Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 10 of 15 FirstFirst ... 89101112 ... LastLast
    Results 91 to 100 of 150
    Like Tree1Likes

    Lost speed with move to SVBN

    This is a discussion on Lost speed with move to SVBN within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Originally Posted by Isitme Try changing the filter and reboot. It's not the filter , it's the router think i ...

    1. #91
      BLOODUK's Avatar
      BLOODUK is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Herne Bay
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Everything
      Join Date
      Jun 2009
      Location
      Kent
      Posts
      271
      Thanks
      5
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Lost speed with move to SVBN

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      Try changing the filter and reboot.
      It's not the filter , it's the router think i need a new one

      I have a BT installed filtered faceplate

      I tried to reset my router but all it did was flash all the lights and then just stayed on two green ones(internet blank). Tried again and again same thing , i even tried the reset button to reset it and it didn't. This has happened before though in the past and the router refused to connect to the internet or even power on correctly.

      How would i go about getting a new one?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #92
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Lost speed with move to SVBN

      tried the test socket yet?
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    4. #93
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is online now Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Lost speed with move to SVBN

      Before you do anything you will have to rule out a faulty filter, whether it is BT installed or not. Remove the faceplate and plug in a filter, see what result you get.

      If your router is faulty you will have to phone Sky and tell them. If it is still within the 12 months warranty they will replace it free, if its not, they will want 28 for a replacement. The easiest way to convince them it is faulty is to switch off the power and tell them there are no lights coming on.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    5. #94
      BLOODUK's Avatar
      BLOODUK is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Herne Bay
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Everything
      Join Date
      Jun 2009
      Location
      Kent
      Posts
      271
      Thanks
      5
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Lost speed with move to SVBN

      Internet keeps going down

      Funny thing is this all started when a " Bt openreach " van appeared two doors up , will see how it goes through the day. If its no good by tonight i'll phone them up , i'm going with my gut instinct it's not the filter it's not that old and has been very good for me since.

    6. #95
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Lost speed with move to SVBN

      rule it out, no point wasting time if it's easily fixed...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    7. #96
      BLOODUK's Avatar
      BLOODUK is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Herne Bay
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Everything
      Join Date
      Jun 2009
      Location
      Kent
      Posts
      271
      Thanks
      5
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Lost speed with move to SVBN

      Will do , only just got back on again..

      My noise margin is really really bad for upstream , never been like this before

      USUAL


      NOW

    8. #97
      BLOODUK's Avatar
      BLOODUK is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Herne Bay
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Everything
      Join Date
      Jun 2009
      Location
      Kent
      Posts
      271
      Thanks
      5
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Lost speed with move to SVBN

      Spent the past 15mins , taking the faceplate off and trying another filter that made no change whatsoever.. Connection was very unstable.

      I decided to reset the router and it wouldn't even attempt to connect , every light just flashed like crazy for 5mins. Reset wouldn't work , i tried over and over and finally got it to atleast attempt a connection.



      Going to grab some dinner now before i break something

      ( Upstream noise margin down to 7.1 )

      Now 6.1 !

      Now 5.1!

      Now 4.1!

      The Downstream is remaining steady , what's going on?! What's affecting the upstream so badly?

      0.7 , will probably disconnect again soon


      DownStream Connection Speed 4093
      UpStream Connection Speed 531

      Now my upstream has been killed , sigh

    9. #98
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Lost speed with move to SVBN

      Sounds like Mr BTOR made a boo boo
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    10. #99
      BLOODUK's Avatar
      BLOODUK is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Herne Bay
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Everything
      Join Date
      Jun 2009
      Location
      Kent
      Posts
      271
      Thanks
      5
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Lost speed with move to SVBN

      Quote Originally Posted by IWasNotTheEnemy View Post
      Sounds like Mr BTOR made a boo boo
      Yep , strange how it went **** up when he appeared two doors up and it wasn't even related to me ffs

      I got his van reg number though lol

      Whats the best time to phone sky? , NOT INDIA

    11. #100
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Lost speed with move to SVBN

      Sky don't use India - never have...Manila is where it's at!

      Does it matter? CST is the department you want, but whether it's phone or BB support you need is another matter...I'd try BB first, see what they say
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

     

     
    Page 10 of 15 FirstFirst ... 89101112 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION