Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
    Results 11 to 19 of 19

    what are sky doing to my line

    This is a discussion on what are sky doing to my line within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; didn't mean to it sound that way but no one in Sky would be silly to set an SNR to ...

    1. #11
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: what are sky doing to my line

      didn't mean to it sound that way but no one in Sky would be silly to set an SNR to 0dB - even if they could!!

      it should be ok, reboot in the morning and you should be sorted...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: what are sky doing to my line

      I think the OP is using Uber firmware to artificially lower his noise margin.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. #13
      coltal's Avatar
      coltal is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      10
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: what are sky doing to my line

      hi m8 i am sure you didnt mean to sound abrupt, its funny how written words can be read that way,,NP . CST did say it was set at 2db and he connected me at 5mb or summit like that, then he said he will set it to 0db then he connected me again at 6624 , then i said oh my uploads gone up aswel,l he then said ill knock cap off and reconnected me at 920 upload and said i would be capable of 1mb up sometimes..this is wot iam getting ,it seems pretty stable for 3hrs at 4.5db cheers Colin
      from flashget rapidshare
      File Size 209715201
      Total Time 00:04:59
      Average Speed 684.95 KB/s

    5. #14
      krysis's Avatar
      krysis is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: BT
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Location
      Belfast
      Posts
      301
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: what are sky doing to my line

      I've found some of the new CST guys to be complete numpties and don't think some of them completely understand what everything means! (Sorry).


      SNR of 4... isn't good. Shouldn't really go below 7... Default.

      As IWNTE suggested, reboot in the morning, will be a little quieter and should raise your snr a little.

    6. #15
      coltal's Avatar
      coltal is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      10
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: what are sky doing to my line

      on the contrary m8 hell of a cst not a dummy at all, if you read 1st post this morning couldnt sync above 4094 now 6624 i have sent an email to thankyou@sky.com to commend this bloke, he actually listened to wot i was saying...regards colin

      iam 5.4 km line length from xchange average d/l 685kbps

    7. #16
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: what are sky doing to my line

      IF CST really did set it that low then it'll be someone that's been there a while as the only way to set the SNR that low is to use PuTTY to access the DSLAM as the normal web GUI only allows the SNR to be set at 7, 9 or 12dB...hardly anyone left in CST has PuTTY access now...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    8. #17
      neilmcl's Avatar
      neilmcl is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Sherwood
      Broadband ISP: O2 Standard
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Location
      Nottingham
      Posts
      990
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: what are sky doing to my line

      I'm sure it wouldn't be too difficult for anyone in CST to download a copy of putty or any other free telnet client for that matter.

    9. #18
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: what are sky doing to my line

      It is not so easy getting PuTTY when they are on Corporate machines. They are usually very restricted in what they can install. Some would think it was for making little Morphs with anyway.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    10. #19
      neilmcl's Avatar
      neilmcl is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Sherwood
      Broadband ISP: O2 Standard
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Location
      Nottingham
      Posts
      990
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: what are sky doing to my line

      You don't install Putty, it comes as a binary.

     

     
    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION