Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 12

    Clear the Line with Pipex? Dosn't Make Any Sense!

    This is a discussion on Clear the Line with Pipex? Dosn't Make Any Sense! within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi All, Note: currently with Pipex. Just got off the phone with Sky BB . Asked them when will I ...

    1. #1
      Ronni's Avatar
      Ronni is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: St Barnabas, EMSTBBS
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Leicester
      Posts
      75
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Clear the Line with Pipex? Dosn't Make Any Sense!

      Hi All,

      Note: currently with Pipex.

      Just got off the phone with Sky BB.

      Asked them when will I recieve my router & activation Date.

      I was told, My line has been rejectected by BT.

      Reason: Pipex uses LLU & so the MAC code that I provided will not be used for migration until Pipex clears the line.

      What I have to do is Call Pipex & request them to CLEAR THE LINE, before Sky can activate me. (this normaly take 10 days & then Sky activation take another 10 days, I will be without BB for min of 20 days)

      Has anyone come across anything like this "clear the Line"?

      Thanks...


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Wheelie's Avatar
      Wheelie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stanmore LWSTAN
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Stanmore
      Posts
      3,424
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Yes mate and its a real pain for anyone and the sooner Ofcom get this migration mess sorted out the better for everyone.

      Call Pipex and see what they have to say and then call this number 0800 1690934 option 2 its for BTW but is actually Ofcom line markers

      I hope this helps
      Ray

      Some Advice.. Its always advisable to inform your old ISP as soon as you have migrated that you have moved.
      ______________________________________

      If you would like to know the straight line distance to your exchange then
      click here
      Would you like an idea of the possible speeds you will get with the Max Package then click here or for the Connect Package then click here

    4. #3
      Ronni's Avatar
      Ronni is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: St Barnabas, EMSTBBS
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Leicester
      Posts
      75
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Thanks Wheelie,

      Called 0800 1690934,
      They checked my tel No. & there is absoluty no problem with the BT line.

      The Advisor said the problem is with SKY BB & NOT with Pipex or BT LINE
      She said I should not be really chasing this issue up Pipex/BT as I have provided the MAC code to SKY BB in good time. & SKY should be sorting this out.

    5. #4
      Wheelie's Avatar
      Wheelie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stanmore LWSTAN
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Stanmore
      Posts
      3,424
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Yes thats very true but since its seems that Sky and BTW hate each other not sure what else you can do unless you can talk directly with SkyBB provisioning
      Ray

      Some Advice.. Its always advisable to inform your old ISP as soon as you have migrated that you have moved.
      ______________________________________

      If you would like to know the straight line distance to your exchange then
      click here
      Would you like an idea of the possible speeds you will get with the Max Package then click here or for the Connect Package then click here

    6. #5
      Ronni's Avatar
      Ronni is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: St Barnabas, EMSTBBS
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Leicester
      Posts
      75
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      I'm waiting on the phone to SKY BB again.

      By the way, didn't know PIPEX use LLU! (was told by SKY BB & hence their reason for non- migration)

    7. #6
      tinx's Avatar
      tinx is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Horsham Carfax SDHRSHM
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Horsham, West Sussex
      Posts
      47
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      I have migrated away form pipex to skyBB and had no trouble at all, just got the MAC form pipex and SKy accepted it a week later I was transfered.

    8. #7
      Ronni's Avatar
      Ronni is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: St Barnabas, EMSTBBS
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Leicester
      Posts
      75
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Im on the phone & now they're saying that there may be no room at the exchange
      He is trying to find out...

    9. #8
      Wheelie's Avatar
      Wheelie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stanmore LWSTAN
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Stanmore
      Posts
      3,424
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Ah now thats a more credible reason than they have given you so far and yep Pipex have 23 LLU enabled exchanges.
      Ray

      Some Advice.. Its always advisable to inform your old ISP as soon as you have migrated that you have moved.
      ______________________________________

      If you would like to know the straight line distance to your exchange then
      click here
      Would you like an idea of the possible speeds you will get with the Max Package then click here or for the Connect Package then click here

    10. #9
      Ronni's Avatar
      Ronni is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: St Barnabas, EMSTBBS
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Leicester
      Posts
      75
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      There is No room on at the Exchange for the MID Package I have chosen.

      They are offering me the Connect package instead.

      They told me once SKY get more room with more new equipment, I can transfer to the MID package.

      That means 40 connection fee & 17 a month

      What should I do???

    11. #10
      Wheelie's Avatar
      Wheelie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stanmore LWSTAN
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Stanmore
      Posts
      3,424
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Well if you can get the Mid package then I would have though you could get the Max one as well so ask for that I would
      Ray

      Some Advice.. Its always advisable to inform your old ISP as soon as you have migrated that you have moved.
      ______________________________________

      If you would like to know the straight line distance to your exchange then
      click here
      Would you like an idea of the possible speeds you will get with the Max Package then click here or for the Connect Package then click here

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION