Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 27

    Please help with this broadband issue

    This is a discussion on Please help with this broadband issue within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; there 2 red wires going to number 3 terminal at the main box? just did another test at my office ...

    1. #11
      stuart tanner's Avatar
      stuart tanner is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01276
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2009
      Posts
      17
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Please help with this broadband issue

      there 2 red wires going to number 3 terminal at the main box? just did another test at my office exstention please see states.
      the master socket is in my hallway and not very accessable else i would run my router from that all the time but would require a 25 meter extention to the office.
      2 be honest there are so many wire ravelled up behind the main face plate it would be hard to know were to start.
      i will take a picture of the back of the main face plate for you if that helps?
      Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Please help with this broadband issue-router-6.png  


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      neilmcl's Avatar
      neilmcl is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Sherwood
      Broadband ISP: O2 Standard
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Location
      Nottingham
      Posts
      990
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Please help with this broadband issue

      Did you remove those wires? How many sets of wires are connected to 2 and 5?

      I would have expected 3 sets of wires, only having 2 would suggest that either one of your extensions is daisy chained from another extension or it may be incorrectly connected to the A & B connectors on the back of the master socket.

      It is preferable to connect the router to the master socket, especially with a filtered faceplate. Have you though of using Homeplug/Powerline adapters, I'm asuming your office PC doesn't have wireless?

    4. #13
      stuart tanner's Avatar
      stuart tanner is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01276
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2009
      Posts
      17
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Please help with this broadband issue

      i have just removed the 2 orange wires from terminal 3 and taken another snippet of my states in the office.
      i have thought about power line ethernet but the cost puts me off as i am out of qwork at the moment.
      i have also just fitted a wireless card to my desktop but my walls are so think that if i try the router in the hallway i only get 2 signal strengh in the office.

      sorry for the late reply the wife made me take her shopping

      there are 2 sets of wire at both terminals and 2 attached to the of the main plate
      Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Please help with this broadband issue-router-7.png  
      Last edited by stuart tanner; 14-11-09 at 05:22 PM.

    5. #14
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Please help with this broadband issue

      That proves that your internal wiring is dragging down your connection.

    6. #15
      neilmcl's Avatar
      neilmcl is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Sherwood
      Broadband ISP: O2 Standard
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Location
      Nottingham
      Posts
      990
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Please help with this broadband issue

      Your stats look much better now, removing the ring wire has definitely improved things. A filtered faceplate would be beneficial in the long run - something like this for example: ADSL Nation LTD.

      For now though you'll need to contact Sky to get your cap lifted. Best way is to explain that you've improved your internal wiring and your stats show that more speed is available and could they get someone to look at reconfiguring your connection. It'll be worth having your router connected to the test socket when you speak to them as they'll advise you to do this before going any further.

    7. #16
      neilmcl's Avatar
      neilmcl is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Sherwood
      Broadband ISP: O2 Standard
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Location
      Nottingham
      Posts
      990
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Please help with this broadband issue

      Quote Originally Posted by stuart tanner View Post
      2 attached to the of the main plate
      2 pairs or just 2 wires?

    8. #17
      stuart tanner's Avatar
      stuart tanner is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01276
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2009
      Posts
      17
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Please help with this broadband issue

      I will contact sky shortly to get the cap lifted thx 2 you 2 guys for all your help i would never have worked it out with out you.
      you were right smithy from the beginning my appologys if i appeared to not be taking any notice.
      i will buy 1 of those face plates and fit it.
      i will let you know what sky says to me.
      thx again for all your help guys
      also there are 2 wire connected to each of the terminals i think the guy removed the upstairs extention as i did ask him 2 2 of the same colour on each

      stu

    9. #18
      stuart tanner's Avatar
      stuart tanner is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01276
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2009
      Posts
      17
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Please help with this broadband issue

      what sort of speed do you think is resonably expected on the connection now i live 1400 meters from the exchange.

      thx
      stu

    10. #19
      neilmcl's Avatar
      neilmcl is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Sherwood
      Broadband ISP: O2 Standard
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Location
      Nottingham
      Posts
      990
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Please help with this broadband issue

      I think you might be looking at between 9-10mbps possibly.

    11. #20
      stuart tanner's Avatar
      stuart tanner is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01276
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2009
      Posts
      17
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Please help with this broadband issue

      that will do me if it is possible...


      thx again

      stu

     

     
    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION