Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 6 of 6 FirstFirst ... 456
    Results 51 to 57 of 57

    from 1mg d/l to 6.5 on connect is that possible

    This is a discussion on from 1mg d/l to 6.5 on connect is that possible within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; nice speeds mate...

    1. #51
      boothy_08's Avatar
      boothy_08 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Oldham
      Broadband ISP: Virgin Media 120Mbps
      Router: Superhub 2 VM
      Sky TV: Freeview TV
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Location
      Manchester
      Posts
      421
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 17 Times in 17 Posts

      Re: from 1mg d/l to 6.5 on connect is that possible

      nice speeds mate


    2. Advertisement
    3. #52
      bigjonnyauk's Avatar
      bigjonnyauk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: SKY HUB SR-102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Nov 2009
      Posts
      53
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: from 1mg d/l to 6.5 on connect is that possible



      latest test but this is still wireless lol as still not got ethernet cable yet i reckon if they synced my router at 20 meg instead of 18 i would push a bit more

    4. #53
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: from 1mg d/l to 6.5 on connect is that possible

      Quote Originally Posted by bigjonnyauk View Post

      latest test but this is still wireless lol as still not got ethernet cable yet i reckon if they synced my router at 20 meg instead of 18 i would push a bit more
      It depends on your noise margin. If it goes too low you will actually get less throughput, even with a higher sync. An error free connect is more important than the sync speed.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    5. #54
      bigjonnyauk's Avatar
      bigjonnyauk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: SKY HUB SR-102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Nov 2009
      Posts
      53
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: from 1mg d/l to 6.5 on connect is that possible

      i know what you mean isitme

      downstream upstream
      attenuation 6db 3db
      noise 12db 7db

      am getting a bit of lag in mw2 though maybe i might get my max delays set at 8

      dont get me wrong i am chuffed with the speeds as in this town the average is only like 6meg and i prob get a lot more than most on here also so i cant moan going from half a meg in the evenings to 15-16 meg lol

    6. #55
      bigjonnyauk's Avatar
      bigjonnyauk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: SKY HUB SR-102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Nov 2009
      Posts
      53
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: from 1mg d/l to 6.5 on connect is that possible



      stats with wired connection not much difference really

    7. #56
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: from 1mg d/l to 6.5 on connect is that possible

      You have a fair bit of noise margin in hand, so you could get a bit more. If DLM is finished, give Sky a call ask for your speed to be raised a bit and get your max delay done at the same time.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    8. #57
      simonmpoulton's Avatar
      simonmpoulton is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Chester Central
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      1,620
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

      Re: from 1mg d/l to 6.5 on connect is that possible

      If you ask for the max delay first then get transferred to CST you can ask them to do the speed for you. Sometimes if you mention speed first they run through all the tier1 troubleshooting steps which arent very useful!

      Pace SKY HD With Seagate Pipeline HD 2TB

     

     
    Page 6 of 6 FirstFirst ... 456

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION