATON

      i thought i'd never see the day, haha.

      well tonight my speed has dropped by about 1800kbps =/ and this really takes the ****, see my thread about it. SO this cant be coincidence mines ****ed up tonight as well.

      I take it we are on the same exchange as well, it really needs sorting out its a pre world war 2 style building and where i live in nuneaton we get about 3.7mb downstream =/

      I think were just going to get virgin now, although i hate the fact they monitor you - atleast they deliver good speeds throughout the town rather than HAVING to live close to an exchange just to get 21st century ****ing speeds
      Yes, it's me, I'm the Funeaton lad
      Well, I'm near Earls Road, not far from the exchange really, so you would think the connection would fly. You're right though, the exchange is ancient and needs updating if us lucky enough to be close to the bloody this could hope to achieve D/L speeds of 20 meg, or 24meg which is what SKY claim my line can support...! I wouldn't go to Virgin mate, stay with SKY - I've heard that us Unlimited users are in for big speed upgrades early next. Only a rumour mind!


      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 16725 kbps 1146 kbps
      Line Attenuation 27 db 13 db
      Noise Margin 7 db 7 db

     

     
    Page 2 of 15 FirstFirst 123412 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION