Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 13 of 15 FirstFirst ... 31112131415 LastLast
    Results 121 to 130 of 150
    Like Tree1Likes

    Lost speed with move to SVBN

    This is a discussion on Lost speed with move to SVBN within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; The benefit of the SVBN is pretty simple - it's cheaper for sky to supply the phone and broadband all ...

    1. #121
      simonmpoulton's Avatar
      simonmpoulton is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Chester Central
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      1,620
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

      Re: Lost speed with move to SVBN

      The benefit of the SVBN is pretty simple - it's cheaper for sky to supply the phone and broadband all from there own equipment, whether that is any good for the customer is up for debate.

      Pace SKY HD With Seagate Pipeline HD 2TB


    2. Advertisement
    3. #122
      mi3fbt's Avatar
      mi3fbt is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: NIWBY
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Sep 2010
      Location
      unsure where i live
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Lost speed with move to SVBN

      Not always the way it works... I have seen one or two customers that have bb on svbn but have line either non svbn or bt line rental.... if they have migrated you to the svbn network then to set the line up is alot different... it works on profiles rather than manually configuring the line... But even still, there should not be any loss of speed if your line can handle it, and why CST sent an engineer to the cabinet is beyond me.... Get back through to Tier 1 and get thenm to get CST back on the case... Even ask is there anyone there that can attempt to configure the line at a tier 1 level.. If they ask you to do ts then just go with it, get your microfilter into the test socket (if you have one) and they will see if the line can be configured... 9 times out of 10 the line can be configured to a faster speed...
      Hope that helps

      P.S the svbn servers are absolute crud......

    4. #123
      SkyCST's Avatar
      SkyCST is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 02087
      Broadband ISP: Other
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Apr 2011
      Posts
      72
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Lost speed with move to SVBN

      I have seen one or two customers that have bb on svbn but have line either non svbn or bt line renta
      Not possible as SVBN runs off ISAM which takes tie pairs for both voice and data.

      The SVBN Isams arent really too bad, the profiling rather than configuring is kinda poor as doesnt give us a lot of give.

      To be honest all this talk about "DLM isnt on my line" is probably incorrect.
      I touch maybe 50lines a day and almost all of those have DLM on unless in the last day or two it has been suspended for manual configuration.

      DLM automatically jumps back on the line like a week or two its taken off.

    5. #124
      SkyCST's Avatar
      SkyCST is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 02087
      Broadband ISP: Other
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Apr 2011
      Posts
      72
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Lost speed with move to SVBN

      Oh yea,
      As far as the guy that suggested a TPS......WTF Are you on about man?

      Thats madness.

    6. #125
      buddbuttocks's Avatar
      buddbuttocks is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR-102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      249
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 25 Times in 18 Posts

      Re: Lost speed with move to SVBN

      Quote Originally Posted by SkyCST View Post
      DLM automatically jumps back on the line like a week or two its taken off.
      Not as far as I'm aware, if it's manually suspended it stays that way indefinitely.

    7. #126
      I_Hate_Sky_Awnsers's Avatar
      I_Hate_Sky_Awnsers is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Virgin Standard
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Virgin
      Join Date
      Mar 2011
      Posts
      965
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 59 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Lost speed with move to SVBN

      Quote Originally Posted by buddbuttocks View Post
      Not as far as I'm aware, if it's manually suspended it stays that way indefinitely.
      I agree

      As far as I was aware it wouldn't do anything if it was suspended.
      Links Router Stats Useful Tutorials Speed Test Check For Test Socket Repetitive Electrical Impulse Noise

      Results from http://www.speed.io (Copied on 2011-04-08 16:36:58)
      Download: 50000 Kbit/s Upload : 4361 kbit/s Connects : 2446 conn/min Ping: 21 ms

    8. #127
      gorebrush's Avatar
      gorebrush is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: UK
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: VM pfSense 2.3.2-RELEASE-p1 on ESX 6
      Sky TV: Sky Q Silver
      Join Date
      Nov 2008
      Location
      UK
      Posts
      1,109
      Thanks
      22
      Thanked 26 Times in 26 Posts

      Re: Lost speed with move to SVBN

      I've just read this thread.

      Given that I've taken Sky Talk and am a new customer to Sky Talk - it rather looks like I'll be on SVBN. Am I doomed?
      Current Sync 79999/19999

    9. #128
      Exdee's Avatar
      Exdee is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LSXXX
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2010
      Posts
      1,556
      Thanks
      22
      Thanked 186 Times in 179 Posts

      Re: Lost speed with move to SVBN

      Quote Originally Posted by gorebrush View Post
      I've just read this thread.

      Given that I've taken Sky Talk and am a new customer to Sky Talk - it rather looks like I'll be on SVBN. Am I doomed?
      Not necessarily. It depends what equipment is free/installed in your exchange.

    10. #129
      mi3fbt's Avatar
      mi3fbt is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: NIWBY
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Sep 2010
      Location
      unsure where i live
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Lost speed with move to SVBN

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 16141 kbps 1150 kbps
      Line Attenuation 27 db 13 db
      Noise Margin 7 db 6 db

      To be honest, you really should not notice any difference in browsing speed. But from what i can see There is nothing there that can or should restrict you from achieving the full 18 Mbps. Unless there is something in the actual exchange causing the issue that Openreach have missed (believe me i have seen this happen loads of times)... Ask CST to run a SELT test as well as their own test as i would tend to agree with you, there is something there that is stopping that speed from going up...

    11. #130
      LooieENG's Avatar
      LooieENG is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Posts
      139
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Lost speed with move to SVBN

      how do you know if you're on SBVN?

      Could this be related? Dial up speeds

     

     
    Page 13 of 15 FirstFirst ... 31112131415 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION