Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 5 of 6 FirstFirst ... 3456 LastLast
    Results 41 to 50 of 57

    from 1mg d/l to 6.5 on connect is that possible

    This is a discussion on from 1mg d/l to 6.5 on connect is that possible within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; all done now still trying by wireless until i get a cable but so far i will be happy if ...

    1. #41
      bigjonnyauk's Avatar
      bigjonnyauk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: SKY HUB SR-102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Nov 2009
      Posts
      53
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: from 1mg d/l to 6.5 on connect is that possible

      all done now still trying by wireless until i get a cable but so far i will be happy if i stay at this speed just done


      i used that inssider isitme and there were a lot on the same band as me so i changed it

      funny though how using a different band gave me differing results

      is there any more left for me now lets wait and see

      and thanks for all your help guys finally looking forward to having a game on xbox tonight with a decent speed


    2. Advertisement
    3. #42
      bigjonnyauk's Avatar
      bigjonnyauk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: SKY HUB SR-102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Nov 2009
      Posts
      53
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: from 1mg d/l to 6.5 on connect is that possible

      just got back from work my sky went down for 2 hours late last night but am happy with todays results seem a bit better


    4. #43
      bigjonnyauk's Avatar
      bigjonnyauk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: SKY HUB SR-102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Nov 2009
      Posts
      53
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: from 1mg d/l to 6.5 on connect is that possible

      hi guys getting 14 meg now and my speed in router is set at 18meg so far so losing 4 meg would you lose this much wireless

      i mean i am happy with 14 meg my upload maxes out at 1.1 meg and my ping is down to 37

      and this is for 2.50 cheaper than the ten i was paying for connect lol

    5. #44
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: from 1mg d/l to 6.5 on connect is that possible

      You can easily loose that with wireless. If you have used Inssider to set it to the best channel and have the latest drivers, there is not much more you can do.

      Using XP you can use DrTCP below, to tweak your settings, but anything later, you can't do much.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    6. #45
      steve16751's Avatar
      steve16751 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: newas
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Location
      washington
      Posts
      2,867
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts

      Re: from 1mg d/l to 6.5 on connect is that possible

      bigjonnyauk
      Hi Good to see that someone from connect on LLU

    7. #46
      bigjonnyauk's Avatar
      bigjonnyauk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: SKY HUB SR-102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Nov 2009
      Posts
      53
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: from 1mg d/l to 6.5 on connect is that possible

      Quote Originally Posted by steve16751 View Post
      bigjonnyauk
      Hi Good to see that someone from connect on LLU
      had to wait a year mate and i actually mailed sky several times and their ceo lol

      i live in weymouth and we only had digital switch over last year so that meant every man and his dog had a sky dish with a lot of flats also having them

      talk talk seen this and nipped in to grab the broadband market but could not offer anything else

      it was their for the taking for sky to grab the customers cuz 90 per cent of them had the tv anyway and 50 per cent phone

      anyway they mailed back saying they would look into the viablility of it

      and a year later its here lol

    8. #47
      steve16751's Avatar
      steve16751 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: newas
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Location
      washington
      Posts
      2,867
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts

      Re: from 1mg d/l to 6.5 on connect is that possible

      bigjonnyauk
      Hi it is there and great speeds I see. I hear Sky are still unbundling so you never know. Washington the same TalkTalk in the exchange and where I live Virgin and as you say Sky Aerials everywhere it is Just a waiting game. Sky seem to be moving into small exchanges good Idea only Sky selling TV, Phone and Broadband.
      You enjoy the LLU you never know by next year Sky might decide to move to Washington. As we are surrounded By Sky LLU there is not many place left.

    9. #48
      bigjonnyauk's Avatar
      bigjonnyauk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: SKY HUB SR-102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Nov 2009
      Posts
      53
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: from 1mg d/l to 6.5 on connect is that possible

      well we are hosting the olympics in 2012 the sailing events and bt are now talking about putting 100 meg in for this if enough buisnesses and people sign up for interest


      anyway my dlm is now finished and while i am happy with what i have got i cant help but be a little greedy and think with my stats i could get more

      my router sync is set at 18010 not 20 meg and during my dlm i had to switch off router a few times ?

      my line atten is still at 5 which is good for d/l and 3 for upload

      my d/l speed on the test sites only comes in at 14-15 meg wireless but if i d/l something from a newsgroup then it maxes out at full 18 so this suggest i am getting the full whack does it not

    10. #49
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: from 1mg d/l to 6.5 on connect is that possible

      Does indeed, but are you in the test socket? What are your full connection stats?
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    11. #50
      bigjonnyauk's Avatar
      bigjonnyauk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: SKY HUB SR-102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Nov 2009
      Posts
      53
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: from 1mg d/l to 6.5 on connect is that possible

      no i aint in test socket and i aint messing with it again as i nearly wrecked it last time lol lol will put my stats up later

     

     
    Page 5 of 6 FirstFirst ... 3456 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION