Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123
    Results 21 to 29 of 29

    I need help please.

    This is a discussion on I need help please. within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; It is not the same - You first stats ADSL Link Downstream Upstream Connection Speed 384 kbps 477 kbps Line ...

    1. #21
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: I need help please.

      It is not the same -
      You first stats
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 384 kbps 477 kbps
      Line Attenuation 60.0 db 36.1 db
      Noise Margin 8.6 db 11.5 db

      Your Test socket
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 384 kbps 550 kbps
      Line Attenuation 59.5 db 35.9 db
      Noise Margin 15.9 db 9.5 db

      The difference between the figures shown in bold show that your internal wiring is effecting your connection. The first thing to do is check your other sockets and make sure that each one in use has a filter plugged into the socket first. If the Sky box is plugged in with an extension supplied by Sky, make sure this is also plugged into a filter.
      If these are in order, then what you must do is buy and fit and use an ADSL filter. One of these - XTE-2005 Filtered Master Faceplate - ADSL Nation

      Please understand that when you fit this it will be the only socket you can use for broadband, so your router must be plugged into it. When it is fitted Sky should be able to raise your speed to around 3Mb, nearly 10 times what you have now.

      Ask your mum to read this thread to find out what you must do.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.






    2. Advertisement
    3. #22
      Charlieclark's Avatar
      Charlieclark is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2009
      Posts
      16
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: I need help please.

      Is there anyway i could make it higher without buying that ADSL filter?

    4. #23
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: I need help please.

      That is the only way to do it properly. You might improve it a bit by removing the ring wire from the number 3 terminal on the back of the master socket faceplate. This is the wire that carries the ring voltage and is not required when you are using filters.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    5. #24
      Charlieclark's Avatar
      Charlieclark is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2009
      Posts
      16
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: I need help please.

      There is no wires in 1, 2, 3 or 4.

    6. #25
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: I need help please.

      Do you have other phone sockets in your house?

      Did you check all your filters were properly fitted?

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    7. #26
      krysis's Avatar
      krysis is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: BT
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Location
      Belfast
      Posts
      301
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: I need help please.

      Make sure the Microfilter is connected first to any telephone socket that is being used.

      Is your sky tv connected to any of the telephone sockets? If So make sure it is connected to a Microfilter and that the Microfilter is connected directly into the telephone socket.

      ***Remember*** A Microfilter has to be connected FIRST to any socket that is being used!

    8. #27
      Charlieclark's Avatar
      Charlieclark is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2009
      Posts
      16
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      i love sky now!

      Hey i told my mum the problem with our download speed and she rang sky and got straight through, they chatted for like 5 mins then they upped my download speed by 11X and it worked here is my speedtest.net results:



      Moved here from chat as it completes the thread
      Last edited by Isitme; 20-11-09 at 03:46 PM. Reason: Moved post

    9. #28
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: I need help please.

      Well done Mum

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    10. #29
      Charlieclark's Avatar
      Charlieclark is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2009
      Posts
      16
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: I need help please.

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      Well done Mum
      Yeh i'm so happy now, mum ftw! lol

      P.S; also here are my router stats:

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 3776 kbps 800 kbps
      Line Attenuation 59.0 db 31.5 db
      Noise Margin 7.2 db 8.0 db

     

     
    Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION