Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 22

    Subscribed To 20MB, Only Getting 6MB?

    This is a discussion on Subscribed To 20MB, Only Getting 6MB? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Originally Posted by IWasNotTheEnemy In a nutshell, your phone line enters the house to the master socket and from that ...

    1. #11
      charliebobgordon's Avatar
      charliebobgordon is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid/Everyday
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Nov 2009
      Posts
      23
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Subscribed To 20MB, Only Getting 6MB?

      Quote Originally Posted by IWasNotTheEnemy View Post
      In a nutshell, your phone line enters the house to the master socket and from that point any other sockets are classed as extensions. Now, if you have a test socket, you should notice the back of the faceplate had wires jumpered into the back of it - these are the wires running to your extension sockets (usually run socket to socket in parallell)...

      Basically, with the test socket exposed, the other sockets in the house should have no dial tone - if they do, then the wiring in the house is incorrect and will be dragging speeds down...

      BUT, you still won't get anywhere near 20Mbps without moving nearer the exchange...
      Oh ok, would switching to Virgin Media 50MB get more more than 6MB? How much will I get with Virgin Media 50MB?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Subscribed To 20MB, Only Getting 6MB?

      Again, nowhere near 50Mbps as it's a theoretical top speed - no one evers sees it - but probably more than ADSL...main question is do you need it?
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    4. #13
      charliebobgordon's Avatar
      charliebobgordon is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid/Everyday
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Nov 2009
      Posts
      23
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Subscribed To 20MB, Only Getting 6MB?

      Quote Originally Posted by IWasNotTheEnemy View Post
      Again, nowhere near 50Mbps as it's a theoretical top speed - no one evers sees it - but probably more than ADSL...main question is do you need it?
      Well we need it faster because our whole family is connected at once as well as other stuff like an Xbox and stuff.

      How much faster are we talking with Virgin Media? 5MB 10MB faster?

    5. #14
      neilmcl's Avatar
      neilmcl is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Sherwood
      Broadband ISP: O2 Standard
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Location
      Nottingham
      Posts
      990
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Subscribed To 20MB, Only Getting 6MB?

      You may get close to 50mbps with VM, remember this is cable broadband not ADSL. VM do traffic manage, ie throttle the speed, but only with customers abusing their FUP.

    6. #15
      neilmcl's Avatar
      neilmcl is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Sherwood
      Broadband ISP: O2 Standard
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Location
      Nottingham
      Posts
      990
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Subscribed To 20MB, Only Getting 6MB?

      Quote Originally Posted by IWasNotTheEnemy View Post
      Again, nowhere near 50Mbps as it's a theoretical top speed - no one evers sees it - but probably more than ADSL...main question is do you need it?
      Where's your evidence for that

      I know a number of VM cable customers who're on the 50mbps and hit that speed.

    7. #16
      charliebobgordon's Avatar
      charliebobgordon is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid/Everyday
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Nov 2009
      Posts
      23
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Subscribed To 20MB, Only Getting 6MB?

      Quote Originally Posted by neilmcl View Post
      You may get close to 50mbps with VM, remember this is cable broadband not ADSL. VM do traffic manage, ie throttle the speed, but only with customers abusing their FUP.
      Sounds good.

      Were trying to save money at the moment so I was actually thinking if we left Sky for Virgin Media could we keep the Sky box and dish and continue using the Sky free channels or not? OR getting a Freesat box and hooking it up to the Sky dish for the free channels would that work?

      Also does it cost money to leave sky? Do I have to pay a cancellation fee what?]

      Thanks.

    8. #17
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Subscribed To 20MB, Only Getting 6MB?

      Also does it cost money to leave sky? Do I have to pay a cancellation fee what?]
      I think you have 8 days to cancel from connection.




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    9. #18
      charliebobgordon's Avatar
      charliebobgordon is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid/Everyday
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Nov 2009
      Posts
      23
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Subscribed To 20MB, Only Getting 6MB?

      Quote Originally Posted by NewsreadeR View Post
      I think you have 8 days to cancel from connection.
      Hmm Ok.

    10. #19
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Subscribed To 20MB, Only Getting 6MB?

      Are you in a Virgin Cable area? Put your post code in the box to find out - 50Mb broadband - Virgin Media

      If you are try to save money, Virgin 50Mb is not the way to go. After the first 3 months it will cost you 38-39 a month. Even 20Mb will cost you 30-31 a month. But being cable, you will receive very near these speeds, unlike ADSL.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    11. #20
      charliebobgordon's Avatar
      charliebobgordon is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid/Everyday
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Nov 2009
      Posts
      23
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Subscribed To 20MB, Only Getting 6MB?

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      Are you in a Virgin Cable area? Put your post code in the box to find out - 50Mb broadband - Virgin Media

      If you are try to save money, Virgin 50Mb is not the way to go. After the first 3 months it will cost you 38-39 a month. Even 20Mb will cost you 30-31 a month. But being cable, you will receive very near these speeds, unlike ADSL.
      We are in the area for Virgin Media, think we might upgrade (:

     

     
    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION