Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123
    Results 21 to 26 of 26

    802.11g turbo wireless adapter not working! (properly!)

    This is a discussion on 802.11g turbo wireless adapter not working! (properly!) within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Thanks PaulSky How do i go about using auto ip ? as i have already mess up the ips i ...

    1. #21
      RichieR's Avatar
      RichieR is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2009
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Anybody still up that can help???

      Thanks PaulSky

      How do i go about using auto ip?
      as i have already mess up the ips i dont want to repeat what i have done


    2. Advertisement
    3. #22
      dms05's Avatar
      dms05 is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: 0151
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      1,692
      Thanks
      12
      Thanked 52 Times in 50 Posts

      Re: Anybody still up that can help???

      Yes, DHCP conflict. Do as PaulSky says and set DHCP to Auto for all the machines or set Static IP's for each machine.

    4. #23
      RichieR's Avatar
      RichieR is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2009
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Anybody still up that can help???

      sorry if i'm being stupid.
      i have set DHCP on the router page & rebooted it but i still have the same problem!
      i suspect that i also need to change the DHCP on both machines but i dont know where to find the settings! so i'm no further along!

      can anyone tell me what i need to do in a way that wont go over my head as this is all still quite new to me!


      Cheers


      Rich...

    5. #24
      neilmcl's Avatar
      neilmcl is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Sherwood
      Broadband ISP: O2 Standard
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Location
      Nottingham
      Posts
      990
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Anybody still up that can help???

      Turn both machines and then the router off. Turn on the router, wait 5 mins until it connects then turn on each PC in turn. Make sure each PC is set to obtain IP address automatically.

    6. #25
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: 802.11g turbo wireless adapter not working! (properly!)

      Things are looking better. I don't know where you have used the MAC address, but there is no need for it. Go to the Control Panel, Network Connections, right click the wireless adapter icon and select Properties. Highlight Internet Protocol and click the Properties button. Select 'Use this IP address' and put in -
      Ip Address..........192.168.0.150
      Subnet.................255.255.255.0
      Gateway..............192.168.0.1

      Preferred DNS...208.67.222.222
      SecondaryDNS..208.67.220.220

      While you are there, check on the Wireless Networks tab that Use Windows to manage my network is ticked.

      Reboot your PC, and connect.

      If you still cannot connect, open a Command Prompt and type ipconfig /all Copy and paste what you get to here.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    7. #26
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Anybody still up that can help???

      There was no need to start another thread to see who was up

      Opening two threads on the same subject only causes confusion.

      I have moved you thread so that advice and questions are not repeated.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     
    Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION