Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
    Results 11 to 16 of 16

    Possible Newbie Couple of Questions

    This is a discussion on Possible Newbie Couple of Questions within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi All up and running today as advised decided to use there router and most things seem to be working.Only ...

    1. #11
      mikebh50's Avatar
      mikebh50 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: dereham
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Nov 2009
      Posts
      37
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Possible Newbie Couple of Questions

      Hi

      All up and running today as advised decided to use there router and most things seem to be working.Only seem to be getting around 3.5 meg at present but i think thats normal while they test the line.I have posted my router stats below (hope there right) just wanted to know if anybody could give me an idea what i might get once the testing is done.
      Thanks
      Mike.
      Router StatisticsSystem Up Time: 04:35:09

      Port Status Expect RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 81064 103334 0 1369 3954 04:34:19
      LAN 100M/Full 105739 108848 0 4101 1626 04:35:04
      WLAN 11M/54M 26027 0 0 116 0 04:34:52
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 4093 kbps 604 kbps
      Line Attenuation 24 db 11 db
      Noise Margin 20 db 15 db


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Possible Newbie Couple of Questions

      DLM will kick in and raise your speed. Keep plugged in and powered up until it does its thing. With you attenuation you should get 16-18Mb. If you don't, you might need to look at your internal wiring, especially if you have fixed extensions. It may be worthwhile plugging into the Test socket now, if your noise margin increases by more than 2 or 3 dbs, you will know your internal wiring is holding you back.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. #13
      mikebh50's Avatar
      mikebh50 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: dereham
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Nov 2009
      Posts
      37
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Possible Newbie Couple of Questions

      Hi

      Was connected on Friday around lunchtime but still only getting the speeds below which has stayed the same since i was connected is that normal?.

      Down 3.5 MB
      Up 0.5Mb

      Mike

    5. #14
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Possible Newbie Couple of Questions

      DLM normally kicks in within 72 hours but it can take longer, give it a few more days and then ring.

    6. #15
      mikebh50's Avatar
      mikebh50 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: dereham
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Nov 2009
      Posts
      37
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Are Sky Taking The P---

      Hi

      Well have been connected since the 4th December and my speed is still the same as i posted above.I have just rung Sky and was told that they are still testing my line but after Monday which will be ten days it should be sorted.But i would have thought my speed should have increased for them to test the line but every time i go on its always around 3.5MB now i was getting nearly double that with my old ISP. So are they talking cobblers or do i need to try anything else.

      Any advice would be great.

      Mike

    7. #16
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Possible Newbie Couple of Questions

      I would ring them again and tell them that you speed hasn't altered since you joined and could they manually configure the line.

      Failing that, ring and ask for your max delays to be reduced as your pings are high and you are a gamer. They should put you through to CSTm then you can ask for both to be done.

     

     
    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION