Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 26

    802.11g turbo wireless adapter not working! (properly!)

    This is a discussion on 802.11g turbo wireless adapter not working! (properly!) within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi i'm new to the site! Guys & girls firstly i've just spent 25 minutes detailing my problem in a ...

    1. #1
      RichieR's Avatar
      RichieR is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2009
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      802.11g turbo wireless adapter not working! (properly!)

      Hi i'm new to the site!

      Guys & girls firstly i've just spent 25 minutes detailing my problem in a post that was probably too long only to lose it all & have to start all over again - so straight to the point this time round!

      Here goes i have a just had my Sky unlimited BB switched on today & all was going well setup went ok, i managed to get the pc (2 meters away from router) & olg imac g3 which is upstairs (10 meters away from router) hooked up first time.
      but when i removed the ethernet cable from the pc i lost my internet connection!

      Tried for ages to solve problem & eventually called sky!
      Long story short the tech guy said it has to be the wireless adapter on my pc thats the problem & they can't help

      Downloaded the latest driver! still not working had several more attempts at solving the problem & decided i need to ask somebody with more knowledge than me for help!
      I seen that you guys really seem to know your stuff!

      PC Philips media centre pc (4 years old good spec)
      802.11g PCI Turbo wireless adapter (seems to be the problem)
      Sky BB Unlimited package
      Appears to be working fine at the moment via ethernet
      The old Imac g3 which is upstairs using wireless airport states full signal stregth & is working great!

      The PC's wireless adapter stats when i hoover over it:
      Speed: 11.0Mbps
      Signal Strength: no signal
      Status: connected

      When i look in the network connections folder it states its connected although earlier it was stating limited or no signal!

      I dont know what i need to do to put this right (i really dont want to have to buy a new wireless adapter)

      Any ideas??

      Cheers


      Rich...

      (that took me another 20 minutes to write) lol
      Last edited by RichieR; 12-11-09 at 04:07 AM.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      penrhyn's Avatar
      penrhyn is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Long Eaton
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD 1TB Box
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Derbyshire
      Posts
      1,186
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 10 Times in 7 Posts

      Re: 802.11g turbo wireless adapter not working! (properly!)

      I'd try changing the wireless channel (you will need to log on to the router to do this), I realise your Mac is OK, but maybe the PC wireless adapter is prone to interference?
      An 11 Mbps connection suggests you may be plugged in to a USB1 port.

      Nowt else comes to mind I'm afraid.


    4. #3
      krysis's Avatar
      krysis is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: BT
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Location
      Belfast
      Posts
      301
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: 802.11g turbo wireless adapter not working! (properly!)

      Hi Rich!

      It does seem that the adapter could be causing the problem OR something interfering with the signal from the router to that adapter.


      I'm guessing your using a usb wireless adapter. Can I ask, where the adapter is plugged into on the PC? Have you tried a Different Usb port?

      Usually 11mbps speed indicated the adapter settings are not set properly.
      Does the Wireless adapter pick up any wireless signals at all? Can you see the Sky router when you search for it on that PC?

      If we can get those questions answered I think we should be able to identify what's going on.

      Thanks!
      Ariff.

    5. #4
      krysis's Avatar
      krysis is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: BT
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Location
      Belfast
      Posts
      301
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: 802.11g turbo wireless adapter not working! (properly!)

      Quote Originally Posted by penrhyn View Post
      I'd try changing the wireless channel (you will need to log on to the router to do this), I realise your Mac is OK, but maybe the PC wireless adapter is prone to interference?
      An 11 Mbps connection suggests you may be plugged in to a USB1 port.

      Nowt else comes to mind I'm afraid.

      Don't know if changing the channel would sort this out.. Of course it is worth a try, but remember there is a Mac that is working perfectly fine.

    6. #5
      RichieR's Avatar
      RichieR is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2009
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: 802.11g turbo wireless adapter not working! (properly!)

      Hi Thanks for the reply & the tech guy got me to try several channels & then said it was the wireless at my end!

      I'm well dissappointed as its never been online before! So i dont know if it has always had this problem, i've had this pc for years but where i lived before it was to much hassle to put it online!
      The warranty has now run out & I'm not sure if it is really the adapter thats the problem or something to do with my setup!

      Hopefully someone else may know more!

      Cheers


      Rich...

    7. #6
      krysis's Avatar
      krysis is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: BT
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Location
      Belfast
      Posts
      301
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: 802.11g turbo wireless adapter not working! (properly!)

      Quote Originally Posted by RichieR View Post
      Hi Thanks for the reply & the tech guy got me to try several channels & then said it was the wireless at my end!

      I'm well dissappointed as its never been online before! So i dont know if it has always had this problem, i've had this pc for years but where i lived before it was to much hassle to put it online!
      The warranty has now run out & I'm not sure if it is really the adapter thats the problem or something to do with my setup!

      Hopefully someone else may know more!

      Cheers


      Rich...

      I had a post 2 up, if you can answer some questions there as to what you have already tried.
      Wireless can be tricky but I usually sort 'em out at work.. saying that harder to explain here than on the phone.

      Also, what Operating system is your PC?

    8. #7
      RichieR's Avatar
      RichieR is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2009
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: 802.11g turbo wireless adapter not working! (properly!)

      hi Krysis

      Its a built in wireless adapter! (PC was fully loaded when i brought it!)

      it states that its connected but also that it has no signal so i'm really confused!

      i can see the router but this is with the ethernet cable plugged in!

    9. #8
      krysis's Avatar
      krysis is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: BT
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Location
      Belfast
      Posts
      301
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: 802.11g turbo wireless adapter not working! (properly!)

      Quote Originally Posted by RichieR View Post
      hi Krysis

      Its a built in wireless adapter! (PC was fully loaded when i brought it!)

      it states that its connected but also that it has no signal so i'm really confused!
      What operating system is the PC?

    10. #9
      RichieR's Avatar
      RichieR is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2009
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: 802.11g turbo wireless adapter not working! (properly!)

      windows media centre pc

      I've just updated the service pack (i think it is now running xp sp 3)

    11. #10
      krysis's Avatar
      krysis is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: BT
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Location
      Belfast
      Posts
      301
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: 802.11g turbo wireless adapter not working! (properly!)

      Quote Originally Posted by RichieR View Post
      windows media centre pc

      I've just updated the service pack (i think it is now running xp sp 3)
      Ok, it's probably being run by the adapter software.

      Use windows one:

      Click: Start > Run > Type in services.msc > Click ok.

      On the window look for Wireless Zero Config > Double click on it.
      Make sure the "Start-up type" is set to "Auto".
      If "Start" is highlighted Click it and then click on OK.

      Bottom right of the screen you should see a little computer screen with possibly an X over it or yellow exclamation mark... Right click on this > View available wireless networks If you see your sky network - Click on it and disconnect from it if the option is there.

      On the left of the screen you will see Change order of prefered networks
      Click it - Will open another screen - You SHOULD have 3 tabs: "General, Wireless Networks, Advanced.

      Click on your Wireless Network tab... Make sure the first option - "Use windows to configure...." Is selected.

      There should be a white box under it named "Prefered Networks" If there is anything in there - Delete 'em.... Click "OK".

      Again, bottom right, wee computer screen > Right click > "View available...".

      You should see your sky network (Hopefully).
      Click on it and click on Connect > Enter the Network Key - If you haven't changed any encryption settings on your router, the network key WILL be under the router "Network Key: ABCDEFGH" for example... MAke sure you enter it in capital letters and confirm it It should connect and it should work.


      ****


      If not, you may need to change the encryption on the router to WEP - However this will disconnect your Mac from the wireless network and you will need to reconnect it.

      To do this: Connect the Ethernet cable on the PC > Open Browser > Browse to "192.168.0.1"
      User: admin
      Pass: sky

      Click SETUP > WIRELESS SETTINGS > SECURITY OPTIONS > Click on WEP.

      Auth type: Auto/ open system
      Encryption type: 64 Bit.
      Enter something in passphrase box > Click Generate..

      Dot beside key 1 (its easier) > copy it EXACTLY

      Click APPLY.


      Again, bottom right, wee computer screen > Right click > "View available...".

      You should see your sky network (Hopefully).
      Click on it and click on Connect > Enter the Network Key - The one you just copied MAke sure you enter it EXACTLY as it appears in the router settings.
      Thats about it...

      If that doesn't work... I'm baffled! HAHA

     

     
    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION