Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 7 of 7

    Was going goog & then it wasn't

    This is a discussion on Was going goog & then it wasn't within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi I've had sky about 4 days now & it has been pretty steady! I was told i should (by ...

    1. #1
      RichieR's Avatar
      RichieR is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2009
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Was going good & then it wasn't

      Hi
      I've had sky about 4 days now & it has been pretty steady! I was told i should (by Sky) be getting about 7mb & was actually getting more like 4mb according to my router stats page!

      but today it has been all over the shop! I've tried just about every BB speed test link i could find on this site & have been seeing differences of about 3-4mg between them with the majority having me in the high 2's & some reaching 6-7 a couple of minutes later!

      I have only just been able to use the speedtest.net site as i have had my daughter using the machine during the evening because her imac was to slow for nickjr!

      here's my speedtest result


      but i have router stats that have had me in the high 9's all day & night! i've also have been disconnected about 4 times this evening & at first i was blaming my set-up but i've come to realise its sky!

      WAN PPPoA 5978 7863 0 1494 7428 00:21:22
      LAN 100M/Full 179 0 0 31 0 00:22:12
      WLAN 11M/54M 8504 6747 0 7622 1639 00:22:00
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 9169 kbps 944 kbps
      Line Attenuation 39 db 21 db
      Noise Margin 5 db 10 db

      My noise margin has drop as low as 2 & i have not lost connection but during the times that its not worked i have no idea what the stats are saying as i can no longer see the router til its back up!

      This was taken about a minute after the first

      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 5978 7865 0 1449 7203 00:22:02
      LAN 100M/Full 179 0 0 30 0 00:22:52
      WLAN 11M/54M 8540 6775 0 7408 1594 00:22:40
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 9169 kbps 944 kbps
      Line Attenuation 39 db 21 db
      Noise Margin 7 db 10 db


      taken 15 minutes after the first!

      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 6192 8115 0 1063 5286 00:30:43
      LAN 100M/Full 239 0 0 31 0 00:31:33
      WLAN 11M/54M 9265 7387 0 5573 1208 00:31:21
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 9169 kbps 944 kbps
      Line Attenuation 39 db 21 db
      Noise Margin 3 db 10 db

      taken last

      Last edited by RichieR; 15-11-09 at 08:01 AM.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: Was going goog & then it wasn't

      Somethings wrong on your line or setup if the noise margin is bouncing like that. How are you connecting the router to the line, what else is on the line, how many filters are in use and is the router on the main telephone socket?

    4. #3
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Was going goog & then it wasn't

      Remember that you are also going through DLM, this will have a start speed of 4mb and work it's way up from there. I wouldn't take any notice of your Speentestnet results, it is a useless speedtest site and will give different results even from the most stable sources.

      You should try the speed checker on this site, it is more reliable.

      You should check and double check your setup your end as advised, ensure every phone socket in the house has a filter fitted as the very first thing in the socket, if you have your Sky receiver connected to the phone line, check that the installer didn't fit a double adaptor first (they normally do).

      As a quick note, it's not Sky doing this, DLM may reset your connection during the 10 day training period but this usually happens in the early hours and only once or so a night. This will be your internal wiring/setup causing this, or less likley, an external line fault.

    5. #4
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: Was going goog & then it wasn't

      The tv double adaptor is always a pain as the installer doesn't explain it's a splitter not a filter and customers think that they are ok to plug into it.

    6. #5
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,132
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Was going goog & then it wasn't

      Also plug into your test socket and post the stats from there. Don't worry about DLM as your noise margin is moving around so much it will not set properly anyway.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    7. #6
      krysis's Avatar
      krysis is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: BT
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Location
      Belfast
      Posts
      301
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Was going goog & then it wasn't

      Quote Originally Posted by PaulSky View Post
      The tv double adaptor is always a pain as the installer doesn't explain it's a splitter not a filter and customers think that they are ok to plug into it.
      Some do, but just don't have a clue!

    8. #7
      RichieR's Avatar
      RichieR is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2009
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Was going goog & then it wasn't

      I am replying via my iPhone as my little girl is using the pc (again).

      I only have one phone socket in the house, & yes it does have a double socket on it, but I have the filter plugged in first (into the BT socket) & the router is plugged into the ADSL part of it & then the double phone socket (goes into the phone side) it also has a lead from the bottom of it which goes straight to the sky+ box, I have the house phone in the top socket & a spare socket underneath that.

      I cant use that website as the sky unlimted option won't work for me. I will post test socket stats when I manage to get my little girl off the pc (it's nearly dinner time anyway).

      I thought I had my wiring right but maybe my pc set up wrong!

      Thanks for the replies guys.

      Cheers

      rich...

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION