Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 16

    Possible Newbie Couple of Questions

    This is a discussion on Possible Newbie Couple of Questions within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi I have been with my current ISP ADSL24 for 3 years but have recently noticed a drop in speed ...

    1. #1
      mikebh50's Avatar
      mikebh50 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: dereham
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Nov 2009
      Posts
      37
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Possible Newbie Couple of Questions

      Hi

      I have been with my current ISP ADSL24 for 3 years but have recently noticed a drop in speed so i am currently thinking of going for the sky max broadband. When i inquired about it i was told i would get a speed of between 10 & 20MB which would be great as i currently get around 5 which i think is poor considering i am only 600mtrs from the exchange so my first question is if i don't can i get out of the 12 month contract and secondly i presume i can carry on using my Linksy router if i just change the user name and password. Any help info would be great.

      Thanks
      Mike


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Possible Newbie Couple of Questions

      so my first question is if i don't can i get out of the 12 month contract
      There used to be an 8 day cancellation period, although DLM would run for about 10 at minimum.

      Do you know what your attenuation is by any chance?

      You should get at the least the same as you have now, but with no shaping and a normally very stable connection. Given your proximity to the exchange chances are it should actually improve.

      i presume i can carry on using my Linksy router if i just change the user name and password.
      When you sign up to Sky BB you agree to use their router only and could technically get kicked off if you do use your own. To the best of my knowledge, this has never happened, and its totally your decision.




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    4. #3
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Possible Newbie Couple of Questions

      Sky won't provide you with the dsl logins, you have extract them from the Sky router - as said, this is against T&C's and can lead to you being booted off...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    5. #4
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Possible Newbie Couple of Questions

      Quote Originally Posted by IWasNotTheEnemy View Post
      Sky won't provide you with the dsl logins, you have extract them from the Sky router - as said, this is against T&C's and can lead to you being booted off...
      Although as far as we know, it never has

    6. #5
      mikebh50's Avatar
      mikebh50 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: dereham
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Nov 2009
      Posts
      37
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Possible Newbie Couple of Questions

      Hi

      Sorry that i have not replied sooner but been trying to get router stats but due to the firmware my linksy router is running it won't work. So do i take the plunge or not don't want to jump out of the frying pan into the fire.Is there not a site that can tell you what u might get on an llu line?

      Plus i have a letter offering me 3 months free line rental.Also do Sky pay to get you out of a contract as TalkTalk offer to pay 70 to get me out of my BT contract?

      Mike

    7. #6
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Possible Newbie Couple of Questions

      As long as you get an LLU product from Sky Max / Unlimited then you should get at least the same as what you have now with no slowdowns, shaping, limits, traffic management etc

      I cannot fault mine and have been with Sky for 3 years nearly.

      If you can get your attenuation, we have a checker here.

      SkyUser - Potential ADSL2 Line Speed Checker & Calculator

      From reading about ADSL24 I believe Entanet (I think it is) have introduced some kind of traffic management, Sky Max should be miles better than a BT based service (as in ADSL24) as they use their own kit, as in LLU




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    8. #7
      mikebh50's Avatar
      mikebh50 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: dereham
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Nov 2009
      Posts
      37
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Possible Newbie Couple of Questions

      Hi

      Thank you for such a quick reply i think i will give sky max ago as it will be cheaper than my current provider even if i don't take the phone package but will change over when my contract is up with BT. Am i right in thinking that once i get my router if i use the same password etc on my Linksy router i should still get on but be able to keep all my port forwarding settings etc.

      Mike

    9. #8
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Possible Newbie Couple of Questions

      Yes, once you have the router you can then extract the username and password for your Linksys.

      I would advise agains getting the Sky line rental, it will make things harder if you ever get a line fault or want to move ISP's again. You can still get their phone packages Sky Talk etc just keep the line with BT.

    10. #9
      mikebh50's Avatar
      mikebh50 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: dereham
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Nov 2009
      Posts
      37
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Possible Newbie Couple of Questions

      Hi

      Got my MAC code to day but still have a couple of questions.When i change over how long will i be without a connection and also i am right in thinking there is no connection fee for the max broadband.

      Thanks
      Mike

    11. #10
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,132
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Possible Newbie Couple of Questions

      When i change over how long will i be without a connection
      If things go without a hitch 30-60mins. As the actual change over requires a visit to the exchange by a BTO engineer, they cannot guarantee that the change over will take place on the day given for activation. It could be the day before or the day after. Just keep your old router plugged in until the connection drops, then plug in your Sky router. It should sync within a few minutes.

      am right in thinking there is no connection fee for the max broadband.
      That is correct, it is called Unlimited now by the way.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION