Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 13

    Speed drop from 4.5Mbps to 512kbps

    This is a discussion on Speed drop from 4.5Mbps to 512kbps within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Recently my linespeed has plummeted, I've tried changing line filters, a new router cable and going direct to the test ...

    1. #1
      neh0's Avatar
      neh0 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Posts
      12
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Speed drop from 4.5Mbps to 512kbps

      Recently my linespeed has plummeted, I've tried changing line filters, a new router cable and going direct to the test port of the master socket with no succcess.

      Router stats :

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 544 kbps 608 kbps
      Line Attenuation 48.0 db 29.5 db
      Noise Margin 28.8 db 20.0 db

      I'm thinking of trying another router but does anyone have any other suggestions ?

      Thanks,
      Neil


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Speed drop from 4.5Mbps to 512kbps

      Your connection is very heavily capped. Phone Sky and ask them to pass you to the Customer Support Team to have your line reconfigured. If Tier 1 refuse, ask to speak to a manager and insist that you be passed to the CST.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. #3
      neh0's Avatar
      neh0 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Posts
      12
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Speed drop from 4.5Mbps to 512kbps

      Just been on the phone and Sky reckon my line can handle 4.5Mbps and said would 3Mbps be acceptable. Not holding my breath but I'll see if anything changes in the next 48 hours.

      Thanks, Neil

    5. #4
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Speed drop from 4.5Mbps to 512kbps

      I would say your line should be capable of 6Mb+, but lets wait and see what they do.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    6. #5
      neh0's Avatar
      neh0 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Posts
      12
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Speed drop from 4.5Mbps to 512kbps

      As if by magic an increase to 1150kbps

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 1152 kbps 608 kbps
      Line Attenuation 48.0 db 29.5 db
      Noise Margin 7.5 db 20.0 db

    7. #6
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Speed drop from 4.5Mbps to 512kbps

      I don't know what they have done to your line, but they have made a real mess of it. Unless, that is, you have made some change to your internal wiring which has had a bad effect. The original stats you posted showed your line was capable of over 6Mb, why you are only getting 1Mb I just dont know.

      Maybe one of the others could comment.

      ?? Were your previous stats taken from the Test socket and now are you plugged in somewhere else??

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    8. #7
      krysis's Avatar
      krysis is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: BT
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Location
      Belfast
      Posts
      301
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Speed drop from 4.5Mbps to 512kbps

      Quote Originally Posted by neh0 View Post
      As if by magic an increase to 1150kbps

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 1152 kbps 608 kbps
      Line Attenuation 48.0 db 29.5 db
      Noise Margin 7.5 db 20.0 db

      How long has your connection been up for?

      If there is an internal wiring issue like a Possible unfiltered socket, sometimes the Snr Rises a bit after the noise settles a bit & once the connection is reset then there is a little more noise due to the connection syncing Etc...

      I have seen this before.

      The original stats are showing a line capable of about 6mb.
      The second stats are indicating a setup issue.

      Try this:

      Can you repost your Stats (Do not reboot before posting though)..
      Once you have done so, reboot your Router and repost the new stats.

      From what I can see there is a socket in use that isn't filtered (probably the Sky Tv box) Or you have a double phone adapter connected to the telephone socket before the Microfilter.

    9. #8
      neh0's Avatar
      neh0 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Posts
      12
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Speed drop from 4.5Mbps to 512kbps

      Uptime of 70+ hours router stats :

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 1152 kbps 608 kbps
      Line Attenuation 48.0 db 29.5 db
      Noise Margin 7.9 db 20.0 db

      Router rebooted stats :

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 1152 kbps 608 kbps
      Line Attenuation 48.0 db 29.5 db
      Noise Margin 7.6 db 19.0 db

      Hope this helps cast some light

      Thanks for everyones help so far.
      Neil

    10. #9
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Speed drop from 4.5Mbps to 512kbps

      Are you plugged into the Test socket with no extensions?

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    11. #10
      neh0's Avatar
      neh0 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Posts
      12
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Speed drop from 4.5Mbps to 512kbps

      It's made no difference whatsoever when I'm plugged into the master socket or into an extension. Maybe need to get the whole wiring checked out from entry into the house into master and then into slaves.

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION